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CODY HILAND, Associate Justice 

Appellant John Lee Weeks appeals from the circuit court’s denial of his pro se petition 

to correct an illegal sentence filed pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated section 16-90-

111(a) (Repl. 2016). Weeks alleges that his sentence was illegal because the trial court lacked 

jurisdiction to sentence him as an adult in circuit court because he was never provided a 

juvenile-transfer hearing despite being sixteen when he committed the crime. The circuit 

court denied and dismissed the petition. We affirm.  

I.  Background 

Weeks pleaded guilty to rape in October 1983 and was sentenced to ten years’ 

imprisonment. It appears from the record that Weeks became parole-eligible on April 19, 

1986. Weeks argues that this prior, allegedly void, conviction resulted in a subsequent 
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sentence enhancement for an undisclosed crime that was committed in Kansas, where he is 

currently incarcerated.   

II.  Standard of Review 

The trial court’s decision to deny relief pursuant to section 16-90-111 will not be 

overturned unless that decision is clearly erroneous. Millsap v. State, 2020 Ark. 38. Under 

section 16-90-111, a finding is clearly erroneous when, although there is evidence to 

support it, the appellate court, after reviewing the entire evidence, is left with the definite 

and firm conviction that a mistake has been made. Id.  

III.  Arkansas Code Annotated Section 16-90-111 

Arkansas Code Annotated section 16-90-111(a)1 provides authority to a trial court 

to correct an illegal sentence at any time. Woodruff v. State, 2024 Ark. 8, 682 S.W.3d 662. 

An illegal sentence is one that is illegal on its face. Id. A sentence is illegal on its face when 

it is void because it is beyond the trial court’s authority to impose and gives rise to a question 

of subject-matter jurisdiction. Id. Sentencing is entirely a matter of statute in Arkansas. Id. 

The petitioner seeking relief under section 16-90-111(a) carries the burden of demonstrating 

that his or her sentence was illegal. Id. The general rule is that a sentence imposed within 

the maximum term prescribed by law is not illegal on its face.  

While a trial court may correct an illegal sentence at any time, a sentence that is 

imposed in an illegal manner may be corrected within 120 days of the judgment. Davis v. 

State, 291 Ark. 191, 723 S.W.2d 366 (1987). The trial court has subject-matter jurisdiction 

 
1In 1983, Arkansas Code Annotated section 16-90-111(a) was codified at Arkansas 

Statutes Annotated section 43-2314 (Supp. 1983). Pursuant to section 43-2314, a petition 
to correct an illegal sentence could be corrected at any time if the sentence was shown to 

be illegal on its face. Williams v. State, 291 Ark. 255, 724 S.W.2d 158 (1987).  
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to hear and determine cases involving violations of criminal statutes, and typically, trial error 

does not implicate the jurisdiction of the trial court or, as a consequence, the facial validity 

of the judgment. Hall v. State, 2022 Ark. 16, 638 S.W.3d 270. Arkansas Statutes Annotated 

section 41-617 (Supp. 1983) “gives concurrent jurisdiction to circuit courts and juvenile 

courts where the defendant was 15 to 17 years of age at the time of the . . . offense and gives 

the circuit court the power to enter an order waiving jurisdiction in favor of a juvenile 

court.” Evans v. State, 287 Ark. 136, 141, 697 S.W.2d 879, 882 (1985) (superseded by statute 

as stated in Walker v. State, 304 Ark. 393, 402-D, 805 S.W.2d 80, 82 (1991) (supplemental 

opinion on denial of rehearing)). 

IV.  Claim for Relief 

On appeal, Weeks alleges that his sentence is illegal because the trial court failed to 

follow the procedures outlined by Act 451 of 1975, codified at Arkansas Statutes Annotated 

section 45-420 (Supp. 1983), that governed the criteria for the transfer of cases to juvenile 

court. Weeks alleges that the trial court’s failure to conduct a transfer hearing deprived it of 

jurisdiction to accept his guilty plea and sentence him for rape. Weeks is mistaken. Weeks 

does not challenge the legality of his ten-year sentence because the sentence is well below 

the maximum penalty for the crime. Rape, as defined in section 41–1803 (Supp. 1983), is 

a class Y felony that carries a maximum sentence of a term of life imprisonment or a term 

of ten to forty years’ imprisonment. See Ark. Stat. Ann. § 41-901(1)(a) (Supp.1983); Scott v. 

State, 284 Ark. 388, 681 S.W.2d 915 (1985).   

Weeks’s challenge to the trial court’s jurisdiction is equally unavailing. Arkansas 

Statutes Annotated section 41-617(2) (Supp. 1983) states in pertinent part that if a person 

was at least fifteen years old but less than eighteen years old when the offense was committed, 
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the person “may be charged in either circuit, municipal, or juvenile court.”  On the other 

hand, section 41-417(1) states that the juvenile court has exclusive jurisdiction only when 

an offender is fourteen years or younger. This court has explained that section 41–617(2) 

gives concurrent jurisdiction to circuit courts and juvenile courts if the defendant was fifteen 

to seventeen years of age at the time of the offense.2 Furthermore, this court has held that 

the failure to hold a juvenile-transfer hearing does not render a conviction void.  See Morgan 

v. State, 2011 Ark. 377 (per curiam). Because the record reveals that Weeks was sixteen—

almost seventeen—when he committed rape, jurisdiction was established when the criminal 

charges were filed in the circuit court. Rueda v. State, 2012 Ark. 144, 400 S.W.3d 226.  

Weeks failed to provide sufficient allegations that his sentence was either illegal on 

its face or imposed in an illegal manner. When Weeks was convicted in 1983, the statutory 

time limitation required that he bring such a claim within 120 days following the judgment. 

See Ark. Stat. Ann. § 43-2314. Instead, Weeks waited more than thirty-eight years. 

Accordingly, because Weeks’s petition is barred as untimely, the circuit court did not clearly 

err in denying the petition. 

Affirmed.  

WEBB, J., concurs without opinion. 

John Weeks, pro se appellant. 

Tim Griffin, Att’y Gen., by:  Kent G. Holt, Ass’t Att’y Gen., for appellee. 

 
2See Evans, 287 Ark. at 141, 697 S.W.2d at 882; see also C.H. v. State, 2010 Ark. 279, 

365 S.W.3d 879 (applying Arkansas Code Annotated section 9-27-318 (Repl. 2009), which 
incorporated provisions from the previous statute governing the jurisdiction of the circuit 

court when juveniles are fifteen years and older). 


