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1.  ADMINISTRATIVE LAW & PROCEDURE — APPEALS OF PUBLIC SER-
VICE COMMISSION DECISIONS — PSC RETAINED JURISDICTION AND
HAD AUTHORITY TO ENTER ITS ORDERS. — The two crucial proce-
dural aspects of appealing a PSC decision in the analysis of this case
were 1) a notice of appeal from a Commission decision must be filed
either within thirty days after the order of the Commission upon the
application for rehearing or within thirty days from the date the
application is deemed to be denied as provided in Ark. Code Ann.
§ 23-2-422; and 2) the court of appeals does not obtain jurisdiction
over a PSC appeal until the notice of appeal and record have been
filed with the court of appeals; in this case, notices of appeal were
filed within thirty days of the date on which the PSC denied the
applications for rehearing, and neither a notice of appeal nor a record
had been lodged with the court of appeals prior to the date on which
the PSC denied the applications for rehearing; thus, the PSC retained
jurisdiction over the case before it and therefore had the authority to
enter its orders.

2. ADMINISTRATIVE LAW & PROCEDURE — PSC’S DECISION TO TEM-
PORARILY GRANT APPLICATIONS FOR REHEARING DID NOT PREJU-
DICE THE APPELLANT. — Because the appellant could not demon-
strate prejudice stemming from the PSC’s decision to grant, then
deny, the applications for rehearing, there was no basis for affording
the appellant the relief it requested.
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TOM Grazg, Justice. This court accepted jurisdiction of this
case for the limited purpose of deciding whether to grant
the motion to dismiss the appeal filed by Arkansas Western Gas Co.
Appellee Arkansas Western Gas Co. (AWG) filed a petition with the
Arkansas Public Service Commission (PSC or “the Comimission’”)
seeking a rate increase on December 29, 2004. In its application,
AWG asked that its rates be increased annually by $9,739,459. The
application was opposed by appellants Commercial Energy Users
Group (CEUG) and the Consumer Ultilities Rate Advocacy Division
of the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office (AG or “the Attorney
General”). On October 31, 2005, the PSC entered Order No. 6, in
which it approved an increase of AWG’s rates of $4,623,859 annually.

On November 29, 2005, pursuant to Ark. Code Ann.
§ 23-2-422(a) (Repl. 2002), the Attorney General filed an appli-
cation for rehearing of the PSC’s Order No. 6. CEUG also filed an
application for rehearing on November 30, 2005. The PSC Staff
and AWG both filed responses to the Attorney General’s applica-
tion for rehearing on December 9, 2005, and filed responses to
CEUG'’s application for rehearing on December 12, 2005. The
PSC, however, did not act on the applications for rehearing within
thirty days. Thus, under the plain language of Ark. Code Ann.
§ 23-2-422(d) (Repl. 2002), the applications were deemed denied
on December 29, 2005 (AG), and December 30, 2005 (CEUG).

Subsequently, on January 26, 2006, the PSC entered Order
No. 9, in which it acknowledged that the applications for rehear-
ing had been deemed denied. However, the PSC stated that,
“[a]fter further review, the Commission has determined that the
rehearing requests of the AG and the CEUG should not have been
allowed to be deemed denied by operation of law.”” The PSC
further noted that, because no party had yet filed a notice or
petition of appeal with the Arkansas Court of Appeals regarding
Order No. 6, the Commission retained jurisdiction of the matter.
Accordingly, the PSC declared, the requests for rehearing were
“granted solely for the purpose of further consideration by the
Commission.”

On February 28, 2006, the PSC issued Order No. 10, in
which it noted that it had ““‘completed its consideration of the
requests for rehearing of the AG and the CEUG,” and that those
requests for rehearing should be denied. On March 30, 2006,
CEUG and the Attorney General filed notices of appeal from the
PSC’s Order No. 10 denying the requests for rehearing.
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On May 26, 2006, AWG filed a motion to dismiss the appeal
in the court of appeals, arguing that the Attorney General and
CEUG should have filed their notices of appeal within thirty days
of the date their applications for rehearing were deemed denied, or
by January 30, 2006.t AWG further contended that the January 26,
2006, Order No. 10 was a “‘nullity and did not extend the deadline
for filing notices of appeal beyond January 30, 2006.” Pointing out
that the motion to dismiss the appeal would require the harmoni-
zation of various statutes and the Rules of Civil and Appellate
Procedure, the court of appeals certified AWG’s motion to dismiss
the appeal to this court.

The standard of review in cases involving the Public Service
Commission is set forth in Ark. Code Ann. § 23-2-423(c)(4)
(Repl. 2002), which provides as follows:

[Judicial] review shall not be extended further than to determine
whether the commission’s findings are supported by substantial
evidence and whether the commission has regularly pursued its
authority, including a determination of whether the order or
decision under review violated any right of the petitioner under the
laws or Constitution of the United States or of the State of Arkansas.

