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CONSTITUTIONAL LAW - DUE PROCESS - VALUABLE PROPERTY RIGHT 
CANNOT BE LOST BY VIOLATION OF RULE BEFORE EFFECTIVE 
DATE. - It is a fundamental element . of due process that a 
rule, the violation of which would cause a person to lose a 
valuable property right, must be in existence before it can be 
violated. Held: There is not, nor could there be, substantial 
evidence to support the finding of the Arkansas State Board 
of Dental Examiners that its nonexisting rules were violated. 

Appeal from Pulaski Circuit Court, Third Division; 
Tom F. Digby, Judge; reversed. 

Kaplan, Hollingsworth, Brewer & Bilheimer, for 
appellant. 

William H. Trice, III, for appellee. 

RICHARD B. ADKISSON, Chief Justice. The Arkansas 
State Board of Dental Examiners (hereinafter the Board) 
suspended the license of appellant, Dr. Neil Hinsley, for one 
year and 90 days after finding that he had practiced dentistry 
under a false name and had permitted unlicensed persons 
under his supervision and control to practice dentistry. The 
Pulaski County Circuit Court sustained the Board; on 
appeal, we reverse. 

The Board charged appellant with violating Ark. Stat. 
Ann. § 72-559 and § 72-560 (7) (Repl. 1979) but found him 
"guilty" of violating Board rules and regulations. In its 
order of April 9, 1981, the Board specifically found that: 

Neil Hinsley is guilty of violating Article 12, Section I 
of the Rules and Regulations of the Arkansas State 
Board of Dental Examiners in that he practiced under a 
name other than a name which he is licensed to
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practice, and as such is to have his license to practice 
dentistry suspended for a period of 90 days. It is further 
found that Neil Hinsley is guilty of violating Article 12, 
Section E of the Rules and Regulations of the Arkansas 
State Board of Dental Examiners in that he aided or 
abetted an unlicensed person to practice dentistry in the 
state of Ar1Kansas and as such he will have his license to 
practice dentistry in the state of Arkansas suspended for 
a period of one year. It is further found that the two 
periods of suspension of his license to practice den-
tistry, referred to above, will be consecutive in nature, 
and that the total amount of suspension will be one 
year and ninety days from the date of this order. 

The only issue on appeal is whether there is substantial 
evidence to support the Board's finding that appellant was 
"guilty" of violating these rules and regulations. Testimony 
at the hearings before the Board revealed that the alleged 
incidents of misconduct occurred before the effective date of 
the rules. Mr. Trice, attorney for the Board, admitted that 
these rules did not go into effect until September 1, 1980, and 
that "The statutes are all that need to be considered in this 
case . 

It is a fundamental element of due process that a rule, 
the violation of which would cause a person to lose a 
valuable property right, must be in existence before it can be 
violated. There is not, nor could there be, substantial 
evidence to support the Board's finding that its nonexisting 
rules were violated. 

We cannot assume that the Board intended to find 
appellant "guilty" of violating Ark. Stat. Ann. § 72-559 and 
§ 72-560 (7) when the Board's order plainly states otherwise. 
We do not reach the issue of whether or not the Board could 
have suspended Dr. Hinsley's license had it found that he 
had violated Ark. Stat. Ann. § 72-559 which provides for a 
fine of from $50 to $500 upon conviction. 

Reversed.


