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Bobby SCISSOM v. STATE of Arkansas
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Court of Appeals of Arkansas
Opinion delivered March 15, 2006

1.  STATUTES — AMENDED STATUTE COULD NOT BE APPLIED RETRO-
ACTIVELY — TRIAL COURT ERRED IN IMPOSING GREATER PERIOD
OF CONFINEMENT. — Where appellant was placed on probation for
a period of sixty months, with several designated conditions of
probation, including that he was to serve 120 days in the Pope
County Jail, and the crime for which he pleaded guilty and received
probation was committed “on or about 2/27/03,” the trial court
clearly erred at appellant’s revocation hearing by imposing an addi-
tional period of confinement of 365 days, apparently operating under
amended Arkansas Code Annotated section 5-4-304, which became
effective July 16, 2003, but the statute in effect at the time the
underlying offense was committed only allowed for a period of
confinement not to exceed 120 days.

2. STATUTES — PERIOD OF CONFINEMENT WAS INCLUDED IN ORIGI-
NAL ORDER — NO ADDITIONAL PERIOD OF CONFINEMENT COULD
BE IMPOSED. — The trial court could not impose an additional period
of confinement because subsection (c) of the statute in effect when
the underlying offense was committed provided that a period of
confinement to be served during the time of probation may be added
“if no period of confinement was included in the original order
placing the defendant on probation™; here, a period of confinement

was included in the original order placing appellant on probation, i.e.,
120 days.

Appeal from Pope Circuit Court; John S. Patterson, Judge;
reversed and remanded.

James Dunham, Managing Pub. Defender, for appellant.

Mike Beebe, Att’y Gen., by: Laura Shue, Ass’t Att’y Gen., for
appellee.

ANDREE LayToN RoOAF, Judge. This is an appeal from a
revocation proceeding. Bobby Scissom appeals from the
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trial court’s imposition of twelve months confinement in a regional
correction facility as an additional condition of probation. On appeal,
Scissom argues that the sentence exceeds the maximum authorized as
a condition of his probation because he had originally been ordered to
serve 120 days in the county jail. The State concedes error. We
reverse the trial court’s order and remand the matter for resentencing
in accordance with this opinion.

In the underlying case, Scissom pleaded guilty to the offense
of possession of marijuana with intent to deliver, a Class C felony,
and was placed on probation for a period of sixty months, with
several designated conditions of probation, including that he was
to serve 120 days in the Pope County Jail. The judgment and
disposition order and the conditions of suspension or probation
were filed on October 2, 2003. On January 5, 2005, the State filed
a petition to revoke Scissom’s probation, alleging that he had
violated several of the conditions of his probation. The revocation
hearing was held on March 7, 2003. Following the presentation of
evidence, the trial court stated: “I’'m not going to revoke his
probation but [ am going to add as a condition of probation that he
be sent to a Regional Correction Facility for one year, with credit
for time served.” In its March 8, 2005 order, the trial court
specifically ordered, “The Court orders that Defendant’s proba-
tion shall not be revoked, but that defendant shall serve 12 months
in the Regional Punishment Facility as an additional condition of
probation.”

Scissom appeals from the imposition of additional confine-
ment; the State has not cross-appealed the trial court’s order that
Scissom’s probation not be revoked. For his sole point of appeal,
Scissom contends that when the trial court added the additional
twelve months’ confinement as a condition of his probation, after
previously ordering him to serve 120 days in the Pope County Jail,
it was in excess of the period of confinement allowed by law. We
agree.

The statute in effect at the time the underlying offense was
committed must govern sentencing, and in the absence of a
provision stating that an act will apply retroactively, the act will
apply prospectively only. State v. Williams, 315 Ark. 464, 868
S.W.2d 461 (1994). According to the Information, the crime for
which Scissom pleaded guilty and received probation was com-
mitted “‘on or about 2/27/03.”” The Arkansas Code Annotated
section 5-4-304 then in effect provided in pertinent part:
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(c) Following a revocation hearing held pursuant to Arkansas
Code § 5-4-301 and wherein a finding of guilt has been made or the
defendant has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, the court
may add a period of confinement to be served during the period of
suspension of imposition of sentence or period of probation, if no
period of confinement was included in the original order placing the defendant
on suspended imposition of sentence or probation.

