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Buster NELSON v. Dick WAKEFIELD
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Supreme Court of Arkansas

Opinion delivered April 30, 1984 

1. ACTIONS - NONSUIT - NEW ACTION MUST BE COMMENCED 
WITHIN ONE YEAR. - A new action must be commenced within 
a year after a nonsuit. [Ark. Stat. Ann. § 37-222 (Repl. 1962).] 

2. PROCESS - SHERIFF AS PARTY TO SUIT - SERVICE BY CORONER 
REQUIRED BY STATUTE. - When the sheriff is a party to an 
action, the summons is to be served by the coroner. [Ark. Stat. 
Ann. § 27-321 (Repl. 1979).] 

3. PROCESS - REQUIREMENT THAT SERVICE ON SHERIFF BE BY 
CORONER NOT CHANGED BY 1983 CIVIL PROCEDURE RULE. — 
ARCP Rule 4(a), as amended on May 16, 1983, which provides 
that any summons is to be delivered for service to a sheriff or to 
a person authorized by law to serve it, does not purport to 
change Ark. Stat. Ann. § 27-321 (Repl. 1979), which requires 
that a sheriff be served by the coroner. 

Appeal from Howard Circuit Court; Ted C. Capeheart, 
Judge; affirmed. 

Honey & Rodgers, by: Charles L. Honey, for appellant. 

Steel & Steel, by: George Steel, Jr., for appellee. 

GEORGE ROSE SMITH, Justice. This action for personal 
injuries was brought by the appellant, Buster Nelson, 
against Howard County Sheriff Dick Wakefield and others, 
to recover damages for physical abuse allegedly suffered by 
Nelson while he was a prisoner in the city-county jail at 
Nashville, Arkansas. In the original action Nelson took a 
nonsuit on June 24, 1982, after the statute of limitations had 
run. Nelson filed his present complaint on June 22, 1983, 
but the only summons issued against Sheriff Wakefield was 
served upon him by his own deputy sheriff on June 24. On 
November 30, 1983, the circuit court dismissed the action, 
finding that more than a year had passed since Nelson took a 
nonsuit and more than 60 days since the refiling of the 
complaint.



286	 [282 

The only argument for reversal is that the action was 
properly refiled and the summons properly served under 
ARCP Rules 3 and 4, which we are called upon to interpret. 
Supreme Court Rule 29 (1) (c). 

The case was rightly dismissed. A new action must be 
commenced within a year after a nonsuit. Ark. Stat. Ann. 
§ 37-222 (Repl. 1962). Ever since the Civil Code of 1869 it has 
been the law that when the sheriff is a party to an action the 
summons is to be served by the coroner. Section 27-321 
(Repl. 1979). ARCP Rule 4 (a), as amended on May 16, 1983, 
does not purport to change that statute, for the Rule 
provides that any summons is to be delivered for service to a 
sheriff or to a person authorized by law to serve it. Per curiam 
amendments, 279 Ark. 473 and 280 Ark. 608. The amended 
Rule 4 (i) does extend the time for service from 60 days to 120 
days, but that is immaterial, for the trial court's dismissal 
was more than 120 days after the filing of the present 
complaint. By then the statute of limitations had run. 

Affirmed.


