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Lori A. MOSBY v. OFFICE of PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 
(of the Arkansas Supreme Court Committee on 

Professional Conduct) 

04-241 	 156 S.W.3d 253 

Supreme Court of Arkansas 
Opinion delivered March 25, 2004 

1. APPEAL & ERROR - PERFECTING APPEAL - COUNSEL'S DUTY. - It 
is the duty of counsel, not the judge, the clerk, or court reporter to 
perfect an appeal. 

2. MOTIONS - RULE ON CLERK - DENIED. - Where it was the duty 
of appellant attorney to tender the record to the supreme court in a 
timely manner, but she failed to do so, asserting that the late tender of 
the record was the fault of the court reporter, the supreme court 
denied the motion for rule on the clerk. 

Motion for Rule on the Clerk; denied. 

Lori A Mosby, pro se. 

No response. 

pER CURIAM. On October 27, 2003, the Arkansas Supreme 
Court Committee on Professional Conduct, Panel B, rep- 

rimanded Lori A. Mosby for unprofessional conduct, assessed a fine of 
$2,500, ordered her to pay costs of $50, and ordered her to attend two 
additional "ethics" hours of continuing legal education, in addition to 
the one ethics hour required during each reporting period for attor-
neys in Arkansas. The findings and order of the committee were filed 
with the supreme court clerk on January 31, 2003. 

Section 12(C) of the Procedures Regulating Professional 
Conduct (2003) provides that notice and perfection of an appeal 
shall be in accordance with the Rules of Appellate Procedure—
Civil and Rules of the Arkansas Supreme Court governing appeals 
in civil matters. If no appeal is perfected within the time allowed 
and in the manner provided, the action of the panel shall be final 
and binding on all parties. Id. 

Ms. Mosby filed a timely notice of appeal under Ark. R. 
App. P.—Civ. 4(a) on November 26, 2003, making the deadline 
for filing the record ninety days later, on February 24, 2004. Ms. 
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Mosby tendered the record to the supreme court clerk on February 
27, 2004. Ark. R. App. P.—Civ. 5(a) of the Rules of Appellate 
Procedure requires that a record must be tendered within ninety 
days of the date of the notice of appeal, unless a motion to extend 
the time has been granted. See Mitchell v. Mountain View, 304 Ark. 
585, 803 S.W.2d 556 (1991). No such motion was requested. 

[1] Now before us is appellant's motion for rule on the 
clerk, seeking to lodge the record belatedly. In support of her 
motion, Ms. Mosby asserts that the late tender of the record was 
the fault of the court reporter in failing to provide the transcript in 
time for her to file it timely. It is the duty of counsel, not the judge, 
the clerk, or court reporter to perfect an appeal. Davis v. William-
son, 353 Ark. 225, 114 S.W.3d 216 (2003). 

[2] It was clearly the duty of Ms. Mosby to tender the 
record to this court in a timely manner, but she failed to do so. 
Accordingly, the motion for rule on clerk must be denied. The 
action of Panel B of the Arkansas Supreme Court Committee on 
Professional Conduct is final. 


