#### ARKANSAS SUPREME COURT

#### PROCEEDINGS OF APRIL 7, 2022

### JOHN DAN KEMP, CHIEF JUSTICE

<u>CV-21-271</u>. Abraham Grant v. Dexter Payne, Director, Arkansas Department of Correction, from Lincoln County Circuit Court. Appellant's pro se motion for default judgment; motion for judgment on the pleadings. Affirmed; motions denied.

# KAREN R. BAKER, JUSTICE

CV-21-262. Michael L. Boyd v. Dexter Payne, Director, Arkansas Department of Correction, from Lee County Circuit Court. Affirmed. Webb, J., concurs without opinion.

CV-21-448. Funding Metrics, LLC, a Delaware Limited Liability Company, d/b/a Quick Fix Capital and Lendini; John Does 1–10; and John Does 11–20 v. Letha's Pies, LLC, an Arkansas Limited Liability Company; Rhonda Glenn, an Individual; and Timothy Glenn, an Individual; on Behalf of Themselves and All Others Similarly Situated, from Washington County Circuit Court. Reversed and remanded.

# **COURTNEY RAE HUDSON, JUSTICE**

CV-21-458. Robert Steinbuch v. University of Arkansas a/k/a University of Arkansas-Little Rock; the Trustees of the University of Arkansas; Michael Schwartz, in His Official and Personal Capacity; Theresa Beiner, in Her Official and Personal Capacity; JoAnn Maxey, in Her Official Capacity; John M.A. DiPippa, in His Official Capacity; and Velmer Burton, in His Official Capacity, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, Sixth Division. Affirmed in part; dismissed in part. Special Justices D. Chris Gardner and Doug Schrantz join. Womack and Webb, JJ., concur. Wood and Wynne, JJ., not participating.

## RHONDA K. WOOD, JUSTICE

<u>CV-21-387</u>. Joe E. Morgan v. Dexter Payne, Director, Arkansas Department of Correction, from Lincoln County Circuit Court. Affirmed.

## **ROBIN F. WYNNE, JUSTICE**

<u>CV-21-390</u>. Maurice Trammel v. Dexter Payne, Director, Arkansas Department of Correction, from Chicot County Circuit Court. Affirmed.

# SHAWN A. WOMACK, JUSTICE

<u>CV-21-272</u>. Corey Johnson v. Dexter Payne, Director, Arkansas Department of Correction, from Lincoln County Circuit Court. Affirmed.

#### ARKANSAS SUPREME COURT

#### PROCEEDINGS OF APRIL 7, 2022

#### **PER CURIAM ORDERS**

CV-22-190. John Thurston, in His Official Capacity as Secretary of State of the State of Arkansas; Sharon Brooks; Bilenda Harris-Ritter; William Luther; Charles Roberts; James Sharp; and J. Harmon Smith, in Their Official Capacities as Members of the Arkansas State Board of Election Commissioners v. The League of Women Voters of Arkansas; Arkansas United; Dortha Dunlap; Leon Kaplan; Nell Matthews Mock; Jeffery Rust; and Patsy Watkins, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, Fifth Division. Appellants' emergency motion for stay of injunction and request for expedited consideration. Expedited consideration granted; motion for stay granted. (Proceedings of April 1, 2022)

In Re Arkansas Access to Justice Commission. See **per curiam** this date.

Honorable Adam Weeks, Circuit Judge, of Walnut Ridge is appointed to the Arkansas Access to Justice Commission for a term ending on October 15, 2022. The court thanks Judge Weeks for his willingness to serve on this important committee. Judge Weeks replaces Hon. Holly Meyer of Heber Springs, and we thank Judge Meyer for her service.

In Re Arkansas Access to Justice Foundation, Inc. See per curiam this date.

Harry Light, Esq., of Little Rock is reappointed to the Board of Directors of Arkansas Access to Justice Foundation, Inc., for a three-year term to expire on April 30, 2025.

Victoria Smith, Esq., of Fayetteville is reappointed to the Board of Directors of Arkansas Access to Justice Foundation, Inc., for a three-year term to expire on April 30, 2025.

We thank Mr. Light and Ms. Smith for accepting reappointment to the board and for their work in this important endeavor.