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Larry CRANE, Director of the Arkansas Assessment
Coordination Division, et al. v. NEWARK SCHOOL
DISTRICT NO. 33 of Independence County

89-354 799 S.W.2d 536

Supreme Court of Arkansas
Opinion delivered November 19, 1990
[Rehearing denied December 21, 1990.]

TAXATION — FORMULA USED WAS CONTRARY TO APPLICABLE STATUTES
AND TO THE ARKANSAS CONSTITUTION. — The appellate court
agreed with the chancellor’s conclusion that no authority was given
to vary the specific terms of the statue or to adopt a formula directly
at odds with that contained in Ark. Code Ann. § 26-26-405; the
formula used by appellants was contrary to applicable statutesand -
to the Arkansas Constitution.

Appeal from Pulaski Chancery Court, Fourth Division;
Ellen Brantley, Chancellor; affirmed.

Steve Clark, Att’y Gen., by: Frank J. Wills 111, Asst. Att’y
Gen., for appellants.

Rose Law Firm, A Professional Association, by: David L.
Williams, M. Jane Dickey, and B. Michael Bennett, for appellee.

DavipD NEWBERN, Justice. This is a property tax case
requiring interpretation of Ark. Const. art. 16, § 14, and
implementing legislation. The action was brought by the appel-
lee, Newark School District No. 33 of Independence County
(Newark), against appellant Larry Crane, Director of the As-
sessment Coordination Division (ACD), which is a division of the
Arkansas Public Service Commission. Also named as defendants
were appellants Margaret Boothby and George Kimmer, County
Clerk and Tax Collector, respectively, of Independence County.
Newark claimed that Boothby and Kimmer, pursuant to the
directions of ACD, had assessed and collected personal property
taxes, on other than property belonging to utilities and common
carriers, in amounts improperly low in its district in 1988. The
chancellor found the formula used by Boothby and Kimmer at the
instance of ACD was contrary to applicable statutes and to the
Constitution. She enjoined the appellants from using the ACD
formula and ordered a 1988 assessment on the basis of a formula
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required by the statutes implementing Amendment 59. The
decision was correct.

Massive reassessment of property occurred in Arkansas
pursuant to our decision in Arkansas Public Service Comm. v.
Pulaski County Bd. of Equalization, 266 Ark. 64, 582 S.W.2d
942 (1979), which required real and personal property to be taxed
on an equal basis. Amendment 59 was a response to that decision.
The amendment was intended to effect equalization on a gradual
basis by holding the revenue from taxation of personal property
relatively static as taxes on real estate increased. Clark v. Union
Pacific R.R., 294 Ark. 586, 745 S.W.2d 600 (1988). See also
Wright v. Storey, 298 Ark. 508, 769 S.W.2d 16 (1989). Act 848
of 1981, codified as Ark. Code Ann. §§ 26-26-401 through 26-26-
409 (1987), was passed to implement Amendment 59.

The portion of Amendment 59 now codified as Ark. Const.
art. 16, § 14, sets up a “base year” defined as ““the year in which a
_county completes reassessment and equalization of taxable real
and personal property . . . and extends the rolled back millage
rates for the first time . . . for collection in the following year.”
Newark’s reassessment occurred in 1983. The assessment on
personalty in 1982 yielded $262,354.00. Based upon assessed
personalty of $5,830,080, the tax rate was thus 45 mills.
($262,354 divided by $5,830,080 equals .045.) The chancellor
found as a matter of fact that the 45 mill rate had been approved
by the electorate.

