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ARKANSAS LIGHT & POWER COMPANY V. STATE EX REL. 

ATTORNEY GENERAL. 

Opinion delivered November 21, 1927. 
1. LICENSES—LIMITATION TO RECOVERY OF FRANCHISE TAX.—Crawford 

& Moses' Dig., § 10213, requiring an appeal from a decree in a 
suit thereunder within 30 days: is part of an act for the collec-
tion of hack property taxes from corporations, and does not 
apply in a suit to recover a franchise tax. 

2. LICENSES—PERIOD COVERED BY FRANCHISE TAX.—Under Crawford 
& Moses' Dig., §§ 9818, 9821, a corporation paying a franchise
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tax is authorized to do business in the State during the year 
beginning with the date of the certificate issued to it or the date 
mentioned therein. 

3. LICENSES—EFFECT OF SURRENDER OF CORPORATE CHARTER.—Where a 
corporation filed its report in May, and paid its franchise tax on 
August 15, 1918, it did not owe such tax at the time of surrender-
ing its charter and ceasing to do business in June, 1919, so that 
the purchaser of its property was not liable therefor. 

4. LICENSES—ACT IMPOSING FRANCHISE TAX—PROSPECTIVE OPERATION. 
—Statutes imposing franchise taxes on corporations operate only 
in the future, unless the Legislature manifests an intention that 
they shall operate in the past. 

Appeal from Jefferson Chancery Court ; H. R. Lucas, 
Chancellor ; reversed. 

Raymond Roddy, W. H. Holmes, Harry E. Meek and 
Robinson, House & Moses, for appellant. 

H. W. Applegate, Attorney General, Rowell & 
Alexander and Sam M. Wassell, for appellee. 

MEHAFFY, J. This suit was brought to collect from 
the Arkansas Power & Light Company a franchise tax. 
It is alleged that, during the year 1917, the Arkansas 
Public Service Company was organized and owned and . 
operated utility propertieA in the territory of Stuttgart, 
Arkansas. On June, 1917, it filed the annual franchise 
tax return, and on the 8th day of August, 1917, paid its 
annual franchise tax in the sum of $1,200, at which time 
the said conipany was issued a certificate stating that it 
had paid the franchise tax for the year 1917, and it was 
authorized to do business in the State for a period of 
five years from August 8, 1917, upon condition that it pay 
annually the franchise tax prescribed for such corpora-
tion. In May, 1918, the corporation filed its franchise 
tax return, and on August 15, 1918, paid its franchise 
tax of $1,200. On the 26th day of June, 1919, the Arkan-

' sas Public Service Company, after having sold all of its 
property to the appellant,. surrendered its charter and 
ceased to transact business. This suit is for the purpose 
of collecting a tax that it is. alleged the Arkansas Public 
Service Company owed, on the theory that the tax was a 
lien on the property purchased by the Arkansas Power &
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Light Company, and that the Arkansas Power & Light 
Company purchased all of the property of the Arkansas 
Public Service Company. 

Appellee's first contention is that the appeal should 
be dismissed because it alleges that, under § 10213 of 
Crawford & Moses' Digest, the appeal should have been 
taken within 30 days, and, since it was not taken within 
that time, it should be dismissed. 

Section 10213 of Crawford & Moses' Digest reads as 
follows : 

"Suits brought under this act shall have precedence 
of all other suits in the courts in which they may be pend-
ing, and shall be disposed of without unnecessary delay, 
and no appeal from any decree rendered in any suit 
brought under this act shall be taken -after thirty days - 
from the date of such decree." 

That section is a part of the act passed by the Leg-
islature for collecting back taxes from corporations, and 
is a property tax, and has no application in suits brought 
to recover franchise tax. The appeal was taken within 
the time allowed by law. 

The important question, however, in this case is 
whether the Arkansas Public Service Company owed a 
franchise tax at tbe time it surrendered its charter. As 
to whether it owed a tax at the time depends upon the 
construction of the law providing for taxing corporations, 
or what is called the State privilege taxes of corporations. 

