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1. CRIMINAL LAW - SENTENCING - SENTENCE MUST FALL WITHIN 
RANGE ESTABLISHED BY LAW. - Arkansas Code Annotated section 
16-90-107 (1987) makes it clear that whether a sentence is imposed 
by the court or by the jury, it must fall within the range established 
by law; it cannot be less than the minimum nor greater than the 
maximum time provided by law. 

2. CRIMINAL LAW - SENTENCING - "ZERO" IS LOWER LIMIT OF 
RANGE FOR CLASS D FELONY. - The appellate court concluded 
that "zero" is the lower limit of the sentencing range for a Class D 
felony; Class D felonies are the only classified felonies that do not 
have a specified lower limit for sentencing. 

3. CRIMINAL LAW - STATUTES STRICTLY CONSTRUED - DOUBTS 
RESOLVED IN DEFENDANT'S FAVOR. - On review, the appellate 
court strictly construe criminal statutes, resolving any doubts in 
favor of the defendant. 

4. JURY - VERDICT FORM SUBMITTED SECOND TIME WAS PROPER - 
TRIAL COURT ERRED IN TAKING CASE FROM JURY. - The appellate 
court held that the verdict form submitted by the jury a second 
time was proper and that the trial court erred in taking the case 
from the jury 

5. CRIMINAL LAW - SENTENCING - TRIAL COURT WAS AUTHORIZED 
TO CONSIDER RECOMMENDED ALTERNATIVE SENTENCE. - Where 
the jury's primary verdict form was not invalid, the trial court was 
authorized, although not obligated, to consider the jury's recom-
mended alternative sentence pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated 
section 16-97-101(4) (Supp. 1999). 

6. CRIMINAL LAW - SENTENCING - APPELLATE COURT IMPOSED 
ALTERNATIVE SENTENCE OF PROBATION - REVERSED & 
REMANDED. - Where, in light of the trial court's imposition of a 
four-year term of imprisonment, it was clear that the court would 
have opted to impose the jury's recommended alternative sentence 
of eighteen months' probation rather than the "zero" punishment 
submitted by the jury in the primary verdict form, the appellate 
court, rather than remanding the case for sentencing, elected to 
sentence appellant to the eighteen months' probation recom-
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mended by the jury as an alternative sentence; reversed and 
remanded for entry of judgment and commitment order. 

Appeal from Jefferson Circuit Court; Berlin C. Jones, Judge; 
reversed and remanded. 

John W Cone, for appellant. 

Mark Pryor, Att'y Gen., by: Kelly S. Terry, Ass't Att'y Gen., for 
appellee. 

J

OHN F. STROUD, JR., Judge. In October 1998, appellant, 
John Slaughter, was tried by a jury and found guilty of the 

offense of domestic battery in the second degree, which at that time 
was a class D felony. During the sentencing phase of the trial, the 
jury returned a verdict that the trial court found unacceptable. 
Consequently, the trial court imposed its own sentence, which was 
four years in the Arkansas Department of Correction. We find that 
the trial court erred in doing so. 

The verdict form that was originally submitted to the jury 
provided:

AMCI 2d 9305 — VF

STAGE TWO: STANDARD VERDICT FORM — 


CLASS D FELONY 

WE, THE JURY, HAVING FOUND JOHN WAYNE 
SLAUGHTER GUILTY OF DOMESTIC BATTERY IN THE 
SECOND DEGREE, FIX HIS SENTENCE AT: 

(A) A TERM OF 	  (NOT MORE THAN 6 
YEARS) IN THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF COR-
RECTION; OR 

(B)A FINE OF 	 (NOT EXCEEDING $10,000) 
DOLLARS; OR 

(C) BOTH A TERM OF 	 (NOT MORE THAN 6 
YEARS) IN THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF COR-
RECTION AND A FINE OF 	 (NOT EXCEEDING 
$10,000) DOLLARS.

FOREPERSON



SLAUGHTER V. STATE


ARK. APP.	 Cite as 69 Ark. App. 65 (2000)	 67 

WE, THE JURY, FIND JOHN WAYNE SLAUGHTER 
NOT GUILTY.

