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UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION — APPEAL — NO TIME PERIOD SPECI-
FIED BY STATUTE — 90 DAYS IS REASONABLE TIME PERIOD IN WHICH
TO FILE RECORD OF APPEAL AFTER NOTICE OF APPEAL FILED. —
Under Ark. Code Ann. § 11-10-529(b)(1) (1987), the Director of
Labor is required to file a certified copy of the record of the case,
including all documents, papers, and a transcript of the testimony,
but the statute specifies no time period within which the record shall
be filed; a period of 90 days, after the filing of the notice of appeal, is
a reasonable time in which to file the record on appeal from an
unemployment compensation case.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Arkansas Board of
Review; granted. :

Appellant, pro se.
No response.

PER CURIAM. On May 25, 1990, the appellant filed a petition
which we view as a writ of certiorari to bring the record to this
Court. No response has been filed by the Director of Labor. We
grant the petition. ' o

Under Ark. Code Ann. Section 11-10-529(b)(1) (1987), the
Director of Labor is required to'file a certified copy of the record
of the case, including all documents, papers, and a transcript of
the testimony, but the statute specifies no time period within
which the record shall be filed. We think, however, it is intended
that the record be filed within a reasonable period of time. In
Commercial Standard Insurance Co. v. Hill, 203 Ark. 768, 158
S.W.2d 676 (1942), the Court considered Section 25 of Act 319
of 1939, which provided for an appeal to circuit court from a final
award of the Workers’ Compensation Commission. Although
that Act specified no time period in which the record should be
filed, the Arkansas Supreme Court held that, after the notice of
appeal was filed, “the Commission should, within a reasonable
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time, return to the [circuit] court all documents and papers on file
in the matter together with the transcript of the evidence, the
findings and award, in order that the same should become the
record of the cause.” 202 Ark. 771 (emphasis added).

In Davisv. C & M Tractor Co.,2 Ark. App. 150,617S.W.2d
382 (1981), we held the law required that the record on appeal
from a Workers’ Compensation Commission decision be filed in
this Court within 90 days from the filing of the notice of appeal
“as is required in other civil actions.” 2 Ark. App. 154. Because
Rule 5(a) of the Rules of Appellate Procedure requires that the
record on appeal from circuit and chancery courts be docketed in
the appellate court within 90 days of the filing of the first notice of
appeal and because we have held that that time limit should apply
to appeals from the Workers’ Compensation Commission, it
would seem by analogy, that 90 daysis a reasonable period of time
in which the record on appeal should be filed in appeals to.this
Court from the Arkansas Board of Review.

[1] In Whitlowv. American Greetings Co., 268 Ark. 1122,
599 S.W.2d 410 (Ark. App. 1980), we noted that it should be
remembered in interpreting and applying the Employment Se-
curity Law that “the basic design of the Act is to protect the
employee from the economic consequences of unemployment
through no fault of the employer; and, to that end, the Act should
be liberally construed.” 268 Ark. 1125. The Arkansas Supreme
Court said in Davis v. Stiles, 287 Ark. 261, 698 S.W.2d 287
(1985), that “[t] his statute was written for the purpose of settling
employment claims and furnishing compensation in an expedi-
tious way to those who are entitled.” 287 Ark. 263. We hold thata
period of 90 days, after the filing of the notice of appeal, is a
reasonable time in which to file the record on appeal from an
unemployment compensation case.

In the case at bar, the Board of Review decision is dated
December 19, 1989. Notice of appeal was filed January 2, 1990,
and the director of the Department of Labor filed a response on
January 3, 1990, stating that the record would be filed as soon as
possible. As of today, no record has been filed. Since over five
months has passed since the filing of the notice of appeal without
filing the record, we grant the petition for a writ of certiorari and
order that the record be transmitted to this Court within thirty
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days in keeping with Rule 26 of the Rules of the Arkansas
Suprerr}e Court and Court of Appeals.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari granted.




