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Jimmy L. SUMMERS v. STATE of Arkansas


CR 86-200	 729 S.W.2d 147 

Supreme Court of Arkansas 

Opinion delivered May 18, 1987 

i. CRIMINAL LAW — PROBATION REVOCATION HEARING REQUIRED 
WITHIN SIXTY DAYS OF ARREST. — A suspension or probation shall 
not be revoked except after a revocation hearing; such hearing shall 
be conducted by the court that suspended imposition of sentence on 
defendant or placed him on probation within a reasonable period of 
time, not to exceed 60 days, after the defendant's arrest. [Ark. Stat. 
Ann. § 41-1209(2) (Repl. 1977).] 

2. CRIMINAL PROCEDURE — SPEEDY TRIAL — WAIVER OF RIGHTS. — 
A.R.Cr.P. Rule 28.1(f) provides the defendant's failure to move for 
the dismissal of a charge for lack of speedy trial prior to trial 
constitutes a waiver of his rights under these rules. 

3. CRIMINAL PROCEDURE — WAIVER OF RIGHT TO SPEEDY REVOCA-
TION HEARING. — Where appellant did not raise his motion to 
dismiss the revocation petition for lack of a speedy hearing before 
the hearing, he waived his rights. 

4. APPEAL & ERROR — NO REVERSAL IF RESULT RIGHT EVEN IF



238	 SUMMERS V. STATE
	

[292 
Cite as 292 Ark. 237 (1987) 

WRONG REASON USED. — The appellate court will not reverse a 
judgment because a trial judge uses the wrong reason to reach the 
right result. 

Appeal from White Circuit Court; Cecil A. Tedder, Judge; 
affirmed. 

Jim Petty, Public Defender, for appellant. 

Steve Clark, Att'y Gen., by: William F. Knight, Asst. Att'y 
Gen., for appellee. 

DARRELL HICKMAN, Justice. The trial court revoked the 
appellant's probationary sentence. After the parties concluded 
their presentation of evidence at the revocation hearing, Sum-
mers orally moved to dismiss the petition for revocation because 
the hearing was not held within 60 days of his arrest. The trial 
court took that motion and another oral motion under advisement 
and the next day ruled the hearing was timely held. He should 
have ruled the motion was made too late. 

Summers pleaded guilty to writing hot checks in August, 
1985, and was placed on probation for five years. A petition to 
revoke his sentence was filed March 7, 1986, alleging several 
violations of his probation conditions: Summers had failed to keep 
monthly appointments with his probation officer, failed to pay his 
monthly probation fee and failed to make payments on his fine 
and restitution. A warrant was issued for Summers' arrest on 
March 7, 1986, and served on April 29, 1986. 

Counsel was appointed and a pretrial hearing was held in 
May, 1986, and a hearing on the petition was held June 4, 1986. 
The state only called one witness, the probation officer. He 
testified about the conditions of probation and Summers' breach 
of those conditions. Summers testified that he was arrested in 
Arizona on March 24 or 25 for "probation violations." He said he 
was in jail in Arizona for five weeks before he was returned to 
Arkansas. 

[I] After the parties had concluded the presentation of 
evidence, the appellant moved orally to dismiss the petition 
because the hearing was not held within the 60 day time period as 
required by Ark. Stat. Ann. § 41-1209(2) (Repl. 1977), which 
provides:
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A suspension or probation shall not be revoked except after 
a revocation hearing. Such hearing shall be conducted by 
the court that suspended imposition of sentence on defend-
ant or placed him on probation within a reasonable period 
of time, not to exceed 60 days, after the defendant's arrest. 

The attorneys briefly argued the matter to the trial judge. 
Summers argued his arrest in Arizona began the running of the 
60 day period. The state argued the arrest in Arkansas began the 
running of the time for the hearing because the record only 
reflected that arrest. The trial judge took the matter under 
advisement and the next day he ruled that Summers was arrested 
on April 29, 1987, and the hearing was held within the statutory 
time period. 

On appeal Summers argues the 60 day limitation requires 
the petition be dismissed. The state argues the motion was 
untimely. We agree with the state because the state was never 
placed on notice before the hearing that this objection would be 
raised. There was no good reason given why the motion was not 
filed before the hearing. In both Lark v. State, 276 Ark. 441, 637 
S.W.2d 529 (1982), and Cheshire v. State, 16 Ark. App. 34, 696 
S.W.2d 322 (1985), a motion to dismiss a revocation petition was 
filed before the hearing. The state was on notice the 60 day 
statutory period would be invoked. 

[2-4] In this case the state had no such notice. The state was 
prejudiced by this lack of notice because it did not have the 
opportunity to present any evidence regarding whether there was 
a delay in returning Summers to Arkansas and whether he was 
unavailable during that time period. The state had a right to 
assume that would not be an issue. This court has referred to the 
speedy trial rules to determine if a defendant received a speedy 
revocation hearing. Lark v. State, supra; Boone v. State, 270 
Ark. 83, 603 S.W.2d 410 (1980); Cheshire v. State, supra. Those 
same rules govern when that question can be raised. A.R.Cr.P. 
Rule 28.1(f) provides the defendant's failure to move for the 
dismissal of a charge for lack of speedy trial prior to trial 
constitutes a waiver of his rights under these rules. See Walker v. 
State, 288 Ark. 52, 701 S.W.2d 372 (1986). Since Summers did 
not raise his motion to dismiss the revocation petition for lack of a 
speedy hearing before the hearing, he waived his rights. We do
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not reverse a judgment because a trial judge uses the wrong 
reason to reach the right result. Marchant v . State, 286 Ark. 24, 
688 S.W.2d 744 (1985). 

