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1. WORKERS' COMPENSATION — STANDARD OF REVIEW — SUB-
STANTIAL EVIDENCE DEFINED. — In reviewing a decision of the
Workers’ Compensation Commission, the appellate court views the
evidence and all reasonable inferences in the light most favorable to
the findings of the Commission; these findings will be affirmed if
supported by substantial evidence, which is such relevant evidence as
a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.

2. WORKERS' COMPENSATION — APPELLATE REVIEW — DECISION
MUST BE AFFIRMED IF REASONABLE MINDS MIGHT HAVE REACHED
SAME CONCLUSION. — On an appeal from the Workers” Compensa-
tion Commission, the question is not whether the evidence would
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have supported findings contrary to those of the Commission;
rather, the decision of the Commission must be affirmed if reasona-
ble minds might have reached the same conclusion.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION -~ CALCULATION OF AVERAGE
WEEKLY WAGE — SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE SUPPORTED COMMIS-
SION’S DECISION TO DIVIDE BY THIRTY-NINE RATHER THAN
FIETY-TWO WEEKS. — Where the contract provided for appeliee to
teach 188 days and that she would be docked $143.62 per diem for
any absences during any leave-without-pay status; where Ark. Code
Ann. § 11-9-518(a)(1) (Repl. 2002) stated that “compensation shall
be computed on the average weekly wage earned by the employee
under the contract of hire in force at the time of the accident and in
no case shall be computed on less than a full-time workweek in the
employment”; and where appellee incurred her injury and took
time away from work during the school year, the appellate court
could not say that the Workers’ Compensation Commission’s deci-
sion that appellee’s weekly wage should be calculated by dividing
her salary by thirty-nine weeks rather than fifty-two weeks was not
supported by substantial evidence.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION — SCHOOL DISTRICT EMPLOYEES &
EMPLOYERS —— NOT PRECLUDED BY STATUTE FROM SEEKING
APPELLATE REVIEW. — Arkansas Code Annotated section 6-17-
1402(d) states that the action taken by the Workers’ Compensation
Commission shall be final and binding on all parties and shall not be
subject to judicial review; however, this statute, when read in con-
junction with Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-1401 (Repl. 1999), only
requires that school teachers who are injured while acting within the
scope of their employment must file their claims under the Workers’
Compensation Act; the limitation set out in the statute provides that
the Commission shall have exclusive authority to hear all work-
related cases for employees of public schools and that the Commis-
sion’s exclusive authority is not subject to judicial review; therefore,
the limitation does not preclude school district employees or their
employer from seeking appellate review of the Commission’s
decision.

COURTS — JURISDICTION — APPELLATE COURT HAD JURISDIC-
TION TO ADDRESS MERITS OF CASE. — Where the supreme court
had found that the court of appeals was merely substituted for the
circuit court in Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-711(b) as the first court to
review an administrative order, the appellate court held that it had
jurisdiction to address the merits of the case.
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Appeal from Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission;
affirmed.

Friday, Eldredge & Clark, by: Betty J. Demory, for appellants.
Janie M. Evans, for appellee.

OsePHINE LINKER HART, Judge. Magnet Cove School

District and Risk Management Resources appeal the order

of the Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission, finding that

_the appellee’s average weekly wage should be calculated by divid-

ing her salary by thirty-nine weeks and not fifty-two weeks. For

reversal, appellants argue that the Commission erred by failing to
divide her salary by fifty-two weeks. We disagree and affirm.

Appellee, Shirley Barnett, entered into an employment con-
tract as a teacher with appellant Magnet Cove School District.
The contract provided that appellee work 188 days' during the
nine-month period from August 1999 to May 2000 for a total
salary of $26,500 to be paid in twelve monthly installments.?
During January of 2000, appellee sustained an injury to her left
knee. Appellants accepted the injury as compensable and paid
$339 each week for temporary total disability benefits and also
paid $254 each week for permanent partial disability benefits based
on an impairment rating of 14% to the lower extremity. Appellee
challenged the award before the administrative law judge, con-
tending that her average weekly wage was $718.08 based upon a
salary of $27,000 earned over a period of nine months. Appellants
contended that appellee’s average weekly wage was $508 based
upon a salary ‘at the time of her injury of $26,500 paid over the
fiscal year of fifty-two weeks. The ALJ determined that appellee’s
average weekly wage was $679.49. This calculation was made by
the ALJ dividing appellee’s total compensation of $26,500 by the
thirty-nine weeks designated in appellee’s employment contract.”