FOREPERSON 

Following its deliberation, the jury returned the verdict form with a 
zero, "0," in three of the blanks for the sections marked (A), (B), 
and (C). The trial court returned the verdict form to the jury, 
explaining in part: 

[Y]ou would only write in whatever blank that you are taking 
activity You can give the defendant time in the Arkansas Depart-
ment of Correction, anything from zero to six years; of course, zero, 
you are not doing anything. You don't have to give him any time in the 
Department of Correction. 

Or you can give him a fine. A fine can be from whatever 
amount you want to, and cannot exceed $10,000. 

Or you can give him prison and a fine. 

But you would only fill out A or B or C. You won't fill out A, 
B, and C. 

All right? 

But, now, one of those, you need to do something that the 
law says for you to do. If you want zero, that means you leave it 
blank.

All right? 

For instance, if you are going to give the person no jail time 
in A, then you just leave it blank. You don't put the zero there. 

If you are going to give him a fine, then you will put — write 
in the amount of money the fine is going to be. 

Or if you are going to give him jail time and a fine, you 
would do C, where you've got those two blanks, to that. And only 
the blank that you are enforcing should be the one that is filled in, 
which will be A or B or C. 

(Emphasis added.)
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When the jury returned from its second deliberation, the 
original zeroes had been marked out, and the foreperson's initials 
were placed nearby. In addition, in the blank space under section 
(A), which addressed the possibility of a prison term, another zero, 
"0," had been inserted. In part, the colloquy between the trial 
court and the jury with respect to the revised verdict form was as 
follows:

THE COURT: The Court has been tendered a form that has not 
been filled out. The primary form has not been filled out. There is 
no sentence on the form. 

Does the jury misunderstand the instructions, or ... the jury 

[No response.] 

THE COURT: Is this the jury's pleasure? Just what ... 

[No response.] 

THE COURT: I don't know. There is no sentence on this form that 
the Court can pronounce whatsoever, and you must fill in the 
form. One of the blanks has got to be filled in. 

JUROR: There is one that's filled in. 

THE COURT: No. None of them that are filled out. 

JURY FOREPERSON: Yes, they are. 

THE COURT: Well, I don't see it. This is vanishing ink. 

[No response.] 

Ti-E, COURT: All right. This is the pleasure of the jury? Is this the 
jury's decision? 

JURY FOREPERSON: No. Yes. 

TtiE COURT: This is the best the jury can do. Is that what the jury 
wants to do? That's all I need to know. 

JURY FOREPERSON: We have an alternative plan on there. 

THE COURT: Didn't ask you about any alternative. Asked you 
about a primary. And we need a primary form. And if this is what 
the jury wants to do ... is that what you want to do?
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JURY FOREPERSON: Yes, sir. 

THE COURT: Very well. The Court then would find that the jury 
cannot sentence this defendant, and the Court will sentence the 
defendant. 

The trial court then proceeded to sentence appellant to serve four 
years in the Arkansas Department of Correction. 

Appellant raises the following two points of appeal: 1) the trial 
court erred in the trial proceeding when it took the case away from 
the jury and sentenced the defendant itself; and 2) the court erred 
when it found it was unable to consider the alternative sentence 
proposed by the jury. We agree. 

The parties have not provided us with citation to any authority 
that is squarely on point with the facts of this case and the issue of 
whether a jury, after finding a defendant guilty of a felony, may 
impose a "sentence" of "zero" jail time. Nor has our research 
yielded any such authority. The circumstances of this case are unu-
sual enough that it is doubtful they would arise very often. Our 
review of the pertinent statutory provisions, however, convinces us 
that the manner in which the jury completed the verdict form the 
second time was proper and that the trial court erred in taking the 
case from the jury and imposing its own sentence. We think it is 
abundantly clear that the jury, despite finding appellant guilty, did 
not want him to serve a term of imprisonment or to pay a fine. 

