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IN THE MATTER OF REVISION OF THE RULES OF
THE SUPREME COURT AND COURT OF APPEALS
OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Delivered June 10, 1991

PER CuriaM. On and after August 1, 1991, all briefs
submitted to the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals will be
accompanied by abstracts of record, as provided in Arkansas
Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Rule 9. We will no longer
accept briefs including appendices.

The Per Curiam Order by which we created a trial period for
experimental changes in our Rules was issued May 15, 1989,
entitled, “In re: Amendments to the Arkansas Rules of Civil
Procedure, the Arkansas Rules of Appellate Procedure, the
Arkansas Supreme Court Administrative Orders, the Rules of
the Arkansas Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, and the
Inferior Court Rules.” In that Order we made it clear that the
rules changes having to do with the appendix experiment were
adopted on a trial basis but that the changes no longer allowing
printed briefs and establishing uniform paper size were to be
permanent. We hereby revoke the changes, other than those
having todo with printed briefs and paper size, which provided for
submitting appendices rather than abstracts. We retain the
changes with respect to paper size.

The reason for ending the appendix experiment at this time
is that we have found that it adds to the difficulty of, and time
consumed in, reading briefs. If our case load and that of the Court
of Appeals were not so great, we would be less willing to revert
entirely to the abstracting system. Given the numbers of cases we
must decide to remain current with our docket, however, we
cannot tolerate the additional work we find the appendix system
to have caused.

The experiment with the appendix system began with our
Per Curiam Order of October 17, 1988, creating a trial period for
testing the new system which, with one intermission and two
extensions, was to end March 1, 1991. As was expected, there
were difficulties in adapting to the change. The main one from our
perspective was the problem of expansion of the statement of the
case, with appropriate appendix references, to an extent which
would save members of the Court from having to scour the
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appendix for factual details.

If we find a way to bring our case load and that of the Court
of Appeals within reason, we may return to the appendix system,
with some revisions, because we continue to wish to implement
the goals stated in our original order. We would like our system to
be as inexpensive and simple as possible. Under other circum-
stances we will be able to exercise the patience required to permit
lawyers and litigants to become accustomed to the change and to
fine tune it with revisions.

IN THE MATTER OF THE CLIENT SECURITY
FUND

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Delivered June 17, 1991

PEr CuriaM. The per curiam order of April 30, 1973,
creating the Client Security Fund, 254 Ark. 1075,493 S.W. 422
(1973), as amended by the per curiam order of December 11,
1989, 300 Ark. 643, 782 S.W.2d 357 (1989), in paragraph
number three (3), now provides: “No claims shall be allowed for
an amount in excess of $10,000.00.”

In 1990, we began to credit to the Client Security Fund with
$4.00, instead of $2.00, of the annual license fee paid by each
attorney. As a result, the fund’s growth has accelerated, and we
now amend the above quoted sentence to provide: “No claims
shall be allowed for an amount in excess of $15,000.00.”

IN THE MATTER OF THE RULES OF THE
ARKANSAS SUPREME COURT AND COURT OF
APPEALS 31

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Delivered July 1, 1991

PER CURIAM. The following Rule shall become effective July
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15, 1991:
Rule 31.
CLERK’S OFFICE BUSINESS HOURS

The Clerk will record the exact time and date of filing or
tender upon any document filed or tendered for filing in the
Clerk’s Office. Filings may occur only between business hours of
8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on business days.

If the Clerk discovers documents left in or about the Clerk’s
Office after business hours with a written request for filing or
tender, and the documents are in order for filing or tender, they
may be marked as filed or tendered as of the beginning of the
following business day. Neither the Clerk nor any member of the
Clerk’s Office staff shall be responsible to see to it that documents
are filed or tendered unless they are presented during business
hours by a person delivering them to the Clerk’s Office.

IN RE: BOARD OF CERTIFIED COURT REPORTER
EXAMINERS

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Delivered July 1, 1991

PER CURIAM. By per curiam order dated July 5, 1983, this
Court established the Arkansas Supreme Court Board of Certi-
fied Court Reporter Examiners and directed that they promul-
gate relevant regulations for approval by this Court.

On September 26, 1983, this Court approved regulations
submitted by the Board of Certified Court Reporter Examiners.
Amendments were approved by per curiam orders dated March
5, 1984, February 24, 1986, and June 16, 1986.

On June 5, 1991, the Board filed a Motion to once again
amend certain regulations. Pursuant to Section 3G. of the Rule
Providing for Certification of Court Reporters, the Court ap-
proves and adopts those amendments as recommended effective
this date.