1 Appellants do not challenge the Commission’s determination that thirty-nine
weeks approximates 188 days. :

2 After a decision by the school board on May 8, 2000, her contract was amended to
increase her salary by $500 for a total amount of $27,000.

3 The AL] noted in his opinion that the total compensation was $26,500 rather than
$27,000 because the contract in force at the time of the accident did not provide for the
$500 increase because the school board did not take action to increase the contract price
until May 8, 2000. '
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On appeal, the Commission adopted the findings and conclusions
of the ALJ.

[1, 2] In reviewing a decision of the Workers’ Compensa-
tion Commission, this court views the evidence and all reasonable
inferences in the light most favorable to the findings of the Com-
mission. Swift-Eckrich, Inc. v. Brock, 63 Ark. App. 118, 975
S.W.2d 857 (1998). These findings will be affirmed if supported
by substantial evidence. Georgia-Pacific Corp. v. Carter, 62 Ark.
App. 162, 969 S.W.2d 677 (1998). Substantial evidence is such
relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to
support a conclusion. Wackenhut Corp. v. Jones, 73 Ark. App. 158,
40 S.W.3d 333 (2001). On an appeal from the Workers’ Com-
pensation Commission, the question is not whether the evidence
would have supported findings contrary to those of the Commis-
sion; rather, the decision of the Commission must be affirmed if
reasonable minds might have reached the same conclusion. See
Dallas County Hosp. v. Daniels, 74 Ark. App. 177, 47 S.W.3d 283
(2001); .Barnett v. Natural Gas Pipeline Co., 62 Ark. App. 265, 970
S.W.2d 319 (1998).

Appellants contend that the Commission’s determination of
appellee’s average weekly wage was clearly erroneous. Appellants
argue that appellee is paid over fifty-two weeks of the year, and
therefore, it is against public policy for the Commission to award
her benefits based upon her employment period of thirty-nine
weeks. In support of this argument, appellants note that if appel-
lee’s average weekly wage is based upon thirty-nine weeks, the
payment she would receive computes to more than 66 2/3% of
her wages as outlined in Arkansas Code Annotated section 11-9-
501(b) (Repl. 2002). That statute provides in pertinent part that
“the total disability rate shall not exceed sixty-six and two-thirds
percent (66 2/3%) of the employee’s average weekly wage . . . .”
According to appellants, 66 2/3% of $26,500 is $17,675 and is the
amount appellee would receive if granted temporary total disabil-
ity benefits for a period of fifty-two weeks. Thus, appellee would,
according to appellant’s calculations, receive more than 66 2/3%
of her salary if her average weekly wage is calculated based on
thirty-nine weeks, and she was to be awarded benefits for one
year.
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In its decision, the Commission found that appellee’s average
weekly wage was $679.49, as calculated by dividing the total com-
pensation of $26,500 by thirty-nine weeks in the designated nine-
month period of employment pursuant to the contract of hire in
force at the time of the accident. The Commission did note that
appellee was paid in twelve installments over a period of fifty-two
weeks.* However, the contract only provided employment for
188 days of school during a nine-month period from August 1999
to May 2000.

The Commission also found appellants’ argument that appel-
lee’s daily pay rate was $102 was inconsistent with the testimony
of Rebecca Moore, district bookkeeper for the Magnet Cove
School District. Moore testified that appellee would be docked
$143.62 per day for each day she was absent and did not have any
sick leave, vacation leave or other leave remaining. The Commis-
sion cited Bond v. Lavaca School District, 73 Ark. App. 5, 38
S.W.3d 923 (2001) (reversed on other grounds), for the proposi-
tion that the daily rate of pay for a school teacher is calculated by
dividing the contract salary by the number of days in a regular
school year.