Section 9799 of Crawford & Moses' Digest is as 
follows : 

"Each corporation organized and - doing business 
under -the laws of this State, for profit, shall make a 
report in writing to the Arkansas Tax Commission, 
annually, on or before June 1, on such forms as the Com-
mi!ssion may prescribe. The report shall be signed and 
sworn to before an officer authorized to administer oaths 
by the president, vice president, secretary or general 
manager of the corporation." 

• The statute then provides the form of the report 
and what it shall contain.
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Section .9801 of Crawford & Moses' Digest provides 
that, after the report is made, the Commission shall, on 
or before July 1, report to the Auditor of State, who shall 
charge and certify to the Treasurer of State for collec-
tion, as herein provided for, from such corporation, a 
tax of one-tenth of one per cent. upon that part of its sub-
scribed and issued and outstanding capital stock 
employed in this State, except as hereinafter provided. 

It will be observed that the Commission must report 
to the Auditor on or 'before July 1, and that thereafter 
the Auditor shall charge and certify the tax for collection 
to the Treasurer. 

Section 9810 of Crawford & Moses' Digest, among 
other things, provides that the taxes shall be due and 
payable on or before August 1.0 of each year. And it 
is provided in § 9812 that the taxes and penalties shall 
be a first lien on the property of the corporation. 

Section 9818 provides as follows : 
"When . any corporation shall have paid the fran-

chise tax prescribed • by this act, the State Tax Commis-
sion shall issue to it a certificate authorizing it to do busi-
ness in this State for the term of five years from the 
date thereof, upon condition that it pay annually the 
franchise tax prescribed 'by law, awl such. certificate shall 
be evidence in all the courts of this State of the right of 
such corporation to do bnsiness in this State during 
the term of such certificate." 

Any corporation doing business in Arkansas at the 
time this .act was passed, March 23, 1911,.was required to 
make the report and to pay the tax as above provided. 
And when a; corporation paid the tax, it received, the cer-
tificate authorizing it to do business in . Arkansas for a 
period of five year§ arter the date of the certificate, which 
was in August. 

Section 9821 provides that "all foreign and domestic 
corporations qualifying under the laws of • this State or 
organizing under the laws of this State, as the case may 
be, 'prior to August 1 of each year, shall be liable for 
the franchise tax by this act prescribed for the year in
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which said corporation qualified or organized, and each 
such corporation so .qualifying or organizingbetween May 
1 and August 1 shall make and file with the Tax Commis-
sion the proper form at the same time it qualifies or 
organizes." 

Under the provisions of the sections above quoted 
the corporation paying tbe tax was 'authorized to do 
business during that year, and that year meant the year 
beginning with the date of the certificate or the date 
mentioned in the certificate. 

The Arkansas Public Service Company was organ-
ized in 1917, and its tax became due and payable on or 
before August 10, 1917, and the payment of that tax 
authorized such corporation to do business in Arkansas 
until August 10, 1918. 

In May, 1918, the Arkansas Public Service 'Com-
pany filed its report, and on August 15, 1918, paid its 
franchise tax of $1,200. The certificate that it held 
entitled . the company to transact business until the frau-

•chise tax became due in 1919, but in June, 1919, the 
Arkansas Public Service Company was dissolved and 
ceased to do business, and this was before the time 
expired for which it had paid its tax. It therefore did 
not OWe any franchise tax at the time it surrendered its 
charter 'and ceased to do business. 

• It has been generally held that •a tax like the one 
for which this suit is brought is in the nature of a 
license fee, and payable in advance. And it is uni-
formly held that an act 'of this kind, providing for a 
tax, operates in the future only, unless the Legislature 
passing the act manifests an intention 'that it. shall 
oPerate in the past. In passing the law in Arkansas 
with reference to franchise tax it appears plain that the 
intention of the Legislature was that the tax should be 
paid for the future. In Tact, the act expressly states 
that, upon paymen.t of the tax, the corporation shall be 
given a . certificate authorizing it to do business in the 
State thereafter for a period 'of five years, on the con-
dition that it pay the tax annually. We think it clear
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that the Legislature intended that the tax should be for 
the privilege of doing business in -the State after the 
payment of the tax. 