Affirmed. 

PURTLE and NEWBERN, JJ., dissent. 

JOHN I. PURTLE, Justice, dissenting. I vigorously disagree 
with the majority opinion. The statute, Ark. Stat. Ann. § 41- 
1209(2) (Repl. 1977), is set out in the majority opinion and so 
clearly states the law that I will set it out again at this point: 

A suspension or probation shall not be revoked except after 
a revocation hearing. Such hearing shall be conducted by 
the court that suspended imposition of sentence on defend-
ant or placed him on probation within a reasonable period 
of time, not to exceed 60 days, after the defendant's arrest. 
[Emphasis added.] 

The law clearly and unequivocally requires the court to conduct a 
revocation hearing not more than 60 days after the defendant's 
arrest on the alleged violation. 

In the case now being considered by this Court the trial court 
accepted appellant's guilty plea in 1985. The court sentenced the 
appellant to five (5) years and placed him on probation. The 
petition to revoke probation was filed on March 7, 1986. A 
warrant was issued and the appellant was arrested in Arizona on 
March 26, 1986. He did not fight extradition nor did he delay the 
hearing in any manner. The appellant remained in the jail in 
Arizona from the day of his arrest on the violation warrant until 
he was returned to Arkansas, a period of about five weeks. By the 
date of the revocation hearing, June 4, 1986, the appellant had 
spent an additional five weeks in the county jail in White County, 
Arkansas. The way I figure it that's over seventy days in 
anybody's book. No person would argue that the hearing was held 
within 60 days of the appellant's arrest pursuant to the warrant. 

This Court obviously sought some reason not to apply the 
plain words and obvious meaning of the statute. The majority 
opinion holds that the appellant waived his rights under the 
statute because he did not raise his motion to dismiss the 
revocation petition for lack of a speedy hearing before the
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hearing. The majority accomplishes this result by analogy to the 
speedy trial rules. Other than the statement of the court on June 
5, 1986, that the appellant appeared before the court on May 6 
and that counsel was appointed, I find no evidence in the record 
that the appellant was afforded any opportunity to request any 
type of action until June 4, 1986. Moreover, I am unaware of any 
precedent for the proposition that a defendant waives his rights 
under the revocation statute unless he moves for dismissal of the 
petition prior to the hearing. The whole purpose of the law is to 
safeguard the rights of individuals. In the present case the same 
result could have been accomplished without damage to the law 
by simply filing another petition on the continuing violation of the 
appellant's probation, which required payments of restitution, 
and then acting timely upon it. 

The warrant itself may not have been served until April 29th, 
but that is not the trigger under the statute which starts the 
calendar rolling. It is clearly the arrest of the appellant which 
triggers the running of the 60-day limitation. The majority 
opinion cites the cases of Walker v. State, 288 Ark. 52, 701 
S.W.2d 372 (1986); Lark v. State, 276 Ark. 441,637 S.W.2d 529 
(1982); and Boone v. State, 270 Ark. 83, 603 S.W.2d 410 (1980). 
None of them hit the point. 

Walker dealt with the speedy trial issue and is somewhat 
analogous to the present case. In neither case were there any 
excludable periods. Walker's attorney failed to move for dismis-
sal although the speedy trial period had run prior to trial. 
A.R.Cr.P. Rule 28.1 provides that failure to invoke the speedy 
trial rule constitutes a waiver. The Walker case came to us by way 
of a Rule 37 request for relief based upon ineffective assistance of 
counsel. We reversed and dismissed and in doing so stated: "The 
appellant clearly was not holding up the trial during that time." 
Neither was the appellant in the present case. He merely invoked 
the 60-day period at the first hearing, which was held more than 
70 days after his arrest. 

I agree with the majority opinion that the Lark decision 
involved the very same statute as we are considering in this case. 
Lark had been committed to the state hospital, upon his own 
motion, subsequent to his arrest on a petition for revocation. Lark 
was arrested on February 27, 1981. He petitioned for a mental
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examination, which petition was granted on March 31 and 
resulted in a commitment to the state hospital. On June 11, 1981 
he was returned to the county jail from the state hospital. The 
revocation hearing was conducted on July 20, 1981, at which time 
Lark moved to dismiss because of failure to bring him to a hearing 
within 60 days. The court continued the hearing until August 25, 
1981, on the grounds that the defendant had not been properly 
served with the petition for revocation. However, the state then 
refiled the same petition and at a hearing on July 22, 1981, the 
court revoked the suspended sentence. On appeal we reversed and 
dismissed because the revocation hearing was not conducted 
within the 60-day limit, excluding the period of delay caused by 
the appellant. 

In Boone the trial court revoked a suspended sentence. 
However, the appellant was never arrested because he was 
serving a sentence on an unrelated charge when the petition to 
revoke was filed. Boone argued the 60 day period should run from 
the date of the filing of the petition to revoke. He argued that he 
was "constructively arrested" on the date the petition was filed. 
Neither the trial court nor this Court agreed with Boone's theory 
to establish a "constructive arrest" date. However, we modified 
the sentence in order to give credit for jail time served. In my 
opinion Boone is inapposite. 

I believe we should continue to give this 60-day limitation 
provision a rational and reasonable interpretation in accordance 
with our past decisions. To depart from the plain and clear 
language used in our past decisions upholding the statute results 
only in confusion and uncertainty in the law relating to revocation 
of probation. 

NEWBERN, J., joins in this dissent.