Appellee testified that she was employed as a first-grade
teacher with the Magnet Cove School District, and she was
required by the terms of her contract to be at school 188 days
during the 1999-2000 school year. Appellee stated that during
the 1999-2000 school year, she missed work after her leave was
exhausted, and her pay was deducted at a rate of $143.62 each day.

In sum, appellants seek to require this court to determine
that appellee’s weekly income is based on the date she received her
pay and not the date she earned the pay. We decline to do so.
The contract provided for appellee to teach 188 days, and further
that she would be docked $143.62 per diem for any absences
during any leave-without-pay status. Further, Arkansas Code
Annotated section 11-9-518(a)(1) (Repl. 2002) states that “com-
pensation shall be computed on the average weekly wage earned
by the employee under the contract of hire in force at the time of

4 Arkansas Code Annotated section 6-17-803 (Repl. 1999) provides that Arkansas
school districts may elect, at the option of the school board, to pay teachers either over the
course of the ten-month school year or in twelve equal monthly installments.
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the accident and in no case shall be computed on less than a full-
time workweek in the employment.”

[3] We also note that appellee incurred the injury and took
time away from work during the school year. The question of
benefits during the remainder of the year or during a time period
when the employee is not under contract to work is not presented
in this appeal and, thus, is not addressed in this opinion. Based on
the facts presented, we cannot say that the Commission’s decision
was not supported by substantial evidence.

As a final matter, appellee states that this court does not have
jurisdiction to hear an appeal from the Commission as the appel-
lants are barred from seeking appellate review under the provisions
of Arkansas Code Annotated section 6-17-1402(d) (Repl. 1999).
Section 6-17-1402(d) states that the action taken by the Commis-
sion shall be final and binding on all parties and shall not be sub-
ject to judicial review. However, this statute, when read in
conjunction with section 6-17-1401 (Repl. 1999)°, only requires
that school teachers who are injured while acting within the scope
of their employment must file their claims under the Workers’
Compensation Act. The limitation set out in the statute provided
that the Commission shall have exclusive authority to hear all
work-related cases for employees of public schools, and that the
Commission’s exclusive authority is not subject to judicial review.
Therefore, the limitation does not preclude school district
employees or their employer from seeking appellate review of the
Commission’s decision.

[4] We note that Arkansas Code Annotated section 11-9-
711(d) states that “the action taken by the commission with
respect to the allowance or disallowance of any claim filed by a
school district employee shall be subject to appeal to the circuit
court as provided for in subsection (b) of this section.” Also, sec-
tion 11-9-711(b) states in relevant part that a “compensation order
or award of the commission shall become final unless a party to
the dispute shall within thirty (30) days from receipt by him of the
order or award, file notice of appeal to the Arkansas Court of

5 Section 6-17-1401 (Repl. 1999) states that “workers’ compensation coverage as
provided in § 11-9-101 et seq. shall be provided for personal injuries and death of officers
and employees of public schools in this state.”



ARrk. App] 17

Appeals, which is designated as the forum for judicial review of
those orders and awards.” Although the two sections are obvi-
ously contradictory, we defer to our supreme court to resolve
conflict.

[5]1 Our supreme court has stated “[w]e decide the appel-
late jurisdiction of the Court of Appeals, not the legislature . . . in
Houston Contracting Co. v. Young, 271 Ark. 455, 609 S.W.2d 895
(1980), . . . we found that the Court of Appeals was merely substi-
tuted for the Circuit Court as the first court to review an adminis-
trative order.” In Re: Amendment of Rule 29 1.d. of the Supreme
Court and Court of Appeals, 288 Ark. 644, 704 S.W.2d 625 (1986)
(per curiam). Therefore, this court has jurisdiction to address the
merits of this case.

Affirmed.

StrouDp, C]J., and GRIFFEN, ]., agree.




