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STATE OF ARKANSAS V. EUGENE JARVIS AND

NOBLE JARVIS 

5318	 427 S. W. 2d 531


Opinion delivered April 29, 1968 
[Rehearing denied May 27, 1968.] 

1. INTOXICATING LIQUORS-SALE TO MINORS-VALIDITY OP STATUTES. 
—Act 257 of 1943 held to have repealed so much of Ark. Stat. 
Ann. § 41-1117 as is in conflict with Act 257 pertaining to the 
sale of intoxicating liquors to minors, written consent or order 
of parent or guardian no longer being available as a defense. 

2. INTOXICATING LIQUORS-SALE TO MINORS-STATUTORY PROVISIONS. 
—In view of legislative intent, which is spelled out in the acts 
and supported by public policy, General Assembly enacted two 
separate and nonconflicting statutes pertaining to sale of in-
toxicants to minors, whereby to unknowingly sell, give away 
or dispose of intoxicating liquor to minors is a misdemeanor 
with attending penalty for violation provided in § 48-901, and 
to knowingly do so is a misdemeanor for the first offense and 
a felony for subsequent offenses with penalties provided in § 48- 
903, amended by Act 277 of 1967. 

Appeal from Jackson Circuit Court, Andrew G. 
Ponder, Judge; error declared. 

Joe Purcell, Attorney General; David Hodges., Asst. 
Atty. Gem, for appellant. 

Pickens, Pickens & Boyce and Kenneth H. Castle-
berry, for appellees. 

J. FRED JONES, Justice. Eugene and Noble Jarvis 
were separately found guilty in the Municipal Court of 
Newport in Jackson County, Arkansas, on two separate 
charges of selling or giving intoxicants to minors. They
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each were fined $150.00 and costs in the Municipal Court 
and appealed to the Jackson County Circuit Court 
where the cases were consolidated by agreement. When 
the case came on for trial in the circuit court, the de-
fendants filed a motion to dismiss because "there is no 
such crime 'as selling to minors.' " The trial court grant-
ed the motion and dismissed the charges. The state has 
appealed and relies on a single point for reversal : 

"Arkansas statute 48-903 did not repeal Arkansas 
statute 41-1117." 

Arkansas Statutes Annotated § 41-1117 (Repl. 
1964) is digested under chapter 11 having to do with 
criminal offenses pertaining to children. This section 
was enacted on March 8, 1879, amended in 1889, and 
having survived the 18th amendment to the Federal 
Constitution, it remains as follows : 

"Any person who shall sell or give away, either for 
himself or another, or be interested in the sale or 
giving away of any ardent, vinous, malt or ferment-
ed liquors, or any compound or preparation thereof 
called tonics, bitters or medicated whiskey, to any 
minor, without the written consent or order of the 
parent or guardian, shall be deeMed guilty of a mis-
demeanor, and on conviction thereof shall be fined 
in any sum not less -than fifty [$50.00] nor more 
than one hundred dollars [$1OO]." 

In 1935 the Arkansas legislature enacted "The Ar-
kansas Alcoholic Control Act" (Act 108 of 1935). Arti-
cle VI of this act insofar as it relates to the question 
here presented, is as follows : 

"Section 1. It shall be unlawful to sell intoxicat-
ing alcoholic liquors at the places, on the day, dur-
ing the hours, to the persons or under the circum-
stances set out below, and the penalties herein pre-
scribed shall be in addition to any other penalty
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prescribed by law on account of sale of intoxicating 
liquor : 

" (a) Any person who shall sell, give away, or dis-
pose of intoxicating liquor to a minor or habitual 
drunkard or an intoxicated person shall be guilty 
of a misdemeanor and for the first offense be pun-
ishable by a fine of not less than One Hundred 
($100.00) Dollars nor more than Two Hundred and 
Fifty ($250.00) Dollars, and for the second and sub-
sequent offenses, he shall be guilty of a misdemean-
or and punishable by a fine of not less than Two 
Hundred and Fifty ($250.00) Dollars nor more than 
Five Hundred ($500.00) Dollars or by imprisonment 
in the county jail for not less than six (6) months 
nor more than (1) year, or both so fined and im-
prisoned in the discretion of the jury." 

By Act 356 of the Acts of 1941, Act 108 of 1935 
was amended as follows: 

"Section 1. That Section 1 of Article 6 of Act 108 
of the Acts of the General Assembly of the State 
of Arkansas for 1933 shall be amended to read as 
follows 

"It shall be unlawful to sell intoxicating alcoholic 
liquors at the places, on the day, during the hours, 
to the persons, or under the circumstances set out 
below, and the penalties herein prescribed shall be 
in addition to any other penalties prescribed by law 
on account of the sale of intoxicating liquors: 

" (a) Any person who sell, give away, or dispose 
of intoxicating liquor to a minor, or habitual drunk-
ard or an intoxicated person shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor and for the first offense be punish-
able by a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more 
than $1,000.00 or confinement for not more than one 
year in the Arkansas State Penitentiary, or both."
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Act 218 of the Acts of Arkansas for 1943 was en-
titled "An Act to Amend Act 356 of the Laws of 1941," 
and provides as follows : 

