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CRIMINAL LAW — CONFESSION OF 16-YEAR-OLD — VOLUNTARINESS. —
A confession made by a 16-year-old boy is not involuntary as a
matter of law.

Appeal from Washington Circuit Court, Mahlon Gibson,
Judge; affirmed.
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Grorce Rose SmitH, Justice. Robert Leonard was con-
victed of burglary and sentenced by the jury to eight years’
imprisonment and a $1,000 fine. His only argument for rever-
sal is, in effect, that his confession was involuntary as a
matter of law.

The facts, undisputed, came largely from Robert's own
testimony at the Denno hearing and before the jury. In late
1978 Robert, aged 16, was confined to a boys’ home in
Nebraska for breaking and entering. In February, 1979, he
and another youth, Luke Soule, fled by bus to Winslow,
Arkansas, where Robert meant to stay with his uncle and
aunt if they would not turn him in to be sent back to
Nebraska.

Upon reaching Winslow on the morning of February 6
the two boys broke into-a house to steal money and food.
They ransacked the house, taking money and loading a
shotgun, a rifle, and a pistol. When the owner of the house
returned with his family and started to enter the house, Luke
shot him several times, not fatally. The two boys ran away,
Robert throwing away a shotgun and a pistol as he ran. They
were picked up later in the day.

Robert made a full confession after he had been warned
of his.rights. He admits that he told the truth. He did not ask
that the officers call an attorney or his parents or his uncle
and aunt, whom he was avoiding until he could learn through
their son whether they would turn him in. A psychologist
who interviewed Robert testified that he was of average in-
telligence and actually gave no reason for a finding that the
confession was not voluntary. We have independently review-
ed the facts, but we could not set aside the trial judge’s ruling
without saying in substance that any confession made by a
16-year-old boy is involuntary as a matter of law. That is not
true. Mosley v. State, 246 Ark. 358, 438 S.W. 2d 311 (1969).
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That case, essentially similar to this one, involved a 15-year-
old boy.

Affirmed.



