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MCHENRY V. STATE. 

4672	 242 S. W. 2d 707 
•	Opinion delivered October 15, 1951. 
_1. CRIMINAL LAW—STATUTORY CONSTRUCTION.—Courts will give ef-

fect to all language employed in a statute when reason and con-
sistency permit. 

2. CRIMINAL LAW.—To have in possession or knowingly transport 
into this state intoxicating liquors of any kind upon which the 
Arkansas excise tax has not been paid is prohibited by law. Ark. 
Stat., § 48-934. 

3. CRIMINAL LAW.—Appellants' possession of two pints of wine 
shipped into this state without payment of the Arkansas excise 
tax was in violation of the statute and the verdict of guilty was 
proper. Ark. Stat., §§ 48-404, 48-913 and 48-934. 

4. CRIMINAL LAW—PUNISHMENT NOT EXCESSIVE, WHEN.—The pun-
ishment imposed on appellant for illegal possession of intoxicating 
liquor being within the limits prescribed by statute cannot be said 
to be excessive. 

Appeal from Ashley Circuit Court ; John M. Golden, 
Judge ; affirmed. 

Ovid T. Switzer and W. P. Switzer, for appellant. 
Ike Murry, Attorney General and Robert Downie, 

Assistant Attorney General, for appellee. 
ROBINSON, J. The appellant was tried on an indict-

ment charging him with having in his possession two 
pints of wine upon which the Arkansas excise tax had 
not been paid. He was convicted and his punishment-
fixed at a fine of $500 and imprisonment in the county 
jail for a period of 6 months. On appeal appellant con-
tends that there is no law prohibiting the possession of 
wine on which the Arkansas tax has not been paid un-
less such wine has been illegally manufactured, and that
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the evidence shows the wine to have been bought in 
Louisiana, and not to have been illegally manufactured. 
Appellant also contends that the punishment fixed by 
the jury is excessive. 

- Section 48-404, Ark. Stats., prohibits the shipment 
13r transportation into the State of Arkansas of any 
spirituous liquors, vinous liquors, wines, or other than 
Arkansas wines, beer, etc., without first having obtained 
a permit from the Commissioner of Revenue. Section 
48-913, Ark. Stats., provides that any person who has in 
his possession intoxicating alcoholic liquor not obtained 
under and in conformity with the provisions of the Act 
shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall upon 
conviction be fined not less than $50 nor more than 
$500, and imprisoned for not exceeding 6 months, or both 
so fined and imprisoned in the discretion of the court 
or jury. 

Section 48-934, Ark. Stats., provides : "It shall be 
unlawful for any person to buy, bargain, sell, loan, own, 
have in possession or knowingly transport illicitly dis-
tilled liquor or intoxicating liquors of any kind upon 
which the Arkansas excise tax prescribed by law, has 
not been paid, and it shall be unlawful for any person 
to buy, bargain, sell, loan, own, have in possession or 
knowingly transport an illicit distillery for the unlawful 
manufacture of intoxicating liquors, or any apparatus 
designed for the unlawful manufacture of spirituous, 
vinous, malt or intoxicating liquors." The penalty for 
the violation of this section is a fine of not less than 
$50 nor more than $500, and imprisonment not exceed-
ing 6 months, or both fine and imprisonment. 

Appellant says that § 48-934 should be construed as 
applying only to those liquors which have been illicitly 
distilled, as the Statute deals with illicitly distilled 
liquors and illicit distilleries; that the doctrine of 
ejusdem generis should apply in that respect. 

The emergency clause is highly persuasive of the 
fact that the Legislature intended to prohibit the pos-
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session of intoxicating liquors without the Arkansas tax 
having been paid. The emergency clause provides : 

"Whereas, it has been ascertained that large quan-
tities of intoxicating liquors are being illegally manu-
factured and sold in the State of Arkansas and large 
quantities of intoxicating- liquors upon which the State 
tax has not been paid are also being sold in the State 
of Arkansas, and the State is losing great sums of money 
in the form of revenue, by reason thereof," etc. 

Section 48-934 provides that it shall be unlawful 
for any person to have in his possession intoxicating 
liquors of any kind upon , which the Arkansas excise tax 
prescribed by law has not been paid. The emergency 
clause, after referring to the fact that large quantities 
of intoxicating liquors are being illegally manufactured 
and sold, further states : 

‘,. . . and large quantities of intoxicating liquors 
upon which the State tax has not been paid are being 
sold in the State of Arkansas", etc. Courts will give 
effect to all language employed in a Statute when rea-
son and consistency permit. Wiseman v. Affolter, 192 
Ark. 509, 92 S. W. 2d 388. 

In Burrell v. State, 203 Ark. 1124, 160 S. W. 2d 218, 
the conviction of the defendant for possessing intoxi-
cating liquors upon which the Arkansas tax had not been 
paid was upheld by this court. In that case the liquor 
involved had, in all probability, been illegally manufac-
tured, but the case did not turn on that point. 

With regard to the punishment fixed by the jury, 
it does not exceed the maximum punishment allowed 
by the Statute, and from the record we cannot say that 
it is excessive. Garner v. State, 184 Ark. 1093, 44 S. W. 
2d 1092; Cox v. State, 164 Ark. 126, 261 S. W. 303. 

Affirmed.