(d)(1) The period actually spent in confinement pursuant to this
section shall not exceed one hundred twenty (120) days in the case of a felony
or thirty (30) days in the case of 2 misdemeanor.

(2) For purposes of this subsection, any part of a twenty-four-
hour period spent in confinement shall constitute a day of confine-
ment.

(e) If the suspension or probation of the defendant is subse-
quently revoked and the defendant is sentenced to a term of
imprisonment, the period actually spent in confinement pursuant to
this section shall be credited against the subsequent sentence.

(Supp. 2001) (emphasis added). By Act 1742 of 2003, which became
effective July 16, 2003, i.e., after the underlying offense was commit-
ted here, section 5-4-304(d) was amended to provide:

(d)(1)(A) The period actually spent in confinement pursuant to
this section in a county jail, city jail, or other authorized local
detentional, correctional, or rehabilitative facility shall not exceed
one hundred twenty (120} days in the case of a felony or thirty (30)
days in the case of a misdemeanor.

(B) Inthe case of confinement to a Department of Community
Correction facility, the period actually spent in confinement under
this section shall not exceed three hundred sixty-five (365) days.

[1, 2] In paragraph 17 of the original “conditions of

suspension or probation,’” Scissom was ordered to ““serve a period
of confinement for 120 days at county jail credit 2 days served.” In
the order following the revocation hearing, which was filed on
March 8, 2005, the trial court ordered ‘““that Defendant’s probation
shall not be revoked, but that defendant shall serve 12 months in
the Regional Punishment Facility as an additional condition of
probation.”” Because the statute in effect at the time the underlying
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offense was committed only allowed for a period of confinement
not to exceed 120 days, the trial court, at the revocation hearing,
apparently operated under the amended statute, which became
effective July 16, 2003, and clearly erred in imposing an additional
period of confinement of 365 days. In addition, subsection (c) of
the statute in effect when the underlying offense was committed
provided that a period of confinement to be served during the time
of probation may be added ““if no period of confinement was
included in the original order placing the defendant on . . .
probation.” (Emphasis added.) Here, a period of confinement was
included in the original order, ie., 120 days. Therefore, no
additional period of confinement may now be imposed.

Accordingly, we reverse and remand this matter with in-
structions to strike the twelve-month period of confinement
imposed by the trial court as an additional condition of Scissom’s
probation. The trial court, of course, may impose such other
available additional conditions of probation or fines during the
period of probation as authorized by Ark. Code Ann. § 5-4-306(b)
(Supp. 1999). See Reeves v. State, 339 Ark. 304, 5 S.W.3d 41
(1999).

Reversed and remanded.
HarT, BIrD, and NEar, J]., agree.

Pirtman, CJ., and GLOVER, ]., concur in part; dissent in
part.

DAVID M. GLOVER, Judge, concurring in part; dissenting in
part. I dissent from the majority opinion to the extent
that it limits the trial court to imposing “‘such other available addi-
tional conditions of probation or fines during the period of probation
as authorized by Ark. Code Ann. § 5-4-306(b) (Supp. 1999).”” In my
opinion, we should not, at this point, attempt to define the full range
of options available to the trial court upon remand. It appears to me
that it is premature to decide that the trial court is limited to adding to
or modifying the conditions of appellant’s probation. Notably, at the
revocation hearing, the trial court specifically found that appellant had
violated the terms and conditions of his probation. Whether the trial
court could decide upon remand to revoke the probation is an issue
that 1s not yet before us and one which has not been briefed by the
parties. I do not read the case cited by the majority, Reeves v. State, 339
Ark. 304, 5 S.W.3d 41 (1999), which did not involve a revocation
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hearing, as prohibiting the trial court from considering revocation as
an option upon remand. In the absence of any definitive authority
regarding the options available to the trial court, I think that we
should express no opinion on that matter.

PrrtmaN, C.J., joins in this opinion.




