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Jessie SCOTT v. STATE of Arkansas

CR 89-18	 764 S.W.2d 616 

Supreme Court of Arkansas

Opinion delivered February 20, 1989 

CRIMINAL LAW — SPEEDY TRIAL — TWELVE-MONTH SPEEDY TRIAL 
LIMITATION APPLIES ONLY TO THOSE CHARGED AFTER OCTOBER 1, 
1987. — The prior eighteen-month limitation applies to those 
charged before October 1, 1987, and since appellant was charged on 
February 14, 1987, and tried in circuit court within eighteen 
months from the date the case was appealed from municipal court, 
his right to a speedy trial was not infringed. 

Appeal from Logan Circuit Court; Charles H. Eddy, Judge; 
affirmed. 

Hixson, Cleveland & Rush, by: David L. Rush, for 
appellant. 

Steve Clark, Att'y Gen., by: Clint Miller, Asst. Att'y Gen., 
for appellee. 

JACK HOLT, JR., Chief Justice. Appellant Jessie Scott was 
convicted in circuit court of driving while intoxicated and driving 
left of center. For reversal he argues that he was denied his right 
to a speedy trial in that "twelve months passed before he was 
tried." We disagree and affirm. 

The following is a chronology of significant events: 
(1) February 14, 1987: Jessie Scott was arrested, charged, 
and convicted in Logan County Municipal Court of 
driving while intoxicated and driving left of center. 
(2) April 13, 1987: Scott appealed to the Circuit Court of 
Logan County, Northern District.



32
	

SCOTT V. STATE
	

[298 
Cite as 298 Ark. 31 (1989) 

(3) May 27, 1988: He was found guilty of the charges and 
sentenced to twenty-four hours imprisonment in the 
county jail, a fine of $150.00, and suspension of his driving 
privileges for ninety days on the driving while intoxicated 
conviction and $25.00 on the driving left of center 
conviction. 

Rule 28.1(c), as amended by per curiam dated July 13, 1987, 
provides as follows: 

Any defendant charged after October 1, 1987, in circuit 
court and held to bail, or otherwise lawfully set at liberty, 
including released from incarceration pursuant to subsec-
tion (a) hereof, shall be entitled to have the charge 
dismissed with an absolute bar to prosecution if not 
brought to trial within twelve (12) months from the time 
provided in Rule 28.2, excluding only such periods of 
necessary delay as are authorized in Rule 28.3. (Emphasis 
added.) 

Prior to this amendment, Rule 28.1(c) required that a 
defendant be brought to trial within eighteen (18) months from 
the time provided for in Ark. R. Crim. P. 28.2. 

Under current Rule 28.1(c), a defendant charged after 
October 1, 1987, shall be entitled to have the charge dismissed 
unless brought to trial within twelve (12) months from the time 
provided for in Ark. R. Crim. P. 28.2. Scott was charged on 
February 14, 1987, well before October 1, 1987. Accordingly, the 
prior eighteen-month limitation, not the present twelve-month 
limitation, applies. See Kain v. State, 296 Ark. 123, 752 S.W.2d 
265 (1988). See also Hayes v. Lockhart, 352 F.2d 339 (8th Cir. 
1988). 

Ill— Since Scott was tried in circuit court within eighteen 
months from the date the case was appealed from municipal 
court, his right to a speedy trial was not infringed. See Shaw v. 

State, 18 Ark. App. 243, 712 S.W.2d 138 (1986); Ark. R. Crim. 
P. 28.2(c). 

Affirmed.


