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The State of Arkansas brings this appeal from two orders of the Pulaski County

Circuit Court.  The first order denied the State’s petition to impose an adult sentence on

appellee K.H., an extended-juvenile-jurisdiction offender.  The second order denied the

State’s motion for an extended-juvenile-jurisdiction review hearing.1  We dismiss the appeal.

On October 25, 2006, K.H., a seventeen-year-old male, was charged by felony

information with two counts of aggravated robbery and one count of theft of property in

connection with the robbery of a gas station with a shotgun.  On December 4, 2006, K.H.

was designated as an extended-juvenile-jurisdiction offender pursuant to Arkansas Code

Annotated section 9-27-503, and his case was transferred to the Juvenile Division of the

circuit court in accordance with Arkansas Code Annotated section 9-27-318(I).

1K.H. did not file a brief in response to the State’s brief on appeal.
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In the Juvenile Division, the State filed a petition for delinquency, again charging

K.H. with two counts of aggravated robbery and one count of theft of property.  K.H.

admitted to the allegations in the petition and was adjudicated delinquent as an extended-

juvenile-jurisdiction offender under Arkansas Code Annotated section 9-27-505.  Following

a disposition hearing on July 24, 2007, the circuit judge imposed a juvenile disposition and

suspended the imposition of an adult sentence pending court review.  Specifically, K.H. was

placed on probation for two years, assessed a $250 fine and a $20 per-month probation fee,

and ordered to complete 160 hours of community service and to make progress toward a

Graduate Education Degree (GED).

On December 4, 2007, the State petitioned to revoke K.H.’s probation and alleged

that he had failed to report to his probation officer each week as required by the terms of his

probation.  The State filed a second petition for revocation on December 14, 2007, and

alleged additionally that K.H. had failed to attend a GED program and had not performed

any community service.  After K.H. admitted to violating the terms of his probation at a

hearing on the matter, the circuit judge revoked his probation, sentenced him to detention

for 90 days, ordered him to make satisfactory progress toward a GED, and ruled that he

would be placed on probation for an indefinite period after his release from detention.  In

a letter following the hearing, the circuit judge warned K.H. and his attorney that she had

the authority to impose an adult sentence on K.H. if he violated his disposition order, was
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found guilty of another offense, or was found to deserve an adult sentence after a review

hearing.

On May 5, 2008, K.H. was released from detention following a detention-review

hearing.  At that hearing, information was presented to show that K.H. had obtained his

GED while in detention and had no major disciplinary infractions.  In the detention-review

order, the circuit judge ordered that K.H. would remain on probation as originally scheduled

but noted that K.H. planned to enlist in the Air Force and that, if accepted, his probation

would be terminated.  A status-review hearing was scheduled for July 14, 2008.  At the

status-review hearing, the judge learned that K.H. had been unable to join the military. 

Nevertheless, the circuit judge entered an order terminating K.H.’s probation and closing the

case on July 14, 2008.  The order was approved by the deputy prosecuting attorney.

Over a year later, on July 21, 2009, the State petitioned to impose an adult sentence

on K.H., alleging that he had committed the offenses of forgery, theft by receiving,

residential burglary, and first-degree murder while under the suspension of an adult

sentence.2  The circuit judge denied the petition on August 3, 2009, because K.H.’s case had

been closed on July 14, 2008.  Also on August 3, 2009, the State moved for an extended-

2All of the offenses were alleged to have occurred after the circuit judge’s order closing
K.H.’s case on July 14, 2008. The forgery offense was alleged to have occurred on July 22,
2008; the murder offense on August 6, 2008; the theft-by-receiving offense on March 9,
2009; and the residential-burglary offense on April 17, 2009. 
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juvenile-jurisdiction review hearing.3  The State recognized that the case had been closed but

asserted that the circuit court, nevertheless, retained jurisdiction over K.H. until his twenty-

first birthday under Arkansas Code Annotated sections 9-27-306(a)(1)(A)(ii) and 9-27-

507(e)(1) and that the circuit court was required to hold an extended-juvenile-jurisdiction

review hearing no later than six months before K.H.’s twenty-first birthday under section 9-

27-507(e)(1). 

K.H. responded that he had completed his probation, his case had been closed with

the State’s approval, and the circuit court no longer had jurisdiction.  In addition, he argued

that if the State had objected to the closing of his case, it should not have approved the case-

closing order or, in the alternative, it should have brought an appeal from that order.  K.H.

further asserted that the reopening of his closed case would violate several of his

constitutional rights.

