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FARMERS CO-OP OF ARKANSAS AND OKLAHOMA
v. STATE of Arkansas et al
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Supreme Court of Arkansas
Opinion delivered May 21, 1984

1. TAXATION — GROSS RECEIPTS TAX LAW — PENAL PROVISIONS
MUST BE STRICTLY CONSTRUED. — Act 386 of 1941, the gross
receipts tax law, must be considered as a whole, bearing in
mind that its penal provisions must be strictly construed
against the imposition of the penalty.

2. TAXATION — GROSS RECEIPTS TAX LAW — 2% DISCOUNT FOR
PROMPT PAYMENT — FIVE DAYS GRACE PERIOD ALLOWED. —
Section 14 of Act 386, Ark. Acts of 1941, [Ark. Stat. Ann.
§ 84-1915 (Repl. 1960)] allows a grace period of five days
before the 2% discount for prompt payment of the sales tax is
lost.

3. TAXATION — GROSS RECEIPTS TAX ACT AMBIGUOUS — STRICT
CONSTRUCTION REQUIRED — PAYMENT WITHIN FIVE DAYS OF DUE
DATE PERMITTED WITHOUT PENALTY. — Act 386, Ark. Acts of
1941, is ambiguous in that Section 5 contemplates ““delivery”’
of the sales tax by the 15th of the month following its
collection and Section 14 refers to “‘transmitting’’ the returns;
in the face of such ambiguties, the statute must be construed
strictly, 'and, therefore, the penalty should not be imposed
when the returns and the remittances reach the Commissioner
less than five days after their due date, there being a five-day
grace period provided in the act.

Appeal from Crawford Chancery Court; Warren O.
Kimbrough, Chancellor; reversed.

Ball, Mourton & Adams, for appellant.
Timothy J. Leathers, Wayne Zakrzewski, John H.

Theis, Kelly Jennings, Ann Fuchs, Joe Morphew & Michael
D. Munns, by: Joseph V. Svoboda, for appellees.

GEORGE RoOsE SMITH, Justice. The appellant taxpayer is
a cooperative doing business in Crawford County. On seven
occasions between October, 1976, and March, 1979, the
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appellant’s monthly gross-receipts tax return did not reach
the office of the Commissioner of Revenues in Little Rock
until from two to four days after the due date, although each
return was deposited in a post office on or before its due date.
The Commissioner disallowed $2,585.16 in discounts taken
by the taxpayer for prompt payment and also assessed total
10% penalties of $11,194.81. The co-op paid the amount
demanded, $13,799.97, and brought this suit against the
State and its officers to recover the amount paid.

The case was submitted to the trial court upon the
foregoing agreed facts, with a stipulation that if the deposit
of the returns in the mail constituted a delivery to the
Commissioner, the co-op should recover; otherwise not. The
chancellor reasoned that the mailing of a return is not the
equivalent of “delivering” it to the Commissioner, as the
statute contemplates; so the co-op’s claim was denied. Our
jurisdiction is under Rule 29 (1) (c).

We do not think the question is merely whether the
mailing of a return in Crawford County is a delivery in
Pulaski County on the same day. In fact, the parties go
beyond that issue in their briefs. On the agreed facts the
pivotal question is what adverse consequences the legis-
lature intended for the taxpayer to suffer when its monthly
tax return reaches the Commissioner (whether mailed or
not) from two to four days after its due date.

All the pertinent statutory language was contained in
the 1941 gross-receipts tax law, which replaced the sales tax
act and extensively modified its provisions. Act 386 of 1941.
That statute of course must be considered as a whole,
bearing in mind that its penal provisions must be strictly
construed against the imposition of the penalty. Harber v.
Shows, 262 Ark. 161, 553 S.w.2d 282 (1977).

Section 5 of Act 386 provided that it is the duty of all
taxpayers, on or before August 15, 1941, “to deliver to the
Commissioner” their returns, and thereafter “like returns
shall be prepared and delivered to said Commissioner” by
the 15th of each month for the preceding calendar month.
Section 5 also provided that the remittance of the tax is to
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accompany the return. “If not paid on or before the 15th of

such month, the tax shall be delinquent from such date.”’ No

penalty for delinquency is mentioned in this section. Ark.

Stat. Ann. § 84-1506 (Repl. 1960).

Next, Section 9 (b) provided that if any person fails to
file a return, the Commissioner shall assess the tax and
notify the taxpayer of the amount, with a 25% penalty. The
section continued: “In case of failure or refusal to file a
remittance . . .with any return required by this Act, within
the time prescribed by this Act, 10 per cent of the tax shall be
added as penalty; provided, that when a return or. . .remit-
tance is filed after such time and it is shown that the failure
to file it was due to reasonable cause, no such addition shall
be made to the tax.” § 84-1910.

The third pertinent section, strongly relied upon by the
appellant, reads:

Section 14. Discount Allowed Taxpayer for
Prompt Payment. At the time of transmitting the
returns required under this Act, to the Commissioner,
the taypayer shall remit therewith to the Commis-
sioner, except as hereinafter provided, ninety-eight
(98%) per centum of the tax under the applicable
provisions of this Act, and failure to remit such tax at
the time of filing the return shall cause said tax to
become delinquent; provided, however, in the event the
payment of any tax due under the applicable pro-
visions of this Act becomes delinquent for a period of
five days the taxpayer forfeits his claim to the two (2%)
per centum discount and must remit to the Commis-
stoner one hundred (100%) per centum of the amount of
tax plus any penalty and interest due. This discount is
allowed the seller or taxpayer to remunerate him for
keeping Sales Tax records, filing reports, collecting the
tax, and remitting it when due as required by this Act.
[§ 84-1915.]

In view of the section just quoted, the Commissioner
was evidently mistaken in disallowing the co-op’s discounts
for prompt payments. The statute allows a grace period of
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five days before the discount is lost, and all the returns in

issue were filed before that period had expired.

Furthermore, Section 14 also provides, in the clearest
language to be found in the pertinent sections, that ““failure
to remit such tax at the time of filing the return shall cause
said tax to become delinquent.” “‘[S]aid tax,” however, is the
98% of the tax that may be paid within five days after the due
date without being delinquent. We find it hard to believe
that when the return is filed, say, three days after its due date,
the legislature intended to reward the taxpayer with a 2%
discount for his promptness and at the same time to punish
him with a 10% penalty for his lack of promptness. Even
though Section 5 of the Act contemplated the delivery of the
returns to the Commissioner, Section 14 refers to “‘the time
of transmitting the returns.”’ In the face of such ambiguities
in the statute, which must be construed strictly, we are not
convinced that the penalty is to be imposed when the returns
and the remittances reach the Commissioner less than five
days after their due date. (Incidentally, the problem
presented by this case will not recur, for in 1979 the
legislature changed the law to provide that when a return 1s
received by the Commissioner after its due date, the date of
the United States postmark shall be deemed to be the date of
delivery. Ark. Stat. Ann. § 84-4727 [Repl. 1980].)

Reversed.