In addition, under Ark. Code Ann. § 23-2-423(a)(2) (Repl. 2002),
“[n]o proceeding to review any order of the commission shall be
brought by any party unless that party has made application to the
commission for a rehearing on the order.” The decision to grant or
deny a petition for rehearing ““is a matter resting largely with[in] the
discretion of a regulatory agency in rate cases.” Southwestern Bell Tel.
Co. v. Ark. Pub. Serv. Comm’n, 267 Ark. 550, 556, 593 S.W.2d 434,
439 (1980).

AWG’s argument in this case is premised on its contention
that the Attorney General’s and CEUG’s notices of appeal should
have been filed within thirty days of the date those parties’
petitions for rehearing were deemed denied, which was no later
than January 30, 2006. In support of its claim, AWG cites Ark. R.
App. P. — Civ. 4(b)(1), which provides as follows:

' Although the applications for rehearing were deemed denied on different days, the
thirtieth day from both deemed-denials fell on January 30,2006. Thirty days from December
29,2005, expired on January 28,2006, a Saturday; the thirtieth day following December 30,
2005, was January 29, 2006, a Sunday. Thus, the thirty-day deadline fell on Monday, January
30,2006. See Ark. R. Civ. P 6(2) (2006).
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Upon timely filing in the circuit court of a motion for judgment
notwithstanding the verdict under Rule 50(b) of the Arkansas Rules
of Civil Procedure, a motion to amend the court’s findings of fact or
to make additional findings under Rule 52(b), a motion for a new
trial under Rule 59(a), or any other motion to vacate, alter, or amend
the judgment made no later than 10 days after entry of judgment,
the time for filing a notice of appeal shall be extended for all parties.
The notice of appeal shall be filed within thirty (30) days from entry
of the order disposing of the last motion outstanding. However, if
the circuit court neither grants nor denies the motion within thirty (30) days
of its filing, the motion shall be deemed denied by operation of law as of the
thirtieth day, and the notice of appeal shall be filed within thirty (30) days
from that date.

(Emphasis added.)

AWG urges that Ark. Code Ann. § 23-2-422(d) (Repl.
2002) ““clearly states that unless the Commission acts upon an
application for rehearing within thirty days of its filing, the
application shall be deemed denied.”” Thus, because § 23-2-422(d)
requires action within thirty days, and because Rule 4(b)(1)
requires a notice of appeal to be filed within thirty days of a
deemed denial, AWG maintains that the Attorney General and
CEUG filed their notices of appeal too late, and, as a result, the
appellate courts never obtained jurisdiction.

AWG is correct that, generally speaking, a party’s failure to
timely file a notice of appeal deprives the appellate court of
jurisdiction. See, e.g., Jefferson v. Ark. Dep’t of Human Servs., 356
Ark. 647, 158 S.W.3d 129 (2004); Hawkins v. State Farm Fire & Cas.
Co., 302-Ark. 582, 792 S.W.2d 307 (1990). However, the asser-
tion of this general rule does not answer the question presented in
the case before us — that is, whether the notices of appeal filed by
the Attorney General and CEUG were, in fact, timely.

AWG maintains that the notices of appeal were not timely
because “‘the requirements found in Rule 4(b)(1) of the Rules of
Appellate Procedure — Civil . . . have . . . been interpreted to
require strict (not substantial) compliance by the appellant in order
to vest the appellate court with jurisdiction.” AWG further asserts
that Rule 4(b)(1) “provides that upon the filing of certain specified
posttrial motions, the time for filing the notice of appeal shall be
extended with the new deadline being thirty days after the entry of
the order disposing of the last of such outstanding motions,” and if
the motion is deemed denied, the notice of appeal must be filed
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within thirty days from that date. AWG then goes on to cite several
cases decided under Rule 4(b)(1) and Ark. R. Civ. P. 59,2 such as
Slaton v. Slaton, 330 Ark. 287, 956 S.W.2d 150 (1997); McCoy v.
Moore, 338 Ark. 740, 1 S.W.3d 11 (1999); and Office of Child
Support Enforcement v. Offutt, 61 Ark. App. 207, 966 S.W.2d 275
(1998). In each of these cases, the appellate court held that the
appellants’ notices of appeal were untimely because they had been
filed past the expiration of thirty days from the date a posttrial
motion had been deemed denied.