Following a hearing on the matter, the circuit judge denied the State’s motion for an

extended-juvenile-jurisdiction review hearing in an order dated September 1, 2009, and

found in pertinent part as follows:

The Court denies the State’s Motion for an extended juvenile jurisdiction
review because the Court closed the case on July 14, 2008 and will not reopen the
case to hold the mandatory extended juvenile jurisdiction review.  The Court finds
such action would be violative of the juvenile’s right to due process and to not be
subjected to additional sanctions after his case has been closed, the time for any appeal

3That same day, K.H. was convicted of felony residential burglary, attempted
residential burglary, and theft by receiving in the circuit court and sentenced to ten years in
the Arkansas Department of Correction, with two years suspended.  
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or post adjudication motions has run, and he has been assured that he is free from
additional court jurisdiction on the particular case that has been closed.

The Court notes that it erred in closing the case on July 14, 2008 before holding the
mandatory review for extended juvenile jurisdiction cases, as required by A.C.A. § 9-27-
507(e)(1).  The Court notes, since neither the juvenile nor the State filed a petition to review
and modify the court disposition, it was the Court’s responsibility to set the mandatory review
hearing no later than six (6) months before the juvenile’s 21st birthday, since the juvenile was
17 at the time the extended juvenile jurisdiction petition was filed.

. . . .

Not only did the Court err, the State erred.  The State did not object to the
Court closing the case, the State did not appeal the order closing the case, and the
State did not file a motion for reconsideration of the order closing the case.  The
jurisdiction statutes the State cited in its motion and in its oral arguments today are
ones that would be applicable if the Court had kept jurisdiction as it was required to
so do.  The mandatory provisions of the statutes regarding jurisdiction presume there
is an open case.  Here, there is no open case, and the Court’s opportunity and ability,
legally, to take up the matters requested in the State’s motion have long passed.

. . . .

When the Court closed the case, it did so with the understanding and intent that it
would no longer have any jurisdiction over this juvenile on this particular case.  Per
A.C.A. § 9-27-306, this Court—the juvenile division of Circuit Court—has exclusive
original jurisdiction of and shall be the sole court for (among other matters)
proceedings in which a juvenile is alleged delinquent . . .  The Court may retain
jurisdiction of a juvenile delinquent up to 21 years of age if the juvenile committed
the delinquent act prior to eighteen (18) years of age.  The word “may” is the
determining factor.  The Court chose to close the case and did so.

(Emphasis added.)

The State now appeals the denial of its petition to impose an adult sentence and the

denial of its motion for an extended-juvenile-jurisdiction review hearing.  It contends that

the circuit judge did not have the authority or the discretion to divest itself of jurisdiction
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under the Extended Juvenile Jurisdiction Act until a final review hearing was held pursuant

to section 9-27-507.  Instead, the State asserts that the circuit judge retained subject-matter

jurisdiction to modify the suspended sentence until K.H. reached the age of twenty-one.

Before addressing the merits of this case, this court must first determine whether this

is a proper issue for resolution in a State appeal.4  In delinquency cases, the State may appeal

under those circumstances that would permit the State to appeal in criminal proceedings.

Ark. R. App. P.–Civ. 2(c)(1). We have frequently observed the significant and inherent

difference between appeals brought by criminal defendants and those brought on behalf of

the State.  State v. Mancia-Sandoval, 2010 Ark. 134, 361 S.W.3d 835.  The former is a matter

of right, whereas the latter is not derived from the constitution; nor is it a matter of right but

is granted pursuant to Rule 3 of the Arkansas Rules of Appellate Procedure–Criminal.  Id. 

Accordingly, the State’s ability to appeal in criminal cases is strictly limited to those cases

described under Rule 3.  See State v. Johnson, 2010 Ark. 77, 360 S.W.3d 104.

Rule 3 of the Arkansas Rules of Appellate Procedure–Criminal provides in pertinent

part as follows:

(a) An interlocutory appeal on behalf of the state may be taken only from a
pretrial order in a felony prosecution which (1) grants a motion under Ark. R. Crim.
P. 16.2 to suppress seized evidence, (2) suppresses a defendant’s confession, or (3)

4Although K.H. did not file a responsive brief in this matter and, thus, did not raise
the issue of the propriety of the State’s appeal, this court nevertheless has a duty to raise the
question as it is a matter of subject-matter jurisdiction. See, e.g., Nichols v. State, 364 Ark. 1,
216 S.W.3d 114 (2005).
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grants a motion under Ark. Code Ann. § 16-42-101(c) to allow evidence of the
victim’s prior sexual conduct.  The prosecuting attorney shall file, within ten (10) days
after the entering of the order, a notice of appeal together with a certificate that the
appeal is not taken for the purposes of delay and that the order substantially prejudices
the prosecution of the case.  Further proceedings in the trial court shall be stayed
pending determination of the appeal.

(b)Where an appeal, other than an interlocutory appeal, is desired on behalf of
the state following either a misdemeanor or felony prosecution, the prosecuting
attorney shall file a notice of appeal within thirty (30) days after entry of a final order
by the trial judge.

