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Linda STREET v. STATE of Arkansas


CR 98-74	 975 S.W.2d 827 

Supreme Court of Arkansas

Opinion delivered October 8, 1998 

[Petition for rehearing denied November 12, 1998.1 

APPEAL & ERROR - NO APPEAL FROM NOLO CON7ENDERE PLEA - 
EXCEPTION TO APPELLATE RULE NOT APPLICABLE - APPEAL DIS-
MISSED. - The only exception to Ark. R. App. P.—Crim. 1, 
which states generally that there shall be no appeal from a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere, is found in Ark. R. Crim. P. 24.3(b), which 
provides, subject to court approval and prosecutorial consent, for a 
conditional plea of guilty or nolo contendere with a written reser-
vation of the right, on appeal from the judgment, to review of an 
adverse determination of a pretrial motion to suppress evidence; 
holding that the exception did not apply in this case, where appel-
lant had entered a plea of nolo contendere, the supreme court dis-
missed the appeal. 

Appeal from Jackson Circuit Court; Harold S. Erwin, Judge; 
appeal dismissed. 

Alvin Schay, for appellant. 

Winston Bryant, Att'y Gen., by: Mac Golden, Ass't Att'y Gen., 
for appellee. 

W.H. "Dt..13" ARNOLD, Chief Justice. The appellant, Linda 
Street, entered a plea of nob contendere in Jackson County, Arkan-
sas, Circuit Court to the following charges: possession of meth-
amphetamine with intent to deliver (a Class Y felony, carrying a 
possible sentence of ten years to forty years or life in the Arkansas 
Department of Correction and a fine of up to $25,000); possession 
of marijuana with intent to deliver (a Class C felony, carrying a 
possible sentence of four years to ten years in the Arkansas Depart-
ment of Correction, or a fine of up to $25,000, or both); and 
possession of drug paraphernalia (a Class C felony, carrying a pos-
sible sentence of three years to ten years in the Arkansas Depart-
ment of Correction, or a fine of up to $10,000, or both). See Ark.
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Code Ann. §§ 5-4-401(a)(4), 5-64-401(a)(1)(I), (iv), and 5-64- 
403(c)(1) (Repl. 1998). The trial court sentenced appellant to 
thirty years, five years, and five years, respectively on each count, 
for a total of forty years in the Arkansas Department of Correc-
tion. Appellant contends for her only point on appeal that the 
trial court committed reversible error by not disqualifying itself 
because of "agitation" with defense counsel's actions, resulting in 
an excessive sentence for appellant. 

Rule 1(a) of the Arkansas Rules of Appellate Procedure—
Criminal provides that 

[a]ny person convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony by virtue 
of trial in any circuit court of this state has the right to appeal to 
the Arkansas Court of Appeals or to the Supreme Court of 
Arkansas. An appeal may be taken jointly by codefendants or by 
any defendant jointly charged and convicted with another 
defendant, and only one (1) appeal need be taken where a 
defendant has been found guilty of one (1) or more charges at a 
single trial. Except as provided by ARCrP 24.3(b) there shall be no 
appeal from a plea of guilty or nolo contendere. [Emphasis added.] 

[1] The only exception to Rule 1 of the Arkansas Rules of 
Appellate Procedure is found in Arkansas Rule of Criminal Proce-
dure 24.3(b), which provides that 

[w]ith the approval of the court and the consent of the prosecut-
ing attorney, a defendant may enter a conditional plea of guilty or 
nolo contendre [contendere], reserving in writing the right, on 
appeal from the judgment, to review of an adverse determination 
of a pretrial motion to suppress evidence. If the defendant 
prevails on appeal, he shall be allowed to withdraw his plea. 

That exception does not apply in this case. 

Appeal dismissed.