However, these cases are neither “analogous’ nor ““instruc-
tive,”” as AWG contends, because the holding in each of them
turns upon an application of the Rules of Civil Procedure and the
Rules of Appellate Procedure. The fundamental problem with
AWG’s argument is that the Commission is not bound by the
Ruules of Civil Procedure. See Brandon v. Arkansas Western Gas Co.,
76 Ark. App. 201, 212, 61 S.W.3d 193, 201 (2001) (noting that,
while the Commission is not bound by the Rules, and although it
may look to the Rules for guidance, it is not required to do so).
Thus, AWG’s arguments, which are based entirely on the Rules of
Civil Procedure, are not well taken.

In its brief, the PSC acknowledges that a circuit court loses
jurisdiction when it does not grant a new trial or vacate a judgment
within thirty days and that, under Rule 4(b)(1), a notice of appeal
must be filed within thirty days of the motion being denied.*

2 Rule 59, of course, provides that a motion for a new trial must be made within thirty
days of the entry of judgment, and if the trial court “neither grants nor denies the motion
within 30 days of the date on which it is filed or treated as filed, it shall be deemed denied as
of the 30th day” Rule 4(b)(1), then, requires the notice of appeal to be filed within thirty days
of the deemed denial.

* In Brandon v. Arkansas Public Service Commission, 67 Ark. App. 140, 992 S.W.2d 834
(1999), the court of appeals (which has original jurisdiction of all appeals from the Public
Service Commission, see Ark. Code Ann. § 23-2-423(a)(1) (Repl. 2002)) noted that it had
“become more inclined to apply rules of civil procedure to administrative actions.” Brandon,
67 Ark. App. at 151,992 S W.2d at 840 (citing Bryant v. Ark. Pub. Serv. Comm’n, 53 Ark. App.
114,919 S.W.2d 522 (1996}, in which the court of appeals noted that Rule 10.02(c) of the
Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure is a reflection of the clear standard adopted in
Arkansas courts that requires fact pleading and cited Rules 8(a)(1) and 12(b)(6) of the Arkansas
Rules of Civil Procedure). However, the court of appeals has yet to specifically hold that the
Rules of Civil Procedure are to be applied in proceedings before the Commission.

* This case obviously does not involve a motion for new trial or a motion to vacate a
judgment.
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However, the PSC notes, it is not bound by the Rules of Civil
Procedure; rather, it is statutorily authorized to adopt its own rules
of procedures in matters before it, see Ark. Code Ann. § 23-2-205
(Repl. 2002), and it has done so by adopting its Rules of Practice
and Procedure.

The PSC further agrees that § 23-2-422(d) ““does provide
that an application for rehearing before the Commission shall be
deemed denied if not acted upon within thirty days.”” See also Ark.
Pub. Serv. Comm’n Rules of Practice & Procedure 3.16(a).s
However, the PSC notes, neither § 23-2-422(d) nor Rule 3.16
provides that a notice of appeal must be filed within thirty days of
the deemed-denied date. Rather, Ark. Code Ann. § 23-2-
423(a)(1) provides the following:

Any party to a proceeding before the Arkansas Public Service
Commission aggrieved by an order issued by the commission in the
proceeding may obtain a review of the order in the Arkansas Court
of Appeals. The review of the order may be had by filing in that
court, within thirty (30) days after the order of the commission upon the
application for rehearing or within thirty (30) days from the date the
application is deemed to be denied as provided in § 23-2-422, a notice of
appeal stating the nature of the proceeding before the commission,
identifying the order complained of and the reasons why the order
is claimed to be unlawful, and praying that the order of the
commission be modified, remanded, or set aside in whole or in part.

(Emphasis added.) As thoroughly discussed below, it is clear that the
notice of appeal may be filed within thirty days of one of two dates: 1)
the date on which the PSC enters an order upon the application for
rehearing, or 2) the date on which the application is deemed denied.

Further, under Ark. Code Ann. § 23-2-423(c)(1) (Repl.
2002), the court of appeals does not gain jurisdiction of an appeal
from the PSC until the notice of appeal is timely filed with the
court: “Upon the filing of the petition, the court shall have
original jurisdiction, which, upon the filing of the record with it,
shall be exclusive, to affirm, modify, or set aside the order of the
commission in whole or in part.”’ Under the plain language of this
statute, the court of appeals does not acquire exclusive jurisdiction over an
appeal from the PSC until the record has been lodged with the court. See

* Rule 3.16(b) provides, in pertinent part, that,“[u]nless the Commission acts upon the
application [for rehearing] within thirty (30) days after it is filed, such application shall be
deemed to have been denied.”
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§ 23-2-423(c)(1). The logical conclusion to be drawn from this
statutory language is that, until both the notice of appeal and the
record have been filed with the court of appeals, the Commission
retains jurisdiction over its cases.