The Court hereby republishes the Regulations in their
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entirety as amended:

REGULATIONS OF THE BOARD OF CERTIFIED
COURT REPORTER EXAMINERS

Section 1. The following definitions are set forth: The word
“Section” refers to sections of the per curiam of July 5, 1983.
“Board” hereinafter referred to, is the Certified Court Reporter
Examiners Board. “Certified Court Reporter™, or its abbrevia-
tion, “CCR”, means any person holding a valid regular or
temporary certificate in one of the methods approved herein as a
certified verbatim reporter. The Certificate shall reflect the
method of certification according to the system tested. (Amended
July 1, 1991). “Verbatim Reporting” means the making of a
verbatim record of court proceedings, depositions, or proceedings
before any grand jury by means of manual or machine shorthand
or mask dictation. No system of direct electrical recording shall
be considered a means of verbatim reporting. (Amended March
5, 1984).

Section 2. Any court reporter serving in that capacity on or
before January 1, 1983 may be issued a certificate as a Certified
Court Reporter without examination provided the application is
made prior to May 1, 1984 and is accompanied by a recommenda-
tion of a Circuit, Chancery or Court of Appeals Judge and two
attorneys licensed to practice law in this state who certify that the
applicant was a practicing court reporter on or before January 1,
1983.

Section 3. The Board shall set the following fees for the
administration of these regulations:

a. $50.00 application fee;

b. $20.00 certificate renewal fee. (Amended February
24, 1986).

c. $100.00 penalty fee for failure to timely remit certifi-
cate renewal fee as set forth in Section 9 of these
regulations. (Amended July 1, 1991).

Section 4. Applicants other than those certified without
examination pursuant to Section 6 shall file not later than 30 days
prior to the next examination date, a written application in the
form prescribed by the Court, together with an application fee of
$50.00, with the Clerk of the Supreme Court. Said application fee
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shall not be refunded in the event the applicant decides not to take

the examination or fails the examination. Said application shall

state by which method the applicant will test, and certification ,
will be issued solely in that method if the applicant successfully

passes the examination. (Amended July 1, 1991).

Section 5. Applicants and /or applications shall be screened
by the Board and those deemed eligible to take the examination
will be advised of the time and place the test will be conducted.
(Amended July 1, 1991). Any applicant whose application is
denied shall be promptly notified of the action of the Board an

‘the application fee shall be refunded. ‘

Section 6. Applicants for certification, deemed eligible by
the Board, shall receive certification upon submitting the applica-
tion, paying the application fee, and successfully passing the
certification examination. Certification shall be issued solely in
the method by which the applicant successfully tested. (Amended
July 1, 1991).

Section 7. Examinations for certification shall be held at
least semi-annually at times and places set by the Board.

Section 8. Certification granted by the Board shall remain in
effect upon payment of the annual certificate renewal fees to the
Clerk of the Supreme Court on or before January 1 of each year,
unless suspended or revoked pursuant to Section 7 of the Rules of
the Board of Certified Court Reporter Examiners. (Amended
July 1, 1991).

Section 9. A reporter’s certification will immediately expire
if the $20.00 certificate renewal fee is not remitted to the Clerk of
the Supreme Court on or before January 1 of each year. An
expired certificate shall be reinstated without examination,
within 120 days of the date the certificate expired for failure to
timely renew, upon application and payment of a $100.00 penalty
fee as well as the $20.00 renewal fee. Otherwise, the certificate
shall be revoked but may be reinstated during the remainder of
the calendar year in which the certificate expired for failure to
timely renew, if the Board finds, based on a sworn affidavit(s) or
other credible evidence, that the applicant has retained the
professional skills required for original certification and has paid
alldelinquent renewal and penalty fees. After December 31 of the
calendar year in which the certificate expired, an expired certifi-
cate shall not be subject to renewal without examination.
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(Amended July 1, 1991).

Section 10. Each certified reporter shall procure a seal upon
which shall be engraved the name, certificate number of the
reporter, and the words “Arkansas Supreme Court - Certified
Court Reporter”, said seal to be included with signature, on all
transcript certificates, to ensure compliance with Section 9.

Section 11. At the discretion of the trial judge, Section 9 may
be waived with regard to depositions taken outside this state for
use in this state, provided the court reporter is authorized to take
werbatim testimony in the state where the deposition was taken.
(Deleted - See Per Curiam, March 14, 1988)

Section 12. Any eligible applicant not certified pursuant to
the per curiam order of the Supreme Court of Arkansas, dated
July 5, 1983, or any eligible applicant who is certified in another
state, may be granted a non-renewable temporary certificate, at
the discretion of the Board, to enable said applicant to work. The
temporary certificate issued shall expire fourteen days after a
reporter receiving such a certificate has had two opportunities to
pass the examination at the two successive examinations given
after the date of the certificate. The certificate will reflect the
expiration date on its face as well as the method of reporting.
(Amended February 24, 1986) (Amended July 1, 1991).

