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. WORKERS' COMPENSATION — AMBIGUITIES AND CONFLICTING 
INTERPRETATIONS OF STATUTES RESOLVED IN FAVOR OF CLAIMANT. 
— Ambiguities and conflicting interpretations of workers'compen-
sation statutes must be resolved in favor of the claimant due to the 
remedial nature of such legislation; however, statutes that are plain 
and unambiguous will not be construed to mean anything other 
than what they say. 

2. STATUTES — DIFFERENT SECTIONS MUST BE CONSTRUED TOGETHER. 
— Different sections of a statute must be construed together and 
full effect given to each section if it is possible to do so. 

3. WORKERS' COMPENSATION — PROVISO OF § 11-9-501(d) IS LIMITED 
BY TOTAL DISABILITY RATE, WHICH IS DEFINED IN ANOTHER 
SUBSECTION OF THE STATUTE. — That part of Ark. Code Ann. § 11- 
9-501(d) providing for a higher maximum permanent partial 
disability rate is limited by the total disability rate, which is defined 
in another subsection of the statute; this is the clear intent of the 
legislature, even though this construction prohibits any worker 
injured during the period between July 1, 1987 and December 31, 
1988 from ever being compensated at a permanent partial disability 
in excess of $154.00.
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Appeal from the Arkansas Workers' Compensation Com-
mission; affirmed. 

Daily, West, Core, Coffman & Canfield, by Michael C. 
Carter, for appellant. 

Friday, Eldredge & Clark, by: Scott J. Lancaster, for 
appellee. 

GEORGE K. CRACRAFT, Judge. John Noggle appeals from an 
order of the Arkansas Workers' Compensation Commission 
determining that his "permanent partial disability rate" was 
limited to $154.00 per week under Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9- 
501(d)(1) (1987). He contends that the Commission has misin-
terpreted the provisions of that statute and that he is entitled to 
receive weekly benefits in a higher amount. We find no error and 
affirm. 

The case was submitted to the Commission on a stipulated 
record. It was agreed that appellant sustained a compensable 
scheduled injury resulting in the loss of vision in his right eye, for 
which he was entitled to compensation at the permanent partial 
disability rate for a period of 105 weeks. See Ark. Code Ann. § 11- 
9-521(a)(14) (1987). It was further stipulated that at the time of 
the injury his average weekly wage was $517.20. The only issue 
for us to determine is whether the Commission correctly com-
puted the "permanent partial disability rate" at which appellant 
is to be paid. 

The issue on this appeal arises from changes made in the 
workers' compensation law by § 2 of Act 10 of 1986. The 1986 
amendment sought to integrate into our law over an eighteen-
month period the concept of calculating total disability rates by 
percentages of the "average state wage," as defined in Ark. Code 
Ann. § 11-9-102(18) (1987), rather than the average weekly 
wage of the worker. The amendment also, over a period of time, 
serves to increase the percentages on which total disability rates 
are to be computed and to remove the maximum limitations on 
weekly payments. Separate and slightly different provisions were 
made for the calculation of permanent partial disability rates. 
Arkansas Code Annotated § 11-9-501 (1987), as amended, now 
provides in pertinent part as follows: 

Limitations on compensation—Death and disability.
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(a) Compensation to the injured employee shall not be 
allowed for the first seven (7) days' disability resulting 
from injury, excluding the day of injury. If a disability 
extends beyond that period, compensation shall commence 
with the ninth day of disability. If a disability extends for a 
period of two (2) weeks, compensation shall be allowed 
beginning the first day of disability, excluding the day of 
injury;

(b) Compensation payable to an injured employee for 
disability, other than permanent partial disability as 
spec:fled in subsection (d) of this section, and compensa-
tion payable to surviving dependents of a deceased em-
ployee, the total disability rate, shall not exceed sixty-six 
and two-thirds percent (66- 2/3% ) of the employee's aver-
age weekly wage with a twenty dollar ($20.00) per week 
minimum, subject to the following maximums: 

(1) For disability or death due to an injury occurring 
on and after July 1, 1987, through December 31, 1988, the 
maximum weekly benefits payable shall be one hundred 
eighty-nine dollars ($189); 

(2) For disability or death due to an injury occurring 
on and after January 1, 1989, through December 31, 1989, 
the maximum weekly benefits payable shall be sixty-six 
and two-thirds percent (66- 2/3% ) of the state average 
weekly wage; 

(3) For a disability or death which results from an 
injury occurring during a calendar year beginning on or 
after January 1, 1990, the maximum weekly benefit 
payable shall be seventy percent (70 % ) of the state 
average weekly wage.

