# PROCEEDINGS OF DECEMBER 17, 2020

## SHAWN A. WOMACK, JUSTICE

<u>CR-19-926</u>. Marvin Arrell Stanton v. State of Arkansas, from Miller County Circuit Court. Reversed and remanded. Special Justice Robert S. Coleman joins. Baker and Wood, JJ., concur. Hart, J., concurs in part and dissents in part. Kemp, C.J., not participating.

#### PROCEEDINGS OF DECEMBER 17, 2020

## **PER CURIAM ORDERS**

<u>REVIEWS DENIED</u>: Petitions for review were denied today in the following cases.

CR-19-579. Alyssia Kirby-Snow v. State of Arkansas, from Baxter County Circuit Court. Hart, J., not participating.

CR-19-626. Delvin Neal v. State of Arkansas, from Drew County Circuit Court. Hart, J., would grant.

CR-20-74. Jimmie Holland v. State of Arkansas, from Washington County Circuit Court. Hart, J., would grant.

CV-19-708. Christopher Minor, Lucie Minor, and TMA Operations, LLC, d/b/a Taylor Made Ambulance v. Roy Barnes, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, Second Division. Baker and Wood, JJ., would grant.

CV-19-737. Anna Sherrill v. Rika Properties, LLC, from Garland County Circuit Court. Hart and Womack, JJ., would grant.

CV-19-783. Southern Construction, LLC v. Christopher Caleb Horton, from Marion County Circuit Court.

CV-19-804. Bert Dickey IV and LuLynne Hicky v. Gary Lillard, Brenda Lillard, and Tommy Land, Commissioner of State Lands, from Cleburne County Circuit Court. Hart, J., would grant.

CV-19-831. Barbara Woodruff v. Western Sizzlin of Russellville, Inc., from Pope County Circuit Court. Wood and Womack, JJ., would grant.

E-20-43. Ronnie Lovins v. Director, Department of Workforce Services, and US LMB Ridout Asset Holdings, from the Arkansas Board of Review. Baker and Hart, JJ., would grant.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

CR-19-901. Nicholas Lewondowski v. State of Arkansas, from Garland County Circuit Court. Appellant's motion for reconsideration is denied.

#### PROCEEDINGS OF DECEMBER 17, 2020

## **PER CURIAM ORDERS**

CR-20-641. Robert Holland v. State of Arkansas, from Lincoln County Circuit Court. Petitioner's petition for writ of mandamus is granted. Kemp, C.J., and Wood and Womack, JJ., would deny.

CV-19-979. Shelly Buonauito, Mary Weeks, Verlon Abrams, and Sarah B. Thompson v. Keith Gibson, Tom Schueck, Robert S. Moore, Jr., Alec Farmer, and Philip Taldo, Members of the Arkansas State Highway Commission; Scott E. Bennett, Director, Arkansas Department of Transportation; Dennis Milligan, Treasurer of the State of Arkansas; Andrea Lea, Auditor of the State of Arkansas; Larry W. Walther, Director, Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration; and Asa Hutchinson, Governor of the State of Arkansas, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, Sixteenth Division. Motion of Richelle Brittain for leave to file petition for rehearing is denied.

CV-20-536. Arkansas Department of Education; Johnny Key, in His Official Capacity as Arkansas Commissioner of Education; Diane Zook; Susan Chambers; Charisse Dean; R. Brett Williamson; O. Fitzgerald Hill; Ouida Newton; Sarah Moore; and Kathy McFetridge, in Their Official Capacities as Members of the Arkansas State Board of Education v. Amber Booth McCoy; Don Booth; Katherine Lu; Eugene Lu; and Skye Adams, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, Ninth Division. Appellants' motion to supplement the record and for leave to file an overlength brief is granted.

D-20-477. Stark Ligon, as Executive Director of the Supreme Court Committee on Professional Conduct v. William Kurt Moritz, Attorney at Law, Arkansas Bar No. 99021, an Original Action. Petitioner's motion for order of default judgment of disbarment is granted. Hart, J., would treat as a voluntary surrender in lieu of disbarment and grant.

