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APPEAL & ERROR — APPEALS FROM CIRCUIT COURT TO SUPREME 
COURT — PROCEDURE. — Insofar as the provisions of Ark. Stat. 
Ann. § 73-134 (RepL 1979) relate to the time for lodging a tran-
script in the office of the Clerk of the Supreme Court are con-
cerned, they are superseded by Rule 5, Rules of Appellate 
Procedure [Ark. Stat. Ann., Vol. 3A (Repl. 1979)], which 
became effective July 1, 1979, under which the record on appeal 
must be filed with the Supreme Court Clerk within 90 days from 
the filing of the first notice of appeal. 

Motion for Rule on Clerk from Pulaski Circuit Court, 
Second Division, Perry V. Whitmore, Judge; granted. 

Walter A. Murray, for appellants. 

Jack East III, for appellee. 

PER CURIAM 

On April 29, 1980, appellant tendered to the clerk of this 
court a transcript of the record of the proceedings in the case 
of Arkansas Transport Company versus Robert Moore, 
Chairman, Arkansas Transportation Commission, et al, No. 
79-5197, in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County, in order to 
perfect their appeal from an order of that court entered on 
January 4, 1980, and the supplemental order entered January 
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11, 1980. The tender was refused by the clerk because of the 
provisions of Ark. Stat. Ann. § 73-134 (Repl. 1979). 

Notice of appeal was filed in the circuit court on 
February 1, 1980. Under the provisions of the section of the 
statute above cited, a record on appeal to this court from the 
circuit court was to be lodged in the office of the Clerk of the 
Supreme Court within 60 days of the rendition of the order in 
the circuit court. This record obviously was not tendered 
within that time. 

Appellant relies upon Rule 5 of the Rules of Appellate 
Procedure [Ark. Stat. Ann., Vol. 3A (Repl. 1979)]. Under 
that rule the record on appeal must be filed with the Clerk of 
this court within 90 days from the filing of the first notice of 
appeal. This record was timely filed under that rule. Rule 5 
was effective July 1, 1979. It was adopted pursuant to Act 38 
of 1973 and the constitutional and inherent powers of this 
court to regulate procedures in the courts. Under Act 38 of 
1973, the General Assembly provided that rules made by this 
court under the authority of that act may prescribe the times 
and manner of taking appeals. It also provided that all laws 
in effect on the effective date of that act relating to the time 
and manner of taking appeals in civil proceedings should re-
main in effect only until such time as the Supreme Court 
prescribed rules regarding the same or until revised or repeal-
ed by legislative action. Act 38 was passed on January 31, 
1973. Ark. Stat. Ann. § 73-134 was in effect on the effective 
date of that act. Insofar as the provisions of 6 73-134 relate to 
the time for lodging a transcript in the office of the clerk of 
this courf are concerned, they are superseded by Rule 5; and 
the record was timely tendered under that rule. 

The rule on the clerk is granted. 