The statutory scheme of implcmentation of the amendment
is that the revenue figure of the base year will remain “frozen,”
§ 26-26-405(a), as the assessment base increases and the tax rate
decreases. There is support for the statutory freeze of revenues in
the amendment. For example, in a proviso which could easﬂy be
interpreted as applying to the entire amendment there is the
following:

Provided, however, that the amount of revenues
derived from taxable personal property assessed in the
taxing unit for the base year, other than personal property
taxes to be paid by public utilities and regulated carriers

.shall be computed at the millage necessary to produce
the same dollar amount of revenues derived during the
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current year in which the base year adjustment or rollback
of millage is computed, and the millage necessary to
produce the same dollar amount of revenues received from
personal property taxes received by the taxing unit, for the
base year shall be reduced annually as the assessed value of
taxable personal property increases until the amount of
revenues received from personal property taxes, computed
on the basis of the current year millage rates will produce
an amount of revenues from taxable personal property
equal to or greater than received during the base year, and
thereafter the millage rates for computing personal prop-
erty taxes shall be the millage rates levied for the current
year. [Ark. Const. art. 16, § 14.]

To accomplish this freezing of revenues and reduction in rate
of taxation on personalty, the general assembly created a formula
for annual computation of the reduced interim tax rate until
equalization. To use the formula, the following data, specified in
the statute, are required:

1. Base year revenues

2. Previous year assessment base

3. New assessment base

4. Current millage by tax source

The formula provided in the statute is as follows:
Prévious Assessment divided by New Assessment = Growth Factor
Base Base
Growth Factor times Current Millage = Interim Millage (rounded)
Interim Millagg times New Assessment = Revenue
Base

For example, Newark’s new assessment base for 1983 was
$6,775,115. Its previous (base year) assessment base was
$5,830,080. The latter figure divided by the former yields a
growth factor of .8606. The current millage, .045, multiplied by
the growth factor .8606 yields an interim millage of .0389 or 38.9
mills. The new assessment base, $6,775,115, multiplied by the
interim millage, .0389, yields revenue of $263,551. That figure is
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no more than 10% above the previous year revenues, thus the
provisions of the statute are satisfied. See Hot Springs School
Dist. No. 6 v. Wells, 281 Ark. 303, 663 S.W.2d 733 (1984).

We must note here the discrepancy between item 2. in the
statutory data list, “Previous year assessment base,” and the term
used in the formula, “Previous assessment base.” The chancellor
concluded that the term used in the formula referred to the base
year assessment base rather than that which was obtained in the
year previous to the year under consideration. We do not know the
basis of her choice, but it makes no difference, significant for our
purposes, in the result she reached.

Both the constitutional amendment and the statute contem-
plate that equalization of rates of taxation on realty and person-
alty will occur because there will be an increase in personal
property in any taxing unit from year to year but the amount of
realty will remain the same. To hold the amount of revenue
received from taxation of personal property at the same level, or
within 10% of it, in spite of personal property tax base increases,
the rate of taxation is to be decreased as in the example given. At
the point when the rate of taxation on personalty is reduced to
that on real property, equalization will have been achieved.

While the assumption that the amount of assessable real
estate in a taxing unit will remain the same is acceptable,
unfortunately the assumption that the amount of personalty in
the unit will increase is not acceptable. It has been demonstrated
in Newark that the amount of personalty, and thus the assessable
tax base on that species of property, may be reduced in any
particular year. Newark’s personal property assessable tax base
decreased in 1984, 1985, and 1986. If the formula set out in the
statute had been followed, the rate of taxation (the millage
figure) would have increased.

For example, in 1987, Newark’s assessable base was
$5,790,600. In the base year it was $5,830,080. Using the
formula and dividing the former figure by the latter, the growth
factor would have been 1.01. The growth factor times the
“current millage,” defined by § 26-26-405(a) as “the millage that
was used in each taxing unit to derive the base-year revenues for
personal property,” in this case .045 yields an interim millage of
.0455 or 45.5 mills. That is a figure which is in excess of the base
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year millage. It clearly was not contemplated by the amendment
or the statute that the millage would go up to any level, much less
one not approved by the voters.

