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Appellant was found guilty at a bench trial of aggravated assault and first-degree

criminal mischief, for which she was placed on supervised probation for a period of four years. 

The issues on appeal are limited to the criminal-mischief conviction: first, whether it is

supported by substantial evidence; and second, whether the trial court erred in admitting two

receipts into evidence over appellant’s hearsay objections.  We affirm.

When reviewing the sufficiency of the evidence to support a criminal conviction, we

view the evidence in the light most favorable to the State, considering only the evidence that

supports the finding of guilt.  Jester v. State, 367 Ark. 249, 239 S.W.3d 484 (2006).  We will

affirm if substantial evidence exists to support it.  Id.  Substantial evidence is that which is of

sufficient force and character that it will, with reasonable certainty, compel a conclusion one

way or the other, without resorting to speculation or conjecture.  Holt v. State, 104 Ark. App.
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198, 290 S.W.3d 21 (2008).  A person is guilty of criminal mischief in the first degree if he

purposely and without legal justification destroys or causes damage to any property of another.

Ark. Code Ann. § 5-38-203(a)(1) (Repl. 2006). At the time of the offense in this case, first-

degree criminal mischief was punishable as a Class C felony if the amount of the actual

damage was $500 or more.  Ark. Code Ann. § 5-38-203(b)(1) (Repl. 2006).1  Appellant’s

substantial-evidence argument centers on whether the State proved that the amount of the

damage was at least $500.

Viewed in the light most favorable to the State, the record shows that the victim paid

$2,495 for a 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier with over 90,000 miles on the odometer in February

2009 and that, approximately three weeks after the car was purchased, appellant rammed it

several times with an SUV, damaging several body panels and later smashing the windshield. 

The victim spent $183 dollars to repair the windshield alone and testified that the car was so

mechanically damaged by the collision that it never ran properly again.  Consequently, soon

after the events the victim sold the damaged vehicle for $200.  The truth of the victim’s

testimony is a matter of credibility rather than evidentiary sufficiency, and, on this record, we

hold that there is substantial evidence of damages in excess of $500. 

Appellant also argues that the two receipts constituted hearsay and were erroneously

admitted  into evidence.  The decision to admit or exclude evidence is within the sound

discretion of the circuit court, and we will not reverse a circuit court’s decision regarding the

1Act 570 of 2011 substantially changed the amounts of damage required for the various
degrees of this offense.  See the Arkansas Code Revision Commission’s notes to Ark. Code
Ann. § 5-38-203 (Supp. 2011).
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admission of evidence absent a manifest abuse of discretion.  Pace v. State, 2010 Ark. App. 491. 

Hearsay is defined as a statement, other than one made by the declarant while testifying at the

trial or hearing, offered in evidence to prove the truth of the matter asserted.  Ark. R. Evid.

801.  Hearsay is inadmissible except as provided by law or by the Arkansas Rules of Evidence. 

Ark. R. Evid. 802.

It is true that two receipts were introduced into evidence—one for the purchase of the

Cavalier and another for repairs to the victim’s windshield—and that these receipts were not

prepared by the victim.  Nevertheless, the victim independently testified as to both figures

without objection, and we have said many times that we will not reverse for the erroneous

admission of evidence that was merely cumulative. See, e.g., Garcia v. State, 2011 Ark. App.

340.  This is especially so where the trial was before the court with a jury waived.   Williams

v. State, 270 Ark. 513, 606 S.W.2d 75 (1980).

Affirmed.

ABRAMSON and BROWN, JJ., agree.

Don Thompson, Deputy Pub. Def., by: Mary Kathryn Williams, Deputy Pub. Def., for
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Admission to the Bar of the Supreme Court under the Supervision of Kathryn Henry, Deputy
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