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APPEAL & ERR OR — TIME IN WHICH TO FILE RECORD RUNS FROM FILING 
OF FIRST NOTICE OF APPEAL, REGARDLESS OF THE VALIDITY OF THAT 

NOTICE, — Pursuant to Ark, R: App, P:—Civ, 5, a record must be 
filed within ninety days of the first notice of appeal from a final 
judgment, regardless of whether that first notice is in comphance 
with Ark. R. App. P.—Ciy 3(e); where ninety days from the date of 
appellee's first notice of appeal, was June 29. 2004. and appellant 
lodged the record with the clerk on July 9. 2004, appellant's appeal 
was untimely and thus dismissed. 

Appeal from Lincoln Circuit Court; Fred D. Davis II, Judge; 
appeal dismissed: 

Othello C, Cross, for cross-appellant: 

Gibson Law Office, by Chuck Gibson, for appellee. 
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OBERT L BROWN, Justice, Appellant, Howard Larry, 
appeals from the circuit court's judgment ordering the
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appellee, Grady School District (the District), to pay his attorney's fees 
stemming from his claim against the District under the Arkansas 
Teacher Fair Dismissal Act. His sole point on appeal is that the circuit 
court erred in failing to consider fully the factors for determining a 
proper award of attorney's fees as set forth by this court in Chrisco v, 
Sun Indus:, Inc., 304 Ark: 227, 800 S.W.2d 717 (1990), and that the 
award of attorney's fees was insufficient and constituted an abuse of 
discretion. The court of appeals certified the case to this court after it 
discovered that the record in the instant case was filed more than 
ninety days after the first notice of appeal, Specifically, the court 
certified on the issue of the timeliness of Larry's appeal, which was a 
cross-appeal, and how that timeliness might be affected by a possibly-
nullified first notice of appeal filed by the District. We dismiss Larry's 
appeal.

The pertinent facts are these. After Larry was granted sum-
mary judgnient on the issue of the District's failure to comply with 
the -Arkansas Teacher Fair Dismissal Act, the circuit court entered 
an order in which it found that Larry was terminated for cause, As 
a result, the court denied his request for reinstatement and mon-
etary relief The court did, however, award Larry minimal dam-
ages of $1.00 with reasonable attorney's fees to be determined at a 
later date_ Larry appealed on the basis that the circuit court erred in 
denying his request for damages, and the court of appeals affirmed: 
See Larry v, Grady Sch Dist , 82 Ark: App. 185, 119 S:W.3d 528 
(2003).

On October 10, 2003, the circuit court set down for hearing 
the issue of attorney's fees due to the prevailing party, Larry. At the 
hearing, counsel for Larry presented his basis for his request for 
attorney's fees in the amount of $15,725.00, which consisted of a 
$100.00 filing fee and 62:5 hours of work multiplied by an hourly 
rate of $250,00: He asserted that he had twenty-four years of legal 
experience, was co-counsel in one of the biggest civil-rights cases 
in history, and had previously served as a circuit judge and special 
judge. He further contended that he was being compensated by the 
federal court for his work in a case at a rate of $350.00 per hour 
plus an enhancer of $350.00, which totaled $700.00 per hour at 
that time. Counsel additionally averred that he had given up part of 
his workload in order to work on Larry's case: 

On March 19, 2004, the circuit court filed a letter opinion in 
which it found that given the complexity and difficulty of the case, 
Larry's counsel's requested billing at $250.00 per hour was exces-
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sive, The circuit court then found that $100:00 per hour was a 
more realistic rate of compensation and concluded that counsel for 
Larry was entitled to compensation for 62:5 hours of work at a rate 
of $100,00 per hour, plus his costs of $100.00. An order memori-
alizing the circuit court's letter opinion was entered, which 
awarded Larry attorney's fees in the amount of $6,250 00 plus 
$100.00 for costs. On March 31, 2004, the District filed its notice 
of appeal from the award of attorney's fees, and on April 22, 2004, 
Larry filed his notice of cross-appeal: The record, however, was 
not timely filed by the District,' Instead, the record was lodged by 
Larry on July 9, 2004: 

The question certified to this court by the court of appeals is 
whether Larry's filing of the only record in connection with his 
cross-appeal was timely. In its certification memo to this court, the 
court of appeals notes that the District's notice of appeal fails to 
comply with Arkansas Rule of Appellate Procedure — Civil 3 in 
three respects . (1) it fails to designate the order appealed from; (2) 
it fails to designate the contents of the record; and (3) it fails to 
include a statement that the appellant had ordered the transcript. 
The court of appeals further points out that in Street v. Kurzinski, 
290 Ark: 155, 712 S.W,2d 798 (1986), this court held that where 
both parties file a notice of appeal, Rule 5 of the Arkansas Rules of 
Appellate Procedure — Civil requires that the record shall be filed 
with the Supreme Court Clerk within ninety days of the filing of 
the first notice of appeal: The court of appeals then poses the 
following questions requiring certification of the case: (1) if the 
District's notice of appeal was a nullity, do the ninety days begin to 
run from the filing of the notice of cross-appeal; and (2) if a party 
files a notice of cross-appeal, is he bound by the date that the other 
party filed its notice of appeal or does the cross-appellant benefit 
from a ninety-day period that begins to run on the date that the 
notice of cross-appeal was filed: 