Arkansas Code Annotated section 16-97-101 outlines gener-
ally the bifurcated sentencing procedures in felony cases. It provides 
in pertinent part: 

The following procedure shall govern jury trials which 
include any felony charges: 

(3) Following the introduction of additional evidence relevant 
to sentencing, if any, instruction on the law, and argument, the 
jury shall again retire and determine a sentence within the statutory 
range. 

(Emphasis added.) Arkansas Code Annotated section 5-4-103 
(Repl. 1997), provides further:
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(a)If a defendant is charged with a felony and is found guilty 
of an offense by a jury, the jury shall fix punishment in a separate 
proceeding as authorized by this chapter. 

(b) Except as provided by [designated statutes involving capital 
murder], the court shall fix punishment as authorized by this 
chapter in any case where: 

(1) The defendant pleads guilty to an offense; or 

(2) The defendant's guilt is tried by the court; or 

(3) The jury fails to agree on punishment; or 

(4) The prosecution and the defense agree that the court 
may fix punishment; or 

(5) A jury sentence is found by the trial court or an appellate 
court to be in excess of the punishment authorized by law. 

Moreover, Arkansas Code Annotated section 16-90-107(a) (1987) 
also designates instances in which the trial court is to take the 
sentencing function away from the jury, providing in pertinent part: 

(a) When a jury finds a verdict of guilty and fails to agree on 
the punishment to be inflicted,or does not declare the punishment in its 
verdict, or if it assesses a punishment not authorized by law, and in all 
cases of a judgment on confession, the court shall assess and declare 
the punishment and render judgment accordingly. 

(Emphasis added.) 

None of the designated instances in which the trial court is to 
impose the sentence fits squarely within the facts of this case. Four 
of the five exceptions listed in section 5-4-103(b) clearly do not 
apply. Appellant did not plead guilty, his guilt was not tried by the 
court, the prosecution and defense did not agree for the court to fix 
punishment, and the jury's sentence did not exceed that authorized 
by law Moreover, it is clear from the verdict form and the colloquy 
between the court and the jury that the jury was in agreement on 
the verdict form; the problem arises because the "punishment" they 
agreed upon was that appellant should receive "zero" punishment. 
The first exception listed in section 16-90-107(a), failure to agree 
on punishment, is covered by section 5-4-103(b)(3) and was just 
discussed. The remaining two exceptions are instances where the
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jury "does not declare the punishment in its verdict," or "assesses a 
punishment not authorized by law" 

In short, the issue thus presented is whether the "zero" pun-
ishment imposed by the jury is authorized under our sentencing 
statutes. As mentioned previously, neither of the parties have pro-
vided us with authority on this issue under the circumstances 
presented by this case, and we have found none. We are not 
unmindful of the case of Higgins v. Higgins, 326 Ark. 1030, 936 
S.W.2d 740 (1996). Under the circumstances of that case, the 
supreme court held that a sentence of zero years' imprisonment and 
zero fine was not a legal sentence, and we agree because the offense 
charged was a Class B felony, having a sentencing range for impris-
onment of not less than five nor more than twenty years. We find 
that Higgins is distinguishable from the instant case, which involves a 
Class D felony. Neither have the parties engaged in statutory con-
struction of our sentencing statutes in an effort to clarify this precise 
issue. Our continued review of the statutes reveals that Arkansas 
Code Annotated section 5-4-401 (a)(5) (Repl. 1997), provides in 
pertinent part: 

(a) A defendant convicted of a felony shall receive a determinate 
sentence according to the following limitations: 

(5) for a Class D felony, the sentence shall not exceed six (6) 
years[.j 

(Emphasis added.) 

The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language defines 
"determinate" as "1. Precisely limited or defined. 2. Settled; final. 
3. Firm in purpose; resolute." Black's Law Dictionary (5th ed), 
defines "sentence" as "Nile judgment formally pronounced by the 
court or judge upon the defendant after his conviction in a criminal 
prosecution, imposing the punishment to be inflicted. Judgment 
formally declaring to accused legal consequences of guilt which he 
has confessed or of which he has been convicted." Moreover, 
Black's defines "punishment" as "[ajny fine, penalty, or confinement 
inflicted upon a person by the authority of the law and the judg-
ment and sentence of a court, for some crime or offense committed 
by him, or for his omission of a duty enjoined by law. A deprivation 
of property or some right. But does not include a civil penalty
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redounding to the benefit of an individual, such as a forfeiture of 
interest." Finally, while the statute clearly defines the top limit for 
imprisonment on a Class D felony, six years, it does not set forth 
the lower limit. 