"Section 1. That Section 1 of Act 356 of the laws 
of 1941 is hereby expressly repealed and there is 
substituted in lieu thereof the following: 

"It shall be unlawful to sell intoxicating alcoholic 
liquors at the places, on the day, during the hours, 
to the persons or under the circumstances set out 
below, and the penalties herein prescribed shall be 
in addition to any other penalty prescribed by law 
on account of sale of intoxicating liquor: 

" (a) A ny person who shall sell, give away, or dis-
pose of intoxicating liquor to a minor or habitual 
drunkard or an intoxicated person shall be guilty 
of a misdemeanor and for the first offense be pun-
ishable by a fine of not less than One Hundred 
($100.00) Dollars nor more than Two Hundred and 
Fifty ,($250.00) Dollars, and for the second and sub-
sequent offenses, he shall be guilty of a misdemean-
or and punishable by a fine of not less than Two 
Hundred and Fifty ($250.00) Dollars nor more than 
Five Hundred ($500.00) Dollars, or by imprison-
ment in the county jail for not less than six (6) 
months nor more than one (1) year, or both so fined 
and imprisoned in the discretion of the court or 
jury." 

At the same session of the legislature in 1943, Act 
257 was also enacted by the General Assembly, and ex-
cept for the enacting and emergency clauses, this entire 
act is as follows: 

"AN ACT to Make the Sale of Intoxicating Liquor 
to a Minor or on Sunday Misdemeanors, and Fixing 
the Punishment Therefor.
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"Section 1. The sale, giving away or other dispo-
sition of intoxicating liquor to a minor is declared 
to be a misdemeanor, and any person who shall sell, 
give away, or otherwise dispose of intoxicating liq-
uor to a minor shall be punished by a fine of not 
less than One Hundred ($100.00) Dollars nor more 
than Two Hundred and Fifty ($250.00) Dollars for 
the first offense; and for the second and subsequent 
offenses he shall be punished by a fine or [sic] not 
less than Two Hundred and Fifty ($250.00) Dol-
lars nor more than Five Hundred ($500.00) Dollars 
or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more 
than one year, or both such fine and imprisonment 
in the discretion of the jury or court. 

"Section 2. The sale of intoxicating liquor on Sun-
day is declared to be a misdemeanor, and any per-
son who shall sell intoxicating liquor on Sunday 
shall be punished by a fine of not less than One 
Hundred ($100.00) Dollars nor more than Two 
Hundred and Fifty ($250.00) Dollars for the first 
offense; and for the second and subsequent offenses 
he shall be punished by a fine of not less than Two 
Hundred and Fifty ($250.00) Dollars nor more than 
Five Hundred ($500.00) Dollars or by imprison-
ment in the county jail for not more than one year, 
or both such fine and imprisonment in the discre-
tion of the jury or court. 

"Section 3. This Act shall not be construed to re-
peal any law with respect to the sale of intoxicating 
liquors except to minors and on Sundays; and all 
laws and parts of laws in conflict herewith are re-
pealed. 

"Section 4. The Legislature finds as a matter of 
fact that there are a great many violations of the 
law with respect to the sale of intoxicating liquor 
to minors and on Sundays, which, on account of 
present provisions of the law making such acts
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felonies, cannot in many cases be enforced; that the 
practice of selling intoxicating liquor to minors and 
on Sundays should be stopped and can best be pre-
vented by making such acts misdemeanors." (Em-
phasis supplied). 

Act 218 of 1943 is digested as Ark. Stat. Ann. § 48- 
901 (a) (Repl. 1964), and the only difference in amend-
atory Act 218 of 1943 and Act 257 of 1943, insofar as 
the sale of intoxicating liquor is concerned, is that Act 
218 (Ark. Stat. Ann. § 48-901 [a] ) carries an optional 
minimum jail sentence of six months, whereas Act 257 
merely limits the jail sentence to not more than one 
year, and Act 257 provides "this act shall not be con-
strued to repeal any law with respect to the sale of in-
toxicating liquors except to minors and on Sundays; 
and all laws and parts of laws in conflict herewith, are 
repealed." (Emphasis added). 

It would appear, therefore, that Act 257 of the Acts 
of 1943 is the last word from the legislature on the sale 
of intoxicating liquor to minors where knowledge of 
minority is not an element, and we are of the opinion 
that the legislative intent in enacting this legislation is 
clearly apparent from sections 3 and 4, supra. 

We therefore hold, that Act 257 did repeal so much 
of Ark. Stat. Ann. § 41-1117 as is in conflict with Act 
257 pertaining to the sale of intoxicating liquors to 
minors. The written consent or order of the parent or 
guardian as provided in § 41-1117 is no longer available 
as a defense under Act 257, and the penalty provision 
under § 41-1117 has been increased as set out in Act 
257, supra. 

Apparently Act 257 of 1943, did not fully accom-
plish the purpose of its enactment, as expressed in § 4 
of the act, so in 1961 the General Assembly saw fit to 
strengthen the laws against selling intoxicants to minors 
by the enactment of entirely new and separate legisla-
tion.
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Act No. 180 of 1961 (Ark. Stat. Ann. § 48-903 
[Repl. 1964]) with the exception of the enacting clause, 
is as follows : 

"AN ACT to Make It Unlawful for Any Person to 
Knowingly Sell, Give or Otherwise Furnish Any 
Alcoholic Beverage to Any Person Under the Age 
of Twenty-One Years ; to Prescribe Penalties for 
the First and Subsequent Convictions for Violations 
of This Act; and for Other Purposes. 

"SECTION 1. It shall be unlawful for any person 
knowingly to sell, give, procure, or otherwise fur-
nish any alcoholic beverage to any person under, 
twenty-one (21) years of age. 

"SECTION 2. Any person violating this Act shall 
upon a first conviction therefor be deemed guilty 
of a misdemeanor and shall be fined One Hundred 
Dollars ($100.00) ; upon a second conviction within 
three (3) years, such person shall be deemed guilty 
of a felony and shall be imprisoned in the State 
penitentiary not less than one (1) year nor more 
than five (5) years and shall be fined Five Hundred 
Dollars ($500.00) ; upon a third or subsequent con-
viction within five (5) years, such person shall be 
deemed guilty of a felony and shall be imprisoned 
in the State Penitentiary not less than twenty-one 
(21) years nor more than fifty (50) years." (Em-
phasis supplied). 

By Act 120 of the Acts of Arkansas for 1967, the 
General Assembly re-enacted the provisions of Act 180 
of 1961 with the addition of an optional ten day jail 
sentence as additional penalty on first offense. This act 
became law without the signature of the Governor on 
June 30, 1967, and at the same session of the General 
Assembly, Act 277 of the Acts of 1967, was enacted 
which, with the exception of the enacting clause, is as 
follows :
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"AN ACT to Make It Unlawful for Any Person to 
Knowingly Sell, Give or Otherwise Furnish Any 
Alcoholic Beverage to Any Person Under the Age 
of Twenty-One Years ; to Prescribe Penalties for 
the First and Subsequent Convictions for Viola-
tions of This Act ; and for Other Purposes. 

"SECTION 1. It shall be unlawful for any person 
knowingly to sell, give, procure, or otherwise fur-
nish any alcoholic beverage to any person under 
twenty-one (21) years of age. Provided, however, 
that this Act shall not apply to the serving of such 
to one's family or to the use of wine in any religious 
ceremony or rite in any established church or re-
ligion. 

"SECTION 2. Any person violating this Act shall 
upon a first conviction wherefor be deemed guilty 
of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not more than 
Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) or by imprison-
ment for not more than ten (10) days, or by both 
such fine and imprisonment; upon a second convic-
tion within three (3) years, such person shall be 
deemed guilty of a felony and may be imprisoned 
in the State Penitentiary not less than one (1) year 
nor more than five (5) years and shall be fined not 
more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) or both. 

"SECTION 3. All laws and parts of laws in con-
flict with this Act are hereby repealed." 

This Act was approved by the Governor on March 10, 
1967. 

It is clear to us that the General Assembly intended 
to enact, and did enact, two sepa-rate and nonconflicting 
statutes pertaining to the sale of intoxicants to minors. 
By Act 257 of 1943 the sale, giving away or other dis-
position of intoxicating liquor to a minor is made a mis-
demeanor with punishment for violation fixed at a fine
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of not less than $100.00 nor more than $250.00 for the 
first offense, and not less than $250.00 nor more than 
$500.00 or imprisonment in the county jail for not more 
than one year or both such fine and imprisonment as 
provided in the act. This act repeals all laws in conflict 
with it and the consent of a parent or guardian is no 
defense to the enforcement of its provisions. 

By Act 180 of 1961 (Ark. Stat. Ann. § 48-903 
[Repl. 1964] ) to knowingly sell, give, procure, or other-
wise furnish any alcoholic beverage to any person under 
21 years of age is made a misdemeanor for the first of-
fense and a felony upon a second and subsequent con-
viction, with penalties as amended by Act 277 of the 
Acts of 1967. 

We conclude, therefore, that the legislative intent 
is clearly spelled out in the acts, supra, and is supported 
by public policy. We conclude that to unknowingly sell, 
give away, or dispose of intoxicating liquor to minors is 
a misdemeanor with attending penalty for violation as 
provided in Ark. Stat. Ann. § 48-901 (except that the 
jail sentence may be imposed for any time up to one 
year), and to knowingly do so is a misdemeanor for the - 
first offense and a felony for subsequent offenses with 
penalties as provided in Ark. Stat. Ann. § 48-903, as 
amended by Act 277 of 1967, supra. 

Error declared. 

BYRD, J., dissents.