* * * 

(d) Compensation payable to an injured employee for 
permanent partial disability, including scheduled perma-
nent injuries (the permanent partial disability rate), which 
results from an injury occurring on or after July 1, 1986, 
shall not exceed sixty-six and two-thirds percent (66- 2/3% ) 
of the employee's average weekly wage, with a twenty
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dollar ($20.00) per week minimum, subject to a maximum 
of one hundred fifty-four dollars ($154). However, if the 
employee's total disability rate for the injury would be two 
hundred five dollars and thirty-five cents ($205.35) per 
week or greater, then the maximum permanent partial 
disability rate shall be seventy-five percent (75 % ) of the 
employee's total disability rate. 

(Emphasis added.) 

The Commission ruled that the appellant's "permanent 
partial disability rate" was limited to $154.00. It reasoned that 
allowing a claimant's permanent partial disability rate to exceed 
that sum under subsection (d) was dependent upon a determina-
tion that his "total disability rate" would exceed the sum of 
$205.35 per week. The Commission further reasoned that, as the 
maximum total disability rate applicable to an injury occurring 
on July 14, 1987, was $189.00, see Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9- 
501(b)(1), the proviso of subsection (d) allowing one's permanent 
partial disability rate to exceed $154.00 per week had no 
application. 

Appellant contends that the permanent partial disability 
rate must be determined exclusively by the terms of subsection 
(d). He contends that with this interpretation the rate would be 
calculated as follows: 66- 2/3% of his average weekly wage of 
$517.20 equals $344.80; as that sum exceeds $205.35, the proviso 
of subsection (d) becomes applicable, and his weekly permanent 
partial disability rate should be 75 % of $344.80, or $258.60. 

[1, 2] The fallacy of appellant's position lies in the fact that 
the proviso in subsection (d) is dependent upon a determination of 
his "total disability rate," which is not defined in subsection (d) 
but rather in the provisions of subsection (b): 

Compensation payable to an injured employee . . . [on 
account of total disability], and compensation payable to 
surviving dependents of a deceased employee, the total 
disability rate, shall not exceed sixty-six and two-thirds 
percent (66- 2/3% ) of the employee's average weekly wage 
with a twenty dollar ($20) per week minimum, subject to 
the following maximums: 

(1) For disability or death due to an injury occurring
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on and after July 1, 1987, through December 31, 1988, the 
maximum weekly benefits payable shall be one hundred 
eighty-nine dollars ($189). . . . 

(Emphasis added.) It is well settled that ambiguities and conflict-
ing interpretations of workers' compensation statutes must be 
resolved in favor of the claimant due to the remedial nature of 
such legislation. Northwest Tire Service v. Evans, 295 Ark. 246, 
748 S.W.2d 134 (1988). Statutes that are plain and unambigu-
ous, however, will not be construed to mean anything other than 
what they say. Hinchey v. Thomasson, 292 Ark. 1, 727 S.W.2d 
836 (1987). Different sections of a statute must be construed 
together and full effect given to each section if it is possible to do 
so. See Love v. Hill, 297 Ark. 96, 759 S.W.2d 550 (1988). 

[3] We find no ambiguity in the statute in question or any 
conflict between its provisions. The proviso of subsection (d) is 
limited by the total disability rate, which is defined in another 
subsection of that statute. The wording of the statute is clear and 
the intent of the legislature appears clearly expressed. We agree 
with appellant that this construction prohibits any worker injured 
during the period between July 1, 1987, and December 31, 1988, 
from ever being compensated at a permanent partial disability 
rate in excess of $154.00. However, this is clearly what the statute 
says, and it is not our function to question the wisdom of the 
legislature. 

Affirmed.