Applicants for temporary certificates will be considered by
the Board only if the applicant meets the following requirements:

a. the applicant has been granted a diploma or equivalent
from a court reporting school which is recognized and
accepted by the Board, or

b. theapplicant has completed one year’s continuous work
experience in court reporting, or

c. the applicant has been certified as a court reporter in a
sister state, or by the National Shorthand Reporters’
Association, and by the National Stenomask Verbatim
Reporters’ Association, and

d. the applicant demonstrates a real necessity for the
issuance of a temporary certificate.

Section 13. In the event of an emergency where no Certified
Court Reporter is immediately available, a judge of a circuit or
chancery court may, in his discretion, grant a one hundred twenty
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day, non-renewable emergency certificate in order to continue the
conduct of the court’s business; provided a copy of the one
hundred twenty day emergency certjficate shall be forthwith filed
with the Clerk of the Arkansas Supreme Court and the Secretary
of this Board. (Amended June 16, 1986)

Section 14. The tests shall be as follows:

a. A written knowledge test consisting of spelling, vocab-
ulary, punctuation, general knowledge, and rules gov-
erning preparation of transcripts (Rules of the Su-
preme Court and Court of Appeals 12, 13, 14 and 15)
with a minimum of 75% accuracy.

b. (1) Five minutes of one-voice dictation of literacy at
180 words per minute.
(2) Five minutes of one-voice dictation of jury charge
at 200 words per minute.
(3) Five minutes of one-voice dictation of Q & A at
225 words per minute.

¢. Applicants shall be required to transcribe dictation
tests with a cumulative average of 95% accuracy.
(Amended February 24, 1986).

d. If an applicant shall pass one part of the test but fail
the other part, the applicant will not be required to
take the part passed at the next successive examina-
tion given, but only that part failed. All parts of the
dictation test must be padded at the same time.
(Amended February 24, 1986).

¢. Anewapplication and application fee of $50.00 will be
required for all subsequent testing.

f.  Certification will be restricted to the method of report-
ing used by the applicant at the time of testing, and said
method will be reflected on the certificate issued to the
applicant upon successfully passing the certification
examination. (Amended July 1, 1991).

Section 15. Applicants for testing must furnish their own
equipment and supplies for reporting and transcribing dictation
test. (Amended July 1, 1991). No applicant is permitted to use an
open microphone or other backup recording device during
testing.
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Section 16. The content and depth of this examination shall
be a continuing subject of review by the Board, and may be
altered by amendments to these regulations.

Section 17. The Board shall maintain a file containing names
and pertinent information on all individuals who have been
certified, including all verbatim notes or records, transcripts, and
other papers used in connection with testing.

Section 18. Any person desiring to file a complaint against a
Certified Court Reporter may file a notarized affidavit, attaching
any pertinent documentary evidence thereto, and forward to the
Secretary of the Board.

Section 19. Pursuant to Section 7 of the Rules of the Board of
Certified Court Reporter Examiners, the Board may revoke or
suspend any certificate issued after proper notice and hearing, on
the following grounds:

a. conviction of a felony. conviction of a misdemeanor
involving moral turpitude. Conviction is defined as a
plea of guilty, or nolo contendere, or guilty verdict.
(Amended July 1, 1991).

b. misrepresentation or omission of material facts in
obtaining certification.

c. any intentional violation of, noncompliance with or
gross negligence in complying with any rule or direc-
tive of the Supreme Court of Arkansas, any other court
of record within this State, or this Board.

d. fraud, dishonesty, gross incompetence or habitual
neglect of duty. The notice shall state the cause for the
contemplated revocation or suspension and the time
and place of the hearing before the Board, and shall be
mailed to the registered address of the holder of the
certificate at least thirty days prior to the hearing. The
Board shall make written findings of fact based on the
evidence presented. (Amended March 5, 1984)

Section 20. No persons shall use the title “Certified Court
Reporter”, or its abbreviation “CCR”, in conjunction with their
names to indicate they are qualified verbatim reporters in this
state, without having a valid temporary or regular certificate
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issued by the Board.

IN RE: THE ARKANSAS CODE OF JUDICIAL
CONDUCT

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Delivered July 8, 1991

PER CURIAM. On June 15, 1991, the House of Delegates to
the Arkansas Bar Association approved the proposed Arkansas
Code of Judicial Conduct prepared by the Committee on the
Model Code of Judicial Conduct of the Arkansas Bar Associa-
tion. This court will now consider adopting the proposed Code. In
the meantime, copies of the proposed Code may be inspected at
the Office of the Clerk, Arkansas Supreme Court, Justice
Building, 625 Marshall Street, Little Rock, Arkansas.

