#### PROCEEDINGS OF DECEMBER 7, 2023

# JOHN DAN KEMP, CHIEF JUSTICE

<u>CR-22-69</u>. Cordale Stacy v. State of Arkansas, from St. Francis County Circuit Court. Affirmed.

CV-23-300. Maurice Trammel v. Dexter Payne, Director, Arkansas Department of Correction, from Chicot County Circuit Court. Affirmed. Wood, J., concurs. Womack, J., dissents.

# RHONDA K. WOOD, JUSTICE

<u>CR-23-160</u>. Rodney Dale Harmon v. State of Arkansas, from Faulkner County Circuit Court. Affirmed. Special Justice David W. Parker joins. Webb, J., concurs. Hiland, J., not participating.

#### SHAWN A. WOMACK, JUSTICE

<u>CR-23-84</u>. Michael Eugene Driver v. State of Arkansas, from Conway County Circuit Court. Affirmed. Wood, J., concurs.

# **BARBARA W. WEBB, JUSTICE**

<u>CR-23-102</u>. Jeffery Allen Workman v. State of Arkansas, from Sebastian County Circuit Court, Greenwood District. Affirmed.

CV-23-284. Michael Jenkins v. Dexter Payne, Director, Arkansas Department of Correction; and Gleenover Knight, Keeper of the Records, from Jefferson County Circuit Court. Affirmed; motion for appointment of counsel denied. Wood, J., concurs. Womack, J., dissents.

# **CODY HILAND, JUSTICE**

<u>CR-23-72</u>. Jacoby Austin Goehler v. State of Arkansas, from Fulton County Circuit Court. Affirmed.

<u>CV-23-376</u>. Charles R. Sims v. Dexter Payne, Director, Arkansas Department of Correction, from Jefferson County Circuit Court. Affirmed. Womack, J., dissents.

#### PROCEEDINGS OF DECEMBER 7, 2023

## **PER CURIAM ORDERS**

<u>REHEARING DENIED</u>: Petition for rehearing was denied today in the following case.

CV-21-417. Rebecca Nichols v. James Swindoll and Chuck Gibson, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, Fifth Division. Kemp, C.J., and Baker and Hudson, JJ., would grant.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

CR-23-540. Joe Morgan v. State of Arkansas, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, First Division. Petitioner's pro se motion for reconsideration is denied.

CR-23-603. William Nelson v. State of Arkansas, from Lonoke County Circuit Court. Appellee's motion to transfer is granted.

CR-23-603. William Nelson v. State of Arkansas, from Lonoke County Circuit Court. Appellant's motion to dismiss the State's improper cross-appeal is denied. Kemp, C.J., and Baker and Hudson, JJ., would take with the case.

CR-23-731. Hunter De La Garza v. State of Arkansas, from Benton County Circuit Court. Appellant's petition for writ of certiorari to complete the record is granted.

CV-22-190. John Thurston, in His Official Capacity as Secretary of the State of Arkansas; Sharon Brooks, Bilenda Harris-Ritter, William Luther, Charles Roberts, James Sharp, and J. Harmon Smith, in Their Official Capacities as Members of the Arkansas State Board of Election Commissioners v. The League of Women Voters of Arkansas; Arkansas United; Dortha Dunlap; Leon Kaplan; Nell Matthews Mock; Jeffery Rust; and Patsy Watkins, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, Fifth Division. Motion of Honest Elections Project for leave to file an amicus curiae brief in support of appellants is granted. Kemp, C.J., would deny.

CV-23-636. City of Pine Bluff, Arkansas, Advertising and Promotion Commission v. Aramark Educational Services, LLC, from Jefferson County Circuit Court. Certification to the Supreme Court is denied. Kemp, C.J., and Womack and Webb, JJ., would grant.

CV-23-733. John Luckett v. Arkansas Parole Board; John Felts, Jamol Jones, Andy Shock, Boyce Hamlet, Wendy Ryals, Doug Smith, and Lona McCastlain, in Their Official Capacities as Members of the Arkansas Parole Board; Arkansas Department of Correction, now known as Arkansas Division of Correction; and Dexter Payne, in His Official Capacity as Director, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, Sixth Division. Motion of Michael Kiel Kaiser to be relieved as attorney of record is granted.

#### PROCEEDINGS OF DECEMBER 7, 2023

#### **PER CURIAM ORDERS**

CV-23-755. Arkansas Voter Integrity Initiative, Inc.; Conrad Reynolds; and Donnie Scroggins v. John Thurston, in His Official Capacity as Arkansas Secretary of State; the Arkansas State Board of Election Commissioners, in Its Official Capacity; and Election Systems and Software, LLC, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, Sixth Division. Appellants' motion to expedite is granted. Kemp, C.J., and Baker and Hudson, JJ., would deny. (Proceedings of December 5, 2023)

D-23-729. In Re Robert M. Slovek, Arkansas Bar No. 2007113, an Original Action. Petition of Robert M. Slovek, Arkansas Bar No. 2007113, for voluntary surrender of license (resignation) is granted.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

CR-95-1243. David Ferrell v. State of Arkansas, from Hot Spring County Circuit Court. Appellant's pro se motion for rule on clerk is denied.

CR-22-785. Correy Crawford v. State of Arkansas, from Mississippi County Circuit Court, Chickasawba District. Appellant's pro se motion to file a belated petition for review is denied.

CR-23-685. Jonathan Moore v. State of Arkansas, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, Fourth Division. Petitioner's pro se petition for writ of mandamus is dismissed.

## PROCEEDINGS OF DECEMBER 7, 2023

## CASES SUBMITTED

CR-22-619. Corey McCullon v. State of Arkansas, from Craighead County Circuit Court, Western District.

CR-22-696. Fredrick Jones v. State of Arkansas, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, Fifth Division.

CR-23-223. William Tod Rickert v. State of Arkansas, from Faulkner County Circuit Court.

CV-20-265. Donnell Bauer and Marilyn Bauer v. Jesse Lee Beamon, Jr., and Mary A. Beamon, Individually and as Trustees of the Jesse Lee Beamon, Jr. and Mary A. Beamon Family Trust Dated 13th October, 2015; and the Jesse Lee Beamon, Jr. and Mary A. Beamon Family Trust Dated 13th October, 2015, from Crawford County Circuit Court.

CV-22-806. (In the Matter of the Estate of Aaron Welch, Deceased), Kristin Welch, Administratrix of the Estate of Aaron Welch, Deceased v. Katelyn Gipson, Mother and Natural Guardian of Aubrey May Welch and Avalee Grace Welch, from Pope County Circuit Court.