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Donald MONTGOMERY v. DELTA AIRLINES


CA 89-292	 791 S.W.2d 716 

Court of Appeals of Arkansas 

Division II


Opinion delivered June 27, 1990 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION — COMPUTATION OF MAXIMUM WEEKLY 
BENEFITS PAYABLE TO CLAIMANT. — Where appellant suffered a 
compensable back injury on May 8, 1979, was treated, and returned 
to work until he became totally disabled on March 1, 1983, he is 
entitled to the maximum weekly benefit rate in effect at the time the 
disability occurred, but the rate is based on the wages being earned 
on the date of the accident. 

Appeal from the Arkansas Workers' Compensation Com-
mission; reversed and remanded. 

Whetstone and Whetstone, by: Gary Davis, for appellant. 

Anderson & Kilpatrick, by: Randy P. Murphy, for appellee. 

MELVIN MAYFIELD, Judge. The issue in this appeal from a 
decision of the Workers' Compensation Commission is the 
amount of the weekly benefits the employee is entitled to as a 
result of his permanent total disability. The resolution of this 
issue involves the distinction between the terms "time of injury" 
and "time of accident." 

Appellant Donald Montgomery suffered a compensable 
back injury on May 8, 1979. He received medical treatment, 
returned to his regular job and continued to work until he became 
totally disabled on March 1, 1983. In an opinion issued on April 8, 
1987, the appellant was found by the administrative law judge to 
have become permanently totally disabled on March 1, 1983, and
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to be entitled to weekly benefits at a rate of $112.00. Appellant 
then requested a modification to $154.00 per week based on the 
maximum allowable at the time he became unable to work. On 
August 16, 1988, the administrative law judge issued an order 
which stated: 

It is clear, based upon the evidence in this record, that 
the claimant in the present claim suffered a disability on 
March 1, 1983, as a result of his accidental injury of May 
8, 1979. On March 1, 1983, the maximum weekly benefits 
payable to the claimant was $154.00. The language of the 
provisions of the Arkansas Workers' Compensation Act 
addressing the questions of the average weekly wage, 
disability, and injury is not ambiguous. 

The Opinion and Award previously filed in this claim 
on April 8, 1987, is herein modified pursuant to Section 26 
of the Arkansas Workers' Compensation Act to reflect that 
the correct and proper weekly compensation benefits 
payable to the claimant is $154.00, in accordance with 
Section 10(a)(B) of the Workers' Compensation Act. 

On appeal, the Commission reversed (with one Commis-
sioner dissenting), stating that although "an unambiguous stat-
ute is to be enforced literally, we find that the statutory scheme as 
a whole is ambiguous." After discussing the proposition of 
making distinctions between the date of an "accident" and the 
date of an "injury," the Commission stated: 

We are persuaded that the general rule of prospective 
application requires us to compute the benefits as of the 
date of the accident. If we accepted the argument that the 
disability date governs because the payments are intended 
to replace lost wages, there would be problems not only 
with premium calculations but also with claimants who 
leave their employment between the two dates. If a worker 
obtains a better paying job and then becomes disabled as a 
result of the compensable injury, he might contend that the 
first employer is required to pay benefits based upon the 
second company's higher wage rate. On the other hand, 
respondents might argue that a claimant who becomes
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unemployed and is not earning wages at the time of his 
physical incapacitation is not entitled to any benefits at all 
since there are not wages to replace. Surely, the legislature 
did not intend any of these untoward results. 

The present Workers' Compensation Law comes from 
Initiated Act No. 4, adopted at the General Election in November 
of 1948, and from the amendments to that Act. Section 12 of that 
Act was compiled as Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81-1312 (Repl. 1976) 
[now Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-518 (1987)], and provides in 
pertinent part: 

Compensation shall be computed on the average weekly 
wage earned by the employee under the contract of hire in 
force at the time of the accident, and in no case shall be 
computed on less than a full time work week in the 
employment. 

Section 10 of Initiated Act No. 4, compiled as Ark. Stat. 
Ann. § 81-1310(a) (Supp. 1985) [now Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9- 
501 (1987)], provides (as amended by Act 290 of 1981) in 
pertinent part: 

(a) Disability. Compensation to the injured employee shall 
not be allowed for the first seven (7) days disability 
resulting from injury, excluding the day of injury. If a 
disability extends beyond that period, compensation shall 
commence with the ninth (9th) day of disability. If a 
disability extends for a period of two (2) weeks, compensa-
tion shall be allowed beginning the first day of disability, 
excluding the day of injury. 

Compensation payable to an injured employee for 
disability shall not exceed sixty-six and two-thirds percent 
(66 2/3% ) of the employee's average weekly wage, with a 
Fifteen Dollar ($15) per week minimum, subject to the 
following maximum: 

(A) . . . . 

(B) For a disability occurring on or after March 1, 1982, 
the maximum weekly benefits payable shall be One Hun-
dred Fifty-Four Dollars ($154).
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We note that Subsection (B) of Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81- 
1310(a) has undergone numerous amendments. Apparently, the 
weekly benefits of $112.00, as first allowed by the law judge, were 
based on a rate fixed by a 1979 amendment. See Ark. Stat. Ann. § 
81-1310(a)(B)(Supp. 1979). 

