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1. Taxation—Compensating (Use) Tax—Statutory Provisions.—
Use tax under Oklahoma statute is a tax upon storing, using
or consuming of tangible personal property within the State of
Oklahoma and would not apply to equipment which had never
come within its boundaries. [Okla. Stat. Ann. Title 68 § 1402.]

2. Taxation—Reciprocal Credit for Use Tax-—Operation of Sta-
tute.—Amount paid voluntarily by appellant to State of Okla-
homa for heavy equipment which had never been within bound-
aries of Oklahoma was not a “tax” as contemplated by recip-
rocal credit provision of Arkansas statute for which appeliant
could claim credit against Arkansas Compensating (use) tax
assessed and collected for use of the equipment in Arkansas.
[Ark. Stat. Ann. § 84-3130 (Supp. 1967).]

Appeal from the Chancery Court of Pulaski County,
Second Division; John T. Jernigan, Chancellor ; affirmed.

(. H. Earl and James R. Howard for appellant.
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Lyle Williawms, John F. Gautney and Hugh L. Brown
for appellee.

IFraxx Howr, Justice. Appellant brought this cause
of action, seeking to apply a reciprocal tax credit against
the Arkansas Compensating (use) Tax which was paid
under protest.

Appellant is an Oklahoma corporation authorized to
do business in Arkansas and engaged in inter-state con-
struction business. Appellant purchased at Memphis,
Tennessee, a large mobile crane used in erecting steel on
nmulti-story buildings. Appellant took delivery in
Memphis and then had the crane brought directly to ap-
pellant’s construction job site in Little Rock. The ma-
chine arrived in Little Rock in the first week of March,
1968, and after six weeks’ use there it was shipped to
Oklahoma. On March 6, 1968, appellant paid the State
of Oklahoma a use tax of $2,700.00, which was measured
by two per cent of the sale price of the crane. On April
12, 1968, appellee assessed an Arkansas Compensating
(use) Tax in the amount of $4,050.00, representing three
per cent of the purchase price, against appellant for its
use of the crane in Arkansas. Appellant paid the Ar-
kansas tax under protest and filed this suit to recover
the alleged overpayment of $2,700.00. The chancellor
found that appellant was not entitled to relief and dis-
missed appellant’s complaint for want of equity. This
appeal followed.

Appellant admits that there was sufficient use of
the machinery in Arkansas to justify the levy of the
Arkansas use tax. It is appellant’s position that the
lower court erred in failing to give appellant credit for
the nse tax paid to Oklahoma. Therefore, appellant has
paid $2,700.00 in excess of its tax liability to the State
of Arkansas.

Ark. Stat. Ann. § 84-3130 (1967 Supp.) provides
that all tangible personal property procured from with-



ARK.] Avriep Steen Co. v. LAreY 1011

out the state for use, storage or consumption by a con-
tractor in performance of a contract in this state shall be
subject to a compensating (use) tax of three per cent of
the purchase price. The third paragraph of this sce-
tion provides:

“The provisions of this act [§§ 84-3129—84-
3134] shall not apply in respect to the use or con-
sumption or storage of tangible personal property
as defined in this Act for use or consumption in this
State upon which a like tax equal to or greater than
the amount imposed by this Act has been paid in
this State upon which a like tax equal to or greater
than the amount imposed by this Act has been paid

"in another state, the proof of payment of such tax
to be according to rules and regulations made by
the Commissioner of Revenues. If the amount of
tax paid in another state is not at least equal to or
greater than the amount of tax imposed by Act 487
[§§ 84-3101—84-3128] of 1949, as amended, then
the contractor shall pay to the Commissioner an
amount sufficient to make the tax paid in the other
state and this State equal to the total amount of tax
due under Arkansas law. No credit shall be given
under this section for taxes paid on such property
in another state i1f that state does not grant credit
for taxes paid on similar tangible personal proper-
ty in this State.”’

Okla. Stat. Ann. Title 68 § 1404(c), in pertinent
parts, provides:

“If any article of tangible personal property
has already been subjected to a tax, by this or any
other state, in respect to its sale or use, in an amount
less than the tax imposed by this Article, the pro-
visions of this Article shall apply to it by a rate
measured by the difference only between the rate
herein provided and the rate by which the previous
tax upon the sale or use was computed. Provided,
that no credit shall be given for taxes paid in an-
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other state, if that state does not grant like credit
for taxes paid in Oklahoma.”’

Appellant asserts that under § 84-3130 any person
who pays a use tax of less than three per cent to any
other state 1s only required to pay an amount which
would equal three per cent of the purchase price of the
article taxed, if the state in which the tax is paid provides
for a similar credit. Reciprocal credit exists in the case
at bar.

Appellee contends that Oklahoma was without juris-
diction to impose the collection of a use tax from appel-
lant, because the crane had never come within the bound-
aries of Oklahoma, nor had any connection with Okla-
homa until it was moved there in May, 1968.  Appellee
submits that since there was no basis for an Oklahoma
use tax, appellant’s voluntary payment to the State of
Oklahoma was not a ‘“tax’’ for which appellant could
¢laim a credit.

We agree with appellee.  According to the plain
meaning of the applicable Oklahoma statute, the Okla-
homa use tax is a tax upon the storing, using or consum-
ing of tangible personal property within the State of
Oklahoma. Okla. Stat. Ann. Title 68 § 1402, in perti-
nent parts, provides:

“Phere is hereby levied and there shall be paid
by every person storing, using or otherwise consum-
ing, within this State, tangible personal property
purchased or brought into this State, an excise tax
on the storage, use or other consumption in this
State of such property at the rate of two per cent

(2%) of the purchase price of such property;...”

The evidence is undisputed that appellant voluntar-
ily paid the Oklahoma use tax some six weeks before the
equipment entered Oklahoma.  An officer of appellant
corporation testified that the machine arrived in Little
Rock approximately March 6, which is the day appellant
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paid the Oklahoma tax as evidenced by a Oklahoma Tax
Commission Execise Tax Receipt made out to appellant.
He further testified that appellant made no use of the
crane prior to its arvival in Little Rock and that it was
moved from Little Rock to Oklahoma City and there-
after to Denver, Colorado.

In our view the $2,700.00 which appellant paid to
the State of Oklahoma was not a ““tax’’ as contemplated
by the reciprocal credit provision of Ark. Stat. Ann.
§ 84-3130 (1967 Supp.), and appellant is not entitled to a
credit in that amount against the Arkansas Compensat-
mg (use) tax assessed and collected from appellant.

Affirmed.