(c) When a notice of appeal is filed pursuant to either subsection (a) or (b) of
this rule, the clerk of the court in which the prosecution sought to be appealed took
place shall immediately cause a transcript of the trial record to be made and
transmitted to the attorney general, or delivered to the prosecuting attorney, to be by
him delivered to the attorney general.  If the attorney general, on inspecting the trial
record, is satisfied that error has been committed to the prejudice of the state, and that
the correct and uniform administration of the criminal law requires review by the
Supreme Court, he may take the appeal by filing the transcript of the trial record with
the clerk of the Supreme Court within sixty (60) days after the filing of the notice of
appeal.

As a matter of practice, this court only takes State appeals that are narrow in scope and

involve the interpretation of the law.  E.g., Mancia-Sandoval, 2010 Ark. 134, at 5, 361 S.W.3d

at 838.  We will not allow the State to bring an appeal merely to show that the circuit judge

erred.  Id.  If a decision on the merits of the State’s appeal would not be important to the

correct and uniform administration of the criminal law, we will dismiss the State’s appeal. 

See, e.g., State v. Short, 2009 Ark. 630, 361 S.W.3d 257.  

We have said, in addition, that an appeal that does not present an issue of

interpretation of the criminal law that would have widespread ramifications or establish

important precedent is one that does not involve the correct and uniform administration of

7



Cite as 2010 Ark. 172

the criminal law.  See, e.g., State v. Moreno, 371 Ark. 336, 265 S.W.3d 751 (2007); State v.

Gray, 330 Ark. 364, 955 S.W.2d 502 (1997).  Nor does an appeal that turns on facts unique

to the case or involves a mixed question of law and fact involve the correct and uniform

administration of the criminal law.  E.g., Short, 2009 Ark. 630, at 3–4, 361 S.W.3d at 260. 

Moreover, where an appeal involves the circuit judge’s application of the law rather than its

interpretation, we have held that the appeal is not one that is important to the correct and

uniform administration of the criminal law.  Id. 

The State has presented the following issue in this appeal: whether the circuit judge

erred by finding that it had the authority to relinquish subject-matter jurisdiction over an

extended-juvenile-jurisdiction offender without first holding a final review hearing pursuant

to Arkansas Code Annotated section 9-27-507.  Because this issue arose after the circuit

judge admittedly erred by closing K.H.’s case without holding a final review hearing as

clearly required by section 9-27-507, we cannot say that it is an issue likely to rearise.  The

reason for our conclusion is that what precipitated the State’s issue regarding jurisdiction is

the judge’s admitted error. That unique circumstance giving rise to the State’s issue on appeal

necessarily reduces any hint of widespread ramifications by our decision on this point. 

Hence, it  is not important to the correct and uniform administration of the law. 

Moreover, this appeal must be dismissed because it is not an appeal “following either

a misdemeanor or felony prosecution” as required by Rule 3.  In State v. Hurst, 296 Ark. 132,

752 S.W.2d 749 (1988), this court held that the State was not empowered by Rule 36.10(b),
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the predecessor to Rule 3,  to appeal from a dismissal by a circuit court of a petition to

revoke a felon’s probation because the appeal “did not follow a misdemeanor or felony

prosecution, but rather a revocation of probation proceeding.”5 We reaffirmed this holding

with respect to Rule 3 in State v. Rice, 329 Ark. 219, 947 S.W.2d 3 (1997) (State may not

appeal the dismissal of a revocation petition because it is not an appeal following a

misdemeanor or felony prosecution in accordance with Rule 3).  

In the instant case, the State attempts to appeal from an order denying a petition to

impose an adult sentence and from an order denying a motion for an extended-juvenile-

jurisdiction review.  The State claims that K.H. committed felony offenses while on a

suspended sentence as a juvenile and that the judge closed the case without holding the

required extended-juvenile-jurisdiction hearing.  We conclude that these appeals are not

appeals following a misdemeanor or felony prosecution but are more analogous to an appeal

from the revocation of a suspended sentence, which we have held is an improper State

appeal.  Accordingly, this appeal must be dismissed because it does not fall within the ambit

of Rule 3.  See Hurst, supra; Rice, supra.

Appeal dismissed.

Dustin McDaniel, Att’y Gen., by: Eileen W. Harrison, Ass’t Att’y Gen., for appellant.

No response.

5Arkansas Rule of Criminal Procedure 36.10(b) provided as follows:

Where an appeal, other than an interlocutory appeal, is desired on behalf of the state
following either a misdemeanor or felony prosecution, the prosecuting attorney shall
file a notice of appeal within thirty (30) days after entry of a final order by the trial
judge.
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