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Josiah HOLMES, a/k/a Joe Anthony Holmes v.
STATE of Arkansas

A
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Court of Appeals of Arkansas
Division 1 :
Opinion delivered February 20, 1991.

1. CRIMINAL PROCEDURE — REVOCATION OF SUSPENDED SENTENCE
— STATUTORY 60-DAY LIMITATION. — The statutory 60-day
limitation, found in Ark. Code Ann. § 5-4-310(b)(2), for holding a
revocation hearing, began torun from the date of defendant’s arrest
for violation of terms of the suspension, not from his arrest for other
charges.

2. CRIMINAL PROCEDURE — COMPUTING THE TIME FOR TRIAL —
PERIODS OF DELAY.— Ark. R. Crim. P. 28.3 provides that periods of
delay for good cause are excluded in computing the time for trial
including delay caused by the absence or unavailability of the
defendant.

3. CRIMINAL PROCEDURE — ABSENT DEFENDANT — COMPUTING TIME
FOR TRIAL. — Defendant whose whereabouts were unknown or
whose whereabouts were known but his appearance for trial could
not be obtained was considered absent for purposes of computing
the time for trial.

Appeal from Sebastian Circuit Court; Don Langston, Judge;
affirmed.

John Joplin, for appellant.

Steve Clark, Att’y Gen., by: Paul L. Cherry, Asst. Att’y
Gen., for appellee.

ELizABETH W. DANIELSON, Judge. The appellant, Josiah
Holmes, entered a plea of guilty on July 20, 1988, to the offense of
forgery and was sentenced to the Arkansas Department of
Correction for five years with three years and eight months
suspended.

A petition to revoke appellant’s suspended sentence was filed
on July 26, 1989, alleging that Holmes committed the offense of
shoplifting. He was arrested on July 31, 1989, and posted a
$1,500 bond. On August 9, 1989, Holmes appeared for his
arraignment without an attorney, so his case was reset for August
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16. Holmes failed to appear on August 16 and was arrested on a
bench warrant September 2, 1989.

Holmes made a motion to dismiss for what he claims was a
delay of more than 60 days from the time of his arrest until his
revocation hearing. A hearing was held on October 16, 1989, the
motion denied, and a judgment revoking Holmes’s suspended
sentence was entered the same day, sentencing him to three years
in the Arkansas Department of Correction with one and one-half
years suspended. We affirm.

Holmes’s argument on appeal is that the trial court erred in
denying his motion to dismiss the revocation of suspended
sentence pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 5-4-310(b)(2) (1987).
That statute states that the revocation hearing shall be conducted
by the court that suspended imposition of sentence within a
reasonable time, not to exceed 60 days after the defendant’s
arrest. The purpose of Ark. Code Ann. § 5-4-310(b)(2) is to
assure that a defendant is not detained in jail for an unreasonable
time awaiting his revocation hearing. Felix v. State, 20 Ark. App.
44, 723 S.W.2d 839 (1987). :

[1] The statutory 60-day limitation for a revocation hear-
ing begins to run from a defendant’s arrest for violation of terms
of the suspension, not from his arrest for other charges. Boone v.
State, 270 Ark. 83,603 S.W.2d 410 (1980); Walkerv. State, 262
Ark. 215, 555 S.W.2d 228 (1977); Blake v. State, 262 Ark. 301,
556 S.W.2d 427 (1977); Lincoln v. State, 262 Ark. 511, 558
S.W.2d 146 (1977).

[2] Ark.R.Crim.P.28.3(h) states that periods of delay for
good cause should be excluded in computing the time for trial.
The period from August 9 until August 16 should be excluded
under this rule, as the trial court, upon Holmes’s request,
postponed his hearing so that he could obtain private counsel.

[3] Ark. R.Crim. P. 28.3(e) states that the period of delay
resulting from the absence or unavailability of the defendant
shall be excluded in computing the time for trial. A defendant
shall be considered absent when his whereabouts are unknown, or
when his whereabouts are known but his presence for trial cannot
be obtained. Holmes did not appear at the August 16 hearing and
had to be served with a bench warrant on September 2 in order to
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assure his appearance in court for arraignment on September 6.

Because of the delays caused by the appellant, the time
between August 9 and September 2 is excluded in computing the
time for trial. Thus, we find that Holmes’s revocation hearing was
held within 60 days of his arrest as required by Ark. Code Ann.
§ 5-4-310(b)(2) (1987).

Affirmed.
ROGERs, J. agrees.
MAYFIELD, J., concurs.

MELVIN MAYFIELD, Judge, concurring. I agree with the
majority opinion and its application of Ark. R. Crim. P. 28 to this
case. See Lark v. State, 276 Ark. 441, 637 S.W.2d 529 (1982)
(proper tolook to Rule 28.3 for guidance in computing excludable
periods in revocation cases). In addition, I agree with the trial
court’s statement that the 60-day limitation period should not
start to run until the date the appellant was rearrested on
September 2, 1989. The court said it was not going to count any
time before September 2 because it was appellant’s own conduct
that caused the delay.

We held in Phillips v. State, 17 Ark. App. 86, 703 S.W.2d
471 (1986), that a defendant could waive the 60-day limitation
period. To hold otherwise, under the circumstances of this case,
would allow defendants to cause the 60-day limitation period to
run simply by not showing up for preliminary hearing dates in
consecutive order, if the court allowed them to stay free on bond.
For example, suppose a hearing is set for 30 days from the initial
arrest; that defendant does not appear; and that he is arrested the
second time. Then suppose that another hearing is set for 20 days
after this second arrest but the defendant again fails to appear.
Assume he is arrested again; hearing is set 10 days later; and
defendant again fails to appear. If the 60-day limitation period
does not start from this third arrest, the period would have
run—simply because the defendant failed to appear each time.
Therefore, I do not believe that the 60-day limitation period
should start to run in this case until September 2, 1989.