We would appreciate comments by interested persons on the
proposed Arkansas Code. Such comments should be addressed to
the Administrative Office of the Courts, Justice Building, 625
Marshall Street, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1078, Attn: Ms.
Kay McClanahan.

The present Arkansas Code of Judicial Conduct may be
found at 295 Ark. 707, 749 S.W.2d LXV (1988).

SUPPLEMENTAL OPINION DELIVERED
SEPTEMBER 23, 1991.

PER CURIAM. On July 8, 1991, we asked for comments from
interested persons on the proposed Arkansas Code of Judicial
Conduct prepared by the Committee on the Model Code of
Judicial Conduct of the Arkansas Bar Association.

The final date for such comments will be October 3 1, 1991.

Copies of the proposed Code may be inspected at the Office
of the Clerk, Arkansas Supreme Court, Justice Building, 625




664 APPENDIX [306

Marshall Street,Little Rock, Arkansas. Any comments should be
addressed to the Administrative Office of the Courts, Justice
Building, 625 Marshall Street, Little Rock, AR 72201-1078,
Attn: Ms. Kay McClanahan.

The present Arkansas Code of Judicial Conduct may be
found at 295 Ark. 707, 749 S.W.2d LXV (1988).

IN RE: APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL IN CRIMINAL
CASES

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Delivered October 14, 1991

PER CURIAM. Because appellants in criminal cases are
entitled to counsel on direct appeal from a judgment of conviction
and on the appeal of certain orders denying post-conviction relief,
this Court on occasion must appoint attorneys to represent
indigent appellants. Attorneys who are desirous of such appoint-
ments should register with Sue Newbery, Criminal Justice
Coordinator, Arkansas Supreme Court, Justice Building,. 625
Marshall St., Little Rock, AR 72201. Counsel will be paid a fee
after determination of the case, upon a proper motion.



Appointments to
Committees
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ARKANSAS SUPREME COURT COMMITTEE ON
AUTOMATION

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Delivered June 10, 1991

PER Curiam. Circuit/Chancery Judge Watson Villines,

Conway, is appointed to the Arkansas Supreme Court Commit-
tee on Automation.

IN THE MATTER OF THE ARKANSAS SUPREME
COURT BOARD OF CERTIFIED COURT REPORTER
EXAMINERS

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Delivered July 1, 1991

PER CuriaM. Circuit Judge John Cole, Sheridan, Arkansas;
Chancery Judge Jim Hannah, Searcy, Arkansas; and Ms. Maria
Lafferty, Little Rock, Arkansas, are reappointed to our Board of
Certified Court Reporter Examiners.

Each term of appointment is for a three-year period expiring
July 8, 1994.

IN THE MATTER OF THE SUPREME COURT
COMMITTEE ON CIVIL PRACTICE

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Delivered July 1, 1991

PER Curiam. Circuit Judge Henry Wilkinson, Forrest City,
Arkansas; H. David Blair, Esq., Batesville, Arkansas; and
Carolyn Witherspoon, Attorney-at-Law, Little Rock, Arkansas,
are reappointed to our Committee on Civil Practice.

Chancery Judge John M. Pittman, West Helena, Arkansas,
is appointed to this Committee, replacing Circuit/Chancery
Judge Jim Gunter, Hope, Arkansas.
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The Court expresses its gratitude to Judge Gunter for his
faithful and exemplary service as a member of this Committee.

Each term of appointment is for a three-year period expiring
July 5, 1994.

IN THE MATTER OF THE BOARD OF LAW
EXAMINERS

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Delivered October 7, 1991

Per CURIAM. Michael Mashburn, Esq., Fayetteville, Ar-
kansas, is hereby appointed to the Arkansas State Board of Law
Examiners replacing Lamar Pettus, Esq. for a term of three
years. Frank Morledge, Esq., Forrest City, Arkansas, Webster
Hubbell, Esq., Little Rock, Arkansas, Dennis Shackleford, Esq.,
El Dorado, Arkansas, and A. Watson Bell, Esq., Searcy, Arkan-
sas, are hereby reappointed as members of the Arkansas State
Board of Law Examiners for terms of three years ending
September 30, 1994.

The Court especially wishes to recognize the efforts of
Lamar Pettus, Esq. in connection with his contributions to the
improvement of the bar examination application process and for
his faithful service to the Board.

IN THE MATTER OF THE ARKANSAS CODE
REVISION COMMISSION

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Delivered October ‘14, 1991

PeR CuriaM. The following persons are reappointed to the
Arkansas Code Revision Commission: William S. Arnold, Esq. of
Crossett, Arkansas; William H. Sutton, Esq. of Little Rock,
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Arkansas; and Douglas O. Smith, Jr., Esq. of Fort Smith,

Arkansas. Each reappointment is a four year term to end
November 7, 1995.