It is said in Cooley on Taxation, vol. '2, § 154: 
"In case of doubt, statutes will be construed as 

prospective 'only. This applies to tax statutes and ordi-
nances precisely the same as to other statutes and ordi-
nances. The courts, it is said, always construe stat-
utes as prospective and • ot retrospective, unless con-
strained to the contrary course by the rigor of the 
phraseology. There is commonly a presumption that 
any new tax law was not intended to reach back and 
take for its standard of apportionment a state of things 
that may no longer be in existence. 'New burdens,' it 
is very justly said,. 'ought always to •e prospective.' 
And it is reasonable to suppose that the Legislature has 
intended that they . should be. This rule applies also 
to constitutional provisions, and it 'obtains not only as a 
construction of the grant of power, but also as tO 
the incidents, though a remedial provision may well be. 
presumed to have been intended to reach back for the 
purposes of justice." 

In Arkansas many corporations Were doing business 
lawfully when the act was passed, and they are still 
doing business lawfully until the time mentioned in .the 
act for filing their reports. And if they complied with 
the act 'and paid the tax, they were permitted to there-
after do 'business •in. the •State for one year from the 
date of the payment of 'the tax. 

It was said by tbe New Jersey court: 
" The year for which . the annual tax was thereby for 

-the first time imposed eould not begin until the tax was 
iMposed by-the approval of the act in April, and the tax 
was made payable in June ; that is, as soon as the neces-
sary returns could be had and .the calculations made.. 
The Court of Errors and Appeals did not question this 
view in the case cited. It results that the year for which 
the. tax is to be paid cannot be the calendar year beginning 
January 1. The act, imposing this tax on corporations
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like the prosecutor was passed February 19, 1901. If 
the annual license fee or franchise tax, ais the act calls it, 
were imposed for a calendar year; that year could not 
have begun until January 1, 1902, unless the. act were 
expressly made retroactive. * * If we held that 
the license fee or franchise tax is for a oalendar year, 
we should either have the absurdity that the first annual 
tax under the act became payable six months before the 
year for which it was levied had begun, or we should 
have the injustice of construing a tax to be retroactive 
when the Legislature had not made it so." Old Domin-
ion Copper Mining' & Smelting .Co. v. State Board of 
Taxes and Assessments, 90 N. J. Law 364, 103 Atlan-
tic 690. 

We do not deem it necessary to call attention to 
numerous authorities, for the reason that the Legisla-
ture has made it perfectly plain that the authority to do 
busiriess extends from the time of the certificate granted 
to the corporation until the date named foi it to expire. 
We have reached the conclusion that, under the statutes 
providing for franchise tax, a corporation, after the 
payment of the tax, may lawfully do business within the 
State for one year thereafter, and that, since the Arkan-
sas Public Service Company paid its taxes in August, 
1918, it had the right to do business in Arkansas until 
August, 1919.. It surrendered its charter and ceased 
'to do business and sold all of its property before that 
time, and therefore did not owe any franchise tax. 

Since we hold that the Arkansas Public Service 
'Company did not owe any franchise tax at the time it 
ceased to do business, it becomes unnecessary to decide 
the other questions discussed by counsel. Of Course, if 
the Arkansas: Public Service Company did not owe any 
tax, then the Arkansas Power & Light Company did not 
owe any because of having purchased the property of 
the Arkansas Public Service Company.. Having reached 
the conclusion that there was no tax due from the Arka.n-
gas Power & Light Company because of having pur-
chased the propertY of theArkansas Public Service Com-
pany, this case. is reversed and dismiissed.


