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ARKANSAS STATE HIGHWAY AND
TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT ». Billy
Paul GODWIN, Deceased

CA 80-281 606 S.W. 2d 127
Court of Appeals of Arkansas :
Opinion delivered October 15, 1980

1. WORKERS COMPENSATION — CLAIMS AGAINST STATE — DECISION
OF WCC NOT APPEALABLE. — Where claims against the state, its
agencies, departments, and institutions, for personal injuries
and deaths of employees and officers thereof, arising out of and
in the course of employment or service, are filed with the
Workers’ Compensation Commission, the action taken by ‘the
Commission with respect to the allowance or disallowance of
any claim, in whole or in part, is final and binding upon all par-
ties thereto, and is not subject to judicial review. [Ark. Stat.
Ann. § 13-1407 (Repl. 1979).] :

2. WORKERS COMPENSATION — STATE ALLOWED 15 DAYS TO PAY
AWARD TO CLAIMANT — PENALTY. — The appellant state agency
had 15 days after the Workers’ Compensation award to
appellee-claimant on March 23, 1979 within which to pay the
award, and where appellant failed to do so, the Workers’
Compensation Commission was correct in assessing a 20% pen-
alty pursuant to Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81-1319 (f) (Repl. 1976), the
imposition of the penalty being mandatory.
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Appeal from Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Com-
mission; affirmed.

Robert L. Wilson, for appellant.
Jones, Gilbreath & Jones, by: Kendall B. Jones, for appellee.

Marian F. Penix, Judge. This case involves' a deter-
mination of when the assessment of the twenty percent penal-
ty for failure to pay an award may be imposed.

Billy Paul Godwin, deceased, was employed as a weight
inspector by the Arkansas State Highway and Transporta-
tion Department. His duties required him to weigh trucks,
collect taxes, issue permits, and check the registration of
trucks. On July 29, 1977, the decedent noticed a truck turn-
ing around on the median near the station. The decedent got
into his vehicle and pursued the truck. Upon stopping the
truck, the decedent became ill and fell to the ground. He was
taken to the Crawford County Hospital where he was
pronounced dead on arrival.

Subsequently, Shirley Godwin filed a claim with the
Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission seeking
benefits for herself and two minor children. The respondent
controverted the claim in its entirety. A hearing was held
before an Administrative Law Judge on May 17, 1978 to
determine compensability. The Administrative Law Judge
decided the deceased had sustained an injury arising out of
and in the course of his employment. The respondent appeal-
ed to the Full Commission. By an opinion dated March 23,
1979, the Full Commission upheld the decision of the Ad-
ministrative Law Judge and awarded benefits to the claim-
ant. No appeal was taken from this decision. Claimant receiv-
ed her first payment from the respondent on April 28, 1979
some 36 days after the Full Commission’s decision was
rendered.

Claimant petitioned the Commission for a twenty per
cent penalty for benefits accrued because the respondent had
not made a payment within fifteen days of the award. At a
hearing held on July 18, 1979 the Administrative Law Judge
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imposed the twenty percent penalty on the respondent for
failure to make a timely payment. On appeal, the Full Com-
mission adopted the Administrative Law Judge's opinion.
Respondent appeals.

Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81-1319(f) states:

Failure to pay award. If any instalment, payable under
the terms of an award, is not paid within fifteen (15)
days after it becomes due there shall be added to such
unpaid instalment an amount equal to twenty (20)
percentum thereof, which shall be paid at the same time
as, but in addition to, such instalment unless review of
the compensation order making such award is had as
provided in section 25 [§ 81-1325].