D-20-675. In Re Judy A. Gano, Arkansas Bar No. 78192, an Original Action. Petition of Judy A. Gano, Arkansas Bar No. 78192, for voluntary surrender of license (resignation) is granted.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

CR-20-621. Lonnie Allen Reed v. State of Arkansas, from Pulaski County Circuit Court, First Division. Petitioner's pro se petition for writ of mandamus. Response requested. Hart, Wood, and Womack, JJ., would grant.

## PROCEEDINGS OF DECEMBER 17, 2020

## **PER CURIAM ORDERS**

CR-20-622. Rodney Lee Jones v. State of Arkansas, from Van Buren County Circuit Court. Petitioner's pro se petition for writ of mandamus. Response requested. Wood and Womack, JJ., would grant.

In Re Amended Administrative Plan for the Seventeenth Judicial Circuit. See <u>per curiam</u> this date.

In Re Final Rules for Acceptance of Records on Appeal in Electronic Format and Elimination of the Abstracting and Addendum Requirements. See <u>per curiam</u> this date.

In Re Amendments to Administrative Orders Nos. 1 and 16. See per curiam this date.

#### PROCEEDINGS OF DECEMBER 17, 2020

## **PER CURIAM ORDERS**

In Re Appointments of Members to the Supreme Court Committee on Professional Conduct. See **per curiam** this date.

Effective January 1, 2021, the following new members are appointed to the Supreme Court Committee on Professional Conduct for initial six–year terms ending on December 31, 2026:

Don R. Etherly of Helena (Panel A attorney member – First Congressional District);

Robert G. Bridewell of Lake Village (Panel B attorney member – Fourth Congressional District);

Miles J. Kimble of Forrest City (Panel B non-attorney member – statewide at large);

Leanne P. Burch of Monticello (Panel C attorney member – Fourth Congressional District);

Angela Cole Lowther of Little Rock (Panel D attorney member- statewide at large);

James Gregory Crumpton of Cabot (Panel D attorney member – First Congressional District); and

William A. Finer of Fayetteville (Panel D non–Arkansas attorney member – statewide at large).

The Court expresses its appreciation to each of these new Committee members for his or her willingness to accept this important assignment.

The Court also expresses its appreciation to the following Committee members whose valuable and faithful service to the Court, the Committee, the legal profession, and the public will be completed on December 31, 2020.

T. Benton Smith, Jr., of Jonesboro-Marianna (Panel A attorney member – First Congressional District);

Stephen R. Crane of Magnolia (Panel B attorney member – Fourth Congressional District);

Carolyn A. Morris of Danville (Panel B non-attorney member – statewide at large);

Joseph Hickey of El Dorado (Panel C attorney member – Fourth Congressional District);

E. Kent Hirsch of Springdale (Panel D attorney member – statewide at large);

Laura E. Partlow of Marion (Panel D attorney member – First Congressional District); and

Ronnie Williams of Menifee (Panel D non-attorney member – statewide at large).

## PROCEEDINGS OF DECEMBER 17, 2020

#### PER CURIAM ORDERS

In Re Appointments to the Arkansas Code Revision Commission. See <u>per curiam</u> this date.

Camille W. Bennett, Esq., of Scott, Robert F. Thompson, III, Esq., of Paragould and Vaughan Hankins, Esq., of Sherwood are appointed to the Arkansas Code Revision Commission for four-year terms to expire on March 31, 2024. The court thanks them for their willingness to undertake this important work.

The court expresses its gratitude to Haley Burks of Little Rock, Candice Settle of Van Buren, and Bettina E. Brownstein of Little Rock, whose terms have expired, for their years of dedicated service to the commission.

In Re Amendment to Administrative Order 12. Hart, J., dissents. See <u>per curiam and dissenting opinion</u> this date.