In sum, the two crucial procedural aspects of appealing a
PSC decision in this analysis are these: 1) a notice of appeal from a
Commission decision must be filed either within thirty days after
the order of the Commission upon the application for rehearing or
within thirty days from the date the application is deemed to be
denied as provided in § 23-2-422; and 2) the court of appeals does
not obtain jurisdiction over a PSC appeal until the notice of appeal
and record have been filed with the court of appeals.

[1] In this case, the Attorney General and CEUG filed
notices of appeal within thirty days of the date on which the PSC
denied their applications for rehearing. Moreover, neither a notice
of appeal nor a record had been lodged with the court of appeals
prior to the date on which the PSC denied the applications for
rehearing. Thus, contrary to AWG’s argument that PSC Order
No. 9 was a “nullity,” the PSC retained jurisdiction over the case
before it; having done so, the PSC clearly had the authority to
enter both Order No. 9 on January 26, 2006, in which it granted
rehearing for the purpose of further consideration of the Attorney
General’s and CEUG’s arguments, and Order No. 10 on February
28, 2006, denying the applications for rehearing. AWG cites Brown
v. Arkansas Public Service Commission, 17 Ark. App. 258, 707 S.W.2d
780 (1986) (per curiam), in support of its contention that the
language in § 23-2-423(a) is mandatory and requires strict com-
pliance before the appellate courts can be vested with jurisdiction.
However, Brown is not on point. There, the appellants had
attempted to appeal two Commission orders. The Browns had
filed a notice of appeal from one order with the court of appeals
even though they had not sought rehearing of a PSC order
pursuant to what is now § 23-2-423(2)(2),¢ and they had filed their
notice of appeal regarding the other order prior to a decision by the
Commission on their petition for rehearing. The court of appeals
dismissed the Browns’ appeal, holding that the statutory language

¢ Section 23-2-423(a)(2) provides that “[n]o proceeding to review any order of the
commission shall be brought by any party unless that party has made application to the
commission for a rehearing on the order”
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was ‘‘mandatory, and strict compliance with its provisions is
necessary before any order of the Public Service Commission may
be reviewed by this court.” Brown, 17 Ark. App. at 259, 707
S.W.2d at 781.

This language actually undermines AWG’s position. Here,
the applications for rehearing were deemed denied on December
29 and 30, 2005. On January 26, 2006, prior to the expiration of
the thirty days from those dates, the PSC still retained jurisdiction
of this case; on that date, the PSC entered its Order No. 9,
declaring that it had not intended to let the petitions for rehearing
be deemed denied, and granting the Attorney General’s and
CEUG'’s applications for the PSC’s further consideration. Had the
Attorney General and CEUG proceeded to file their notices of
appeal between January 26 and January 30 — that is, prior to the
date on which the PSC denied their applications for rehearing —
AWG could have sought dismissal of their appeals for lack of a final
PSC order.”

Finally, we note that AWG was not prejudiced by the
Commission’s decision to temporarily grant the applications for
rehearing before it ultimately denied them. This court, of course,
will not reverse in the absence of prejudice. See Campbell v. Entergy
Arkansas, Inc., 363 Ark. 132, 211 S.W.3d 500 (2005) (a party
cannot assign as error that which is not prejudicial to him; and
harmless error, that is error unaccompanied by prejudice or injury,
is not a ground for reversal). Thus, unless the appellant demon-
strates prejudice accompanying error, we will not reverse. Id.

[2] AWG has not alleged that it was prejudiced by the
Commission’s decision. AWG was granted a rate increase on
October 31, 2005, when the Commission’s decision took effect,
and, according to the Attorney General’s brief, AWG has been
collecting that increased rate since that date. Under Ark. Code
Ann. § 23-2-424(a)(1) (Repl. 2002), the filing of a petition for
rehearing *‘shall not, unless specifically ordered by the
Commission, operate as a stay of the Commission’s order[,]’” nor

7 The Attorney General further points out that, if an appeal had been taken at the time
suggested by AWG, there would not have been a final order for appellate consideration, which
would have violated the requirement that an aggrieved appellant’s petition state “the reasons
why the order is claimed to be unlawful.” See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-2-423(a)(1). Without a
final order, the “aggrieved party” would not know why, or even whether, the order harmed
that party, and the party could not know the issues on which to bring an appeal.
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shall the “commencement of proceedings under § 23-2-423 . . .
operate as a stay of the commission’s order.”” See § 23-2-424(a)(2).
Accordingly, because AWG cannot demonstrate prejudice stem-
ming from the PSC’s decision to grant, then deny, the applications
for rehearing, there is no basis for affording AWG the relief it
requests.

This case was certified to us by the court of appeals for the
sole purpose of addressing AWG’s motion to dismiss the appeal.
Having determined that the motion must be denied, we remand
the case to the court of appeals for consideration of the merits of
the appeal.