The respondent argues to this Court, as it did to the Commis-
sion, the benefits do not become due until the order is final.
The fifteen days within which the benefits must be paid does
not begin to run until the order is final. The respondent con-
tends the order did not become final until thirty days after the
Full Commission’s opinion. In all, forty-five days are allowed
to pay the award. Thus, the fifteen day period in which to pay
the award had not elapsed when the claimant received her
first instalment. In fact, there were nine days remaining.
Cited as authority for this argument is Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81-
1325(b) which reads: :

A full compensation order or award of the Full Commis-
sion shall become final #nless either party to the dispute
shall, within thirty (30) days from the receipt by him of
the order or award, petition in writing for an appeal to
the Circuit Court in the county in which the accident oc-
curred. . . . [Emphasis Supplied].

The fallacy of respondent’s argument is in the fact that
it, as a state agency, was prohibited by statute from appeal-
ing the decision of the Full Commission.

From the effective date of this Act (March 19, 1963), the
Workman’s Compensation Commission shall have ex-
clusive jurisdiction, as herein limited, of all claims
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against the State of Arkansas and its several agencies,
‘departments, and institutions, for personal injuries and
deaths of employees and officers of the State of Arkansas
and its agencies, departments and institutions, arising
out of and in the course of employment or service, and
occurring on or after the effective date of this act (March

19, 1963).

Awards for such injuries and deaths shall be made by
the Workman’s Compensation Commission in the same
amounts and on the same terms and conditions as if
such injuries and deaths had arisen out of and in the
course of private employment covered by the
Workman's Compensation Act (§ 81-1301 — 1349),
and a procedure to be followed in the presentation,
hearing and determination of such claims shall in all
respects be the same as in claims for compensation for
injuries and deaths arising out of and in the course of
private employment covered by the Workman’s
Compensation Act, except that the action taken by the
Workman's Compensation Commission with respect to
the allowance or disallowance of any claim, in whole or
in part, shall be final and binding upon all parties
thereto, and shall not be subject to judicial review .. .
Ark. Stat. Ann. § 13-1407 [Emphasis Supplied].

This respondent could not dppeal the determination of the
Full Commission. Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81-1325(b) does not state
the award becomes final only after thirty days, but rather
that it shall become final #n/ess some action is taken by either
or both parties to the dispute to prevent the order from
becoming final. By law, the parties to this dispute were not
able to take the action required to prevent the order from
becoming final upon receipt.! Hence, the respondent had fif-
teen days within which to pay the first instalment.

Finding there to be an untimely payment of an instal-

'Ark. Stat. Ann. § 13-1407 was amended to delete the words: “except
that the action taken by the Workmen's Compensation Commission with
respect to the allowance or dis-allowance of any claim, in whole or in part,
shall be final and binding upon all parties thereto, and shall not be subject
to judicial review ...” This amendment became effective July 1, 1979. The
prior version, however, governs the facts in this case.
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ment, the twenty percent penalty must be imposed. The im-
position of Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81-1319(f) is mandatory. Hence,
the penalty is imposed on all benefits awarded by the
Workers’ Compensation Commission order of March 23,
1979.

Finding the Full Commission to be correct as a matter of
law, we affirm.

Affirmed.
Hays, J., dissents.

Steete Hays, Judge, dissenting. The effect of the ma-
jority opinion is that workers’ compensation claimants in
private employment must wait 45 days before the penalty
provisions of Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81-1319(f) attaches, whereas
claimants employed by the State of Arkansas must be paid
within 15 days. While it is possible to arrive at this result by a
literal reading of Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81-1325(b) and § 81-
1319(f), both the letter and the spirit of Ark. Stat. Ann. § 13-
1407, stand in opposition to such an interpretation. The
latter statute provides that (with the exception of the right of
appeal) the awards for injuries to State employees shall be
“on the same terms and conditions” as private employment
and, further, that the procedures shall “sn @l respects” be the
same as in claims of private employment. This wording
means the awards to public employees shall be paid at the
same time as private employees and shall be 77 all respects iden-
tical, saving the right of appeal. I believe, therefore, that
applying the penalty provision as has been done in this case is
making a distinction between private claimants and public
claimants that was never foreseen nor intended by the
legislatre.