Our case of Street v. Kurzinski, supra, decides this matter 
irrespective of the validity of the first notice of appeal. Rule 3 of 
the Arkansas Rules of Appellate Procedure — Civil reads in 
pertinent part: 

A notice of appeal or cross-appeal shall specify the party or parties 
taking the appeal; shall designate the judgment, decree, order or 

' The docket sheet reflects that th lc court denied the District's motion for rule on clerk 
on September 4, 2n04
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part thereof appealed from and shall designate the contents of the 
record on appeal: The notice shall also contain a statement that the 
appellant has ordered the transcript, or specific portions thereof, if 
oral testimony or proceedings are designated, and has made any 
financial arrangements required by the court reporter pursuant to 
Ark: Code Ann C 16-13-510(c) The notice shall also state 
whether the appeal is to the Court of Appeals, or to the Supreme 
Court[ 

Ark: R. App. P. — Civ: 3(e) (2004): The District's notice of appeal 
filed March 31, 2004, contains the simple statement: "Notice is 
hereby given that Grady School District hereby appeals to the Arkan-
sas Court of Appeals on the matter of plaintiff s attorneys fees.- As the 
District's notice of appeal fails to designate the contents of the record 
on appeal and fails to contain any statement that it had ordered the 
transcript or made financial arrangements, it appears that the District's 
notice of appeallails-tozeomply-with the requirements of-Arlc--R. App. 
P. - Civ. 3. 

Nonetheless, this court has held that only substantial com-
pliance is required with Ark_ R. App. P. - Civ. 3(e) See, e 
Helton v: Jacobs, 346 Ark: 344, 57 S.W:3d 180 (2001). That being 
said, we conclude that whether the District's notice of appeal 
substantially complies with Rule 3, or whether it is a nullity, does 
not decide the issue before us: 

Rule 5 of the Arkansas Rules of Appellate Procedure - Civil 
provides:

(a) Ifhen filed. The record on appeal shall be filed with the 
clerk of the Arkansas Supreme Court and docketed therein within 
90 days from the filing of the first nonce of appeal, unless the time is 
extended by order of the circuit court as hereinafter provided. 
When, however, an appeal is taken from an interlocutory order 
under Rule 2(a)(6) or (7), the record must be filed with the clerk of 
the Supreme Court within thirty (30) days from the entry of such 
order, 

Ark: R. App. P. - Civ. 5(a) (2004) (emphasis added) As noted by the 
court of appeals, this court has already determined that such a deadline 
applies regardless of whether both parties file a notice of appeal, or 
whether one party files more than one notice of appeal_ See Street v: 
Kurzinski, supra.



LARRY V. GRADY SCH, DIST,


ARK ]
	

Cite as 3h2 Ark h; (2005)	 69 

In Street, the appellant sought a motion for rule on clerk. 
Following the entry of a final judgment in Street's favor and against 
Kurzinski, which judgment recited an earlier dismissal of Street's 
claim against American Machine Builders, Street promptly filed a 
notice of appeal: One day after Street's filing of his notice of 
appeal, the circuit court entered an order setting a heahng on 
Kurzinski's motions for a new trial and for judgment n.o.v. 
Following the court's order denying those motions, Street filed a 
second notice of appeal. In concluding that the ninety days in 
which to file the record began from the filing of the first notice of 
appeal, this court observed: 

Rule 5 of the Rules of Appellate Procedure provides that the 
record shall be filed with our clerk "within ninety days from the 
filing of the first notice of appeal," or an extension of time must be 
obtained within the 90 days: The reference to the lirst" notice of appeal 
removes any possible doubt when both parties file notices of appeal or when 
one party files notices of appeal from different orders: Here the 90 days 
began to run from the fihng of the first notice of appeal on January 
28, not only because of the wording of the statute but also because 
the filing of the second notice was manifestly superfluous. 

Street v. Kurzinski, 290 Ark. at 157, 717 S.W.2d at 799-800 (emphasis 
added):

While Street did not involve the precise situation in which 
both parties filed notices of appeal, our analysis in that case is 
applicable to the case at hand and is entirely reasonable. Always 
requiring a record to be filed within ninety days of thefirst notice 
of appeal from a final judgment has the beauty of uniformity and 
eliminates any possibility of confusion for the parties. Moreover, 
the ninety-day rule does not impose an additional burden on a 
cross-appellant A cross-appellant would not be called upon to 
decide whether the appellant's first notice of appeal was a nullity 
and then decide whether to file a record: Rather, counsel for 
cross-appellant could simply monitor the docket and, upon dis-
covering that appellant was nearing the deadline and had failed to 
file a record, move the circuit court to extend the time in which to 
file the record so that a record could be filed on his or her behalf. 

[1] Ninety days from March 31, 2004, the date of the 
District's first notice of appeal, was Tune 29, 2004. Larry lodged the 
record with the clerk on July 9, 2004. Because the record was not
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filed within ninety days from the filing of the first notice of appeal 
in accordance with Ark. R. App. P. — Civ. 5, Larry's appeal is 
untimely and must be dismissed. 

Appeal dismissed.