[1] In addition, Arkansas Code Annotated section 16-90-107 
(1987), makes it clear that whether a sentence is imposed by the 
court or by the jury, it must fall within the range established by law. 
It cannot be less than the minimum nor greater than the maximum 
time provided by law: 

(b) (1) Juries and courts shall have the power to assess the 
punishment of one convicted of a felony at a general sentence to 
the penitentiary The sentence shall not be less than the minimum nor 
greater than the maximum time provided by law. 

(d) If the jury in any case assesses a punishment, whether of fine or 
imprisonment, below the limit prescribed by law for offenses of which the 
defendant is convicted, the court shall render judgment and pronounce 
sentence according to the lowest limit prescribed by law in such cases. 

(e) The court shall have power, in all cases of conviction, to 
reduce the extent or duration of the punishment assessed by a jury, 
if, in the opinion of the court, the conviction is proper and the 
punishment assessed is greater than, under the circumstances of the 
case, ought to be inflicted, so that the punishment is not, in any case, 
reduced below the limit prescribed by law in such cases. 

(Emphasis added.) 

[2-4] Again, the issue seems to boil down to whether "zero" 
is the lower limit of the sentencing range for a Class D felony. We 
find that it is. Otherwise, as argued by the appellant, if zero is not 
the minimum limit, what is? Would it be one day, one hour, one 
minute, one second? Class D felonies are the only classified felonies 
that do not have a specified lower limit for sentencing. For example, 
the sentence for a Class C felony "shall be not less than three (3) years 
nor more than ten (10) years." Ark. Code Ann. § 5-4-401(a)(4) 
(Repl. 1997) (emphasis added). On appellate review, we strictly 
construe criminal statutes, resolving any doubts in favor of the 
defendant. Graham v. State, 314 Ark. 152, 861 S.W2d 299 (1993). 
Accordingly, we find that the verdict form submitted by the jury 
the second time was proper, and that the trial court erred in taking 
the case from the jury.
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For his second point of appeal, appellant contends that the trial 
court erred when it found that it was unable to consider the 
alternative sentence proposed by the jury. We agree. The jury was 
instructed during the sentencing phase of the trial that it could 
recommend an alternative sentence. In addition to the primary 
verdict form discussed previously under appellant's first point of 
appeal, the jury recommended an alternative sentence of "[a] term 
of eighteen months supervision by the Adult Probation Department 
of Jefferson County, Arkansas." 

[5] As discussed with respect to the first point of appeal, the 
trial court considered the primary verdict form to be invalid, and 
concluded therefore that it was without authority to consider the 
alternate sentence proposed by the jury. Having concluded, as we 
have, that the primary verdict form was not invalid, the trial court 
was certainly authorized, although not obligated, to consider the 
recommended alternative sentence pursuant to Arkansas Code 
Annotated section 16-97-101(4), which provides: 

(4) The court, in its discretion, may also instruct the jury that 
counsel may argue as to alternative sentences for which the 
defendant may qualify. The jury, in its discretion, may make a 
recommendation as to an alternative sentence. However, this recom-
mendation shall not be binding on the court. 

(Emphasis added.) 

[6] In light of the trial court's imposition of a four-year term 
of imprisonment, we think it is clear that the court would have 
opted to impose the jury's recommended alternative sentence of 
eighteen months' probation, rather than the "zero" punishment 
submitted by the jury in the primary verdict form. Consequently, 
rather than remanding this case for sentencing, we elect to sentence 
appellant to the eighteen months' probation recommended by the 
jury as an alternative sentence. We therefore reverse and remand this 
case to the trial court for entry of a judgment and commitment 
order that is consistent with this opinion. 

Reversed and remanded. 

HART and GRIFFEN, JJ., agree.