Our case law has made a distinction between the date of 
"accident" and the date of "injury." See Donaldson v. Calvert-
McBride Printing Company, 217 Ark. 625, 232 S.W.2d 651 
(1950), in which the court was considering a question of when the 
statute of limitations began to run. It reasoned as follows: 

[A]ppellees, in effect, argue that "time of the injury" as 
provided in the act is synonymous with "time of accident." 
We think there is a clear distinction between an accident 
and an injury. The injury is the result of the accident. An 
accident often, at the time of its happening, produces a 
compensable injury, but this is not always true. 

217 Ark. at 629-30. Furthermore, there is a statutory distinction 
between an injury and a disability. Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81-1302 
(Repl. 1976) [now codified as Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-102 
(1987)1 provides the following definitions: 

(d) "Injury" means only accidental injury arising out of 
and in the course of employment, including occupational 
diseases . . . . 

(e) "Disability" means incapacity because of injury to 
earn, in the same or any other employment, the wages 
which the employee was receiving at the time of the injury. 

(0 • • • • 

(g) • • • • 
(h) "Wages" means the money rate at which the service 
rendered is recompensed under the contract of hire in force 
at the time of the accident, . . . . 

And, in Cornish Welding Shop v. Galbraith, 278 Ark. 185, 187, 
644 S.W.2d 926 (1983), the Arkansas Supreme Court said, 
"Arkansas is an 'injury state' because we have long interpreted 
the applicable statutes as meaning that the date of accident and 
the date of injury are not necessarily the same."
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The case of Donaldson v. Calvert-McBride Printing Com-
pany, supra, held that time of injury means a compensable injury, 
and that an injury does not become compensable until the 
employee suffers a loss in earnings. This court, followed the rule 
of Donaldson in Shepherd v. Easterling Construction Company, 
7 Ark. App. 192, 646 S.W.2d 37 (1983), in Arkansas Louisiana 
Gas Company v. Grooms, 10 Ark. App. 92, 661 S.W.2d 433 
(1983), and in Calion Lumber Co. v. Goff, 14 Ark. App. 18, 684 
S.W.2d 272 (1985) (where we also relied upon Cornish Welding 
Shop v. Galbraith, supra). In Grooms we said that "the Statute 
of Limitations provided in [Ark. Stat. Ann] § 81-1318(a) [now 
Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-702] does not begin to run until the true 
extent of the injury manifests and causes an incapacity to earn the 
wages which the employee was receiving at the time of the 
accident, which wage loss continued long enough to entitle him to 
benefits under § 81-1310." 10 Ark. App. at 98-99. 

[1] Referring back to Ark. Stat. •Ann. § 81-1310(a)(B) 
(Supp. 1985), we see that it provides, "For a disability occurring 
on or after March 1, 1982, the maximum weekly benefits payable 
shall be One Hundred Fifty-Four Dollars ($154)." Therefore, the 
claimant here is entitled to the maximum weekly, benefit rate in 
effect at the time the disability occurred. This rate, however, is 
based on the wages being earned on the date of the accident. The 
record shows that on May 8, 1979, the date of the accident, 
appellant was earning $500.00 per week. Under Ark. Stat. Ann. § 
81-1310(a), the compensation shall not exceed 66 2/3% of the 
employee's average weekly wage, subject to the applicable 
maximum. Taking the $500.00 average weekly wage, we find that 
66 2/3% of that average would exceed the $154.00 maximum 
allowed, so appellant is only entitled to the $154.00 maximum. 

When the maximum allowed at the time of the injury 
(meaning when disability occurs, see Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81-1310) 
is applied to the wages being paid at the time the accident occurs 
(see Ark. Stat. Ann. § 81-1312), the problems noted as persuasive 
in the Commission's opinion disappear. This is best demonstrated 
by the following quotation from the dissenting Commissioner's 
opinion:

The majority has misconstrued claimant's position in 
this case. Claimant is not, arguing that benefits are to be



208	MONTGOMERY V. DELTA AIRLINES	 [31 
Cite as 31 Ark. App. 203 (1990) 

computed on the basis of the circumstances in existence on 
the date of the injury. The average weekly wage and the 
weekly benefit rate are computed and become fixed at the 
time of the accident. Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-9-102(8); 11- 
9-518; 11-9-519(a); 11-9-520. Claimant argues only that 
he is entitled to the cost of living increase in the maximum 
weekly benefit rate which was in effect on the date the 
accident resulted in a compensable injury (disability). 

Since the average weekly wage and the weekly benefit 
rate remained unchanged and unaffected by developments 
between the date of the accident and the date of the injury, 
and since insurance premium computations are generally 
based on the wages paid a claimant for covered employ-
ment, Hart's Exxon Service Station v. Prater, 268 Ark. 
961, 597 S.W.2d 130 (Ark. App. 1980), the anticipated 
problems discussed in the majority opinion simply would 
not occur. 

Nor do we have a problem with retroactive applica-
tion of the statute. Claimant does not claim to be entitled to 
the increases in the maximum weekly benefit rate enacted 
since he became disabled. He merely wants the maximum 
weekly benefit rate in effect on the date he became 
disabled. 

The decision of the Commission is reversed and the case is 
remanded for an order to be entered in keeping with this opinion. 

Reversed and remanded. 

JENNINGS and ROGERS, JJ., agree.