The Independence County authorities handled the problem
during the years of decreasing assessment base simply by skip-
ping the second part of the formula and using the rolled back rate
of 38.9 mills during the period of declining personalty tax base.
They thus apparently received less revenue in those years.

Authorities ‘in the Assessment Coordination Division at-
tempted to solve the problem in 1986 by changing the data to be
used for the calculations from those provided in the statute.
Instead of “Base year revenues” they instructed the clerks and
collectors to use “previous year.” In Newark’s case, that meant
that when the personalty tax base rose, as it did in 1987 to
$6,902,315 from the 1986 figure of $5,790,600, Newark could
receive no more than 10% in excess of the $256,520 generated in
the previous year, 1986. In addition, the Assessment Coordina-
tion Division instructed the county authorities to use the person-
alty assessment base from the “previous year” instead of the base
year as item No. 2 in the data to be applied in the formula. These
variations caused Newark’s revenue figure to drop substantially
below that which it would have received if the formula had not
been changed, and they caused Newark to bring this lawsuit
challenging the practice of the Independence County Clerk and
Collector which they had been instructed by the Assessment
Coordination Division to follow. Newark contends it is entitled to
a minimum of the “frozen” base year revenue figure of $262,354.

[1] The Assessment Coordination Division contends it had
the authority to vary the statutory formula because of the
provision of § 26-26-409 giving it

authority and responsibility with respect to the implemen-
tation of . . . Amendment 59 and the provisions of . . .
laws enacted to carry out the purpose and intent of the
amendment . . . [and] to adopt appropriate rules, regula-
tions, and guidelines to assure that the intent and purpose
of the amendment and the laws . . . are effectively and
efficiently carried out during the transitional period.

We agree with the chancellor’s conclusion that no authority was
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given tovary the specific terms of the statute or to adopt a formula
directly at odds with that contained in § 26-26-405.

The Assessment Coordination Division argues that if we fail
to adopt its “interpretation” of the statutes we will make “Ark.
Code Ann. § 6-20-302(4)(iii)” meaningless. The reference is
apparently to § 6-20-302(4)(B)(iii) which provides:

Personal Property. The actual assessment for the
previous calendar year shall be used for school districts
located in counties that have not been reassessed. For
school districts located in counties that have been reas-
sessed, the charged assessment used shall be the actual
assessment for the calendar year prior to the base year
multiplied by the ratio of the taxes due to be collected in the
current or latest year to the taxes due to be collected in the
base year; . . .

No explanation is provided as to how this language, which is part
of the School Finance Act, an entirely separate piece of legisla-
tion, would be made meaningless if Amendment 59 and its
implementing statutes are followed. We decline to speculate on
the manner in which the two programs may be related. In any
event, we would not hold that the language supersedes a constitu-
tional amendment.

We agree with the chancellor’s declaration that the rate to be
applied to Newark for 1988 is 38.1. It is figured as follows:

Base year revenue $262,354
Previous year base $5,830,080
New base $6,902,315
Current millage .045

The previous year base (base year), $5,830,080, divided by the
new base, $6,902,315, yields a growth factor of .8446. The
current millage, .045, multiplied by the growth factor, .8446,
yields an interim (rounded) millage of 38.1. The interim millage
applied to the new base yields $262,978 which is within the 10%
above base year limit.

While we approve the chancellor’s conclusions about the
case before us, we must note that we are not dealing with an
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increase in millage above the base year figure of .045. Following
the statutory formula could result, as demonstrated above, in a
rate of taxation which is in excess of that of the base year and in
excess of any approved by the electorate. That case was not before
the chancellor, and consequently it is not before us now. The
general assembly should be aware that the formula may be fatally
flawed and completely unworkable if property values fall or if the
amount of personalty in a taxing unit decreases to the extent that
following the formula causes an increase in the millage to a level
in excess of that of the base year or a level not approved by the
voters. We find no provisions which would govern such an
instance, and we urge the general assembly to consider the
problem.

Affirmed.